We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Beach Bar

After Beach Bar
Kata Beach, Phuket, Thailand
081 8943750
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 121 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Pleasant discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Thanks to a buddy who recommended this place, it had a great sunset view as we feasted on the very reasonable price dishes and out of the world cocktails. The piña colada is a must try and definitely good when my girlfriend swapped her coconut juice with my cocktail and later rained praises by another friend who ordered one for herself. Overall a great restaurant with a great view and excellent food. Definitely a must come back in my next trip to Phuket. Get there by 530pm to ensure a good seating location to watch the sunset.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    83
    31
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After beach bar is located beside kata Noi beach. I went there each day of my pukhet holiday for seeing the sunset drinking a cocktail and eating appetizers. The last evening with my wife decided to have a dinner there. That was the best dinner in pukhet ... Go there people!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
625 helpful votes 625 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, cheap prices - expensive to go there by Tuktuk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped here on our last night with our rental car. We came after sunset, but the views were still spectacular. The variety of food on the menu so big, that I expected low quality. I was quite surprised how good the food was.
I especially liked the fried rice with vegetables and the four companions (four types of steamed vegetables), the latter weren´t as tasteless as at other places.
Prices are cheaper than down in Kata. A bowl of rice is just 20 THB compared to usually 40 THB, that you pay in Kata center.
Staff is nice.
The only problem is getting there, if you don´t have a rental car. When we left we asked how to get there by Tuktuk. They said it would be 200 THB from Kata one way. When we tried a couple of days later all Tuktuk-drivers asked for 300 THB. We thought, that was too expensive and didn´t go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went after the view point and sat on the deck and had a couple of beers and watched the sun set.. Very awakening for the spirit, food looked good at good prices we didn't eat cause of a very late lunch

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You MUST see this sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such a beautiful, relaxed place. No fuss, amazing food and a view to die for. Cruisy, chilled music playing and friendly staff. My partner and I came here on our last night in Thailand and it was a perfect end to a memorable trip. Do yourself a favour and check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Beach Bar also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Phuket
 

Been to After Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.