We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food, cheap prices - expensive to go there by Tuktuk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Beach Bar

After Beach Bar
Kata Beach, Phuket, Thailand
081 8943750
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 105 restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
505 helpful votes 505 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, cheap prices - expensive to go there by Tuktuk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stopped here on our last night with our rental car. We came after sunset, but the views were still spectacular. The variety of food on the menu so big, that I expected low quality. I was quite surprised how good the food was.
I especially liked the fried rice with vegetables and the four companions (four types of steamed vegetables), the latter weren´t as tasteless as at other places.
Prices are cheaper than down in Kata. A bowl of rice is just 20 THB compared to usually 40 THB, that you pay in Kata center.
Staff is nice.
The only problem is getting there, if you don´t have a rental car. When we left we asked how to get there by Tuktuk. They said it would be 200 THB from Kata one way. When we tried a couple of days later all Tuktuk-drivers asked for 300 THB. We thought, that was too expensive and didn´t go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    88
    57
    18
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went after the view point and sat on the deck and had a couple of beers and watched the sun set.. Very awakening for the spirit, food looked good at good prices we didn't eat cause of a very late lunch

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You MUST see this sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such a beautiful, relaxed place. No fuss, amazing food and a view to die for. Cruisy, chilled music playing and friendly staff. My partner and I came here on our last night in Thailand and it was a perfect end to a memorable trip. Do yourself a favour and check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at this lovely chilled out bar by taxi which cost 300 Baht from Karon Beach. We were looking for a nice chilled out night and certainly got what we asked for. Great music, Bob Marley and some Tracey Chapman to while the night away.

The service we received was great, really lovely staff nothing seemed too much trouble. We had ordered a taxi to return to our hotel but it did not show so one of the bar staff jumped on his bike into Kata and returned with a Tuk Tuk.

The food was great, I had a lovely red curry dish which was one of the nicest I had tasted all holiday. Reasonably priced as well. Try some of the cocktails again cheap.

I would recommend this bar for a lovely chilled out night!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect chillout bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The view was AMAZING. Very relaxed atmosphere with reggae tunes and stunning sunset over Kata Noi Bay. I came here for dinner on my hens nght with 8 other girls before heading in to Patong. Plenty of cocktails were had...but the food - wow it was DELICIOUS. Lots of people from our group went back numerous times during our stay in Phuket it was just that good! Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Beach Bar also viewed

Kata Beach, Phuket
Kata Beach, Phuket
 

Been to After Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.