We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST see this sunset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Beach Bar

After Beach Bar
Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
081 8943750
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 139 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You MUST see this sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Such a beautiful, relaxed place. No fuss, amazing food and a view to die for. Cruisy, chilled music playing and friendly staff. My partner and I came here on our last night in Thailand and it was a perfect end to a memorable trip. Do yourself a favour and check it out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica9199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at this lovely chilled out bar by taxi which cost 300 Baht from Karon Beach. We were looking for a nice chilled out night and certainly got what we asked for. Great music, Bob Marley and some Tracey Chapman to while the night away.

The service we received was great, really lovely staff nothing seemed too much trouble. We had ordered a taxi to return to our hotel but it did not show so one of the bar staff jumped on his bike into Kata and returned with a Tuk Tuk.

The food was great, I had a lovely red curry dish which was one of the nicest I had tasted all holiday. Reasonably priced as well. Try some of the cocktails again cheap.

I would recommend this bar for a lovely chilled out night!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaspycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect chillout bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The view was AMAZING. Very relaxed atmosphere with reggae tunes and stunning sunset over Kata Noi Bay. I came here for dinner on my hens nght with 8 other girls before heading in to Patong. Plenty of cocktails were had...but the food - wow it was DELICIOUS. Lots of people from our group went back numerous times during our stay in Phuket it was just that good! Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fln07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good view over Kata Noi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What appears to be several restaurants next to each other , is one linked up.
Interesting open water fish tanks with fish and seafood still alive.
Quiet in the afternoon and busier approaching dusk.
Great views and lovely atmosphere looking over the beautfiul Kata Noi beach.
Food and drink is mediocre and typical of most restuarants in the area, reasonable value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good food great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went to after beach bar after going up to the karon view point, which is about 1km from this restraunt. Both are worth doing. Food at after beach bar was good. Got the Larb but was so full after the tom yum koong that I didnt get to eat much. Also got a thai omelet with chicken. Both were very good. Tom yum was excellent. We went just before sundown, was starting to fill up but was nice and quiet. Incredible view. Service good, big place so plenty of seating. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bumpynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Beach Bar also viewed

Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to After Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing