We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capannina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Capannina Inn to your Saves list
Capannina Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98/84-85 Kata Rd. | Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice cheap hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

10 minutes walking distance from the beach. Staff are all lovely and very helpful and all speak good English. Room is spacious and clean with a tv and aircon. Comfy bed. I would stay again but next time I would upgrade from the standard room, as the standard rooms have no windows or balcony. If you are a light sleeper maybe bring ear plugs as there is quite a bit of noise from the hallway when people are coming and going.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

we spent two weeks in the hotel an are very happy with the experience
Nice room in the second floor with balcony,
Very good breakfast with italian cofee, fruits, eggs and bacon and very good croissant.
EXCELENT service, also at the reception with two girls trying to help you all the time .
Rooms where clean early in the morning while having breakfast.
there is a small swimming pool on the 3rd floor with a jacuzzi next to it.
in conclusion we are for sure going back to the place.

Room Tip: they are bilding a new group of rooms better than the old ones, if not I recomend the rooms with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have stayed here 5 times now. It's a good location and quiet as away from the main road but walking distance to the beach.
The rooms are clean (though avoid the internal rooms without windows) and the staff have always been very helpful and good.
The restaurant opened last week (they have another restaurant in Kata Beach too) and the food is terrific. The pizza - well my best since being in Italy and the freshly made pasta teeming with filling and such high quality ingredients. The chef is 'mein host' and is keen to ensure that everything is up to his high standards.
We're going back again on our next trip... so suffice to say we recommend the hotel and the restaurant.
Breakfast is simple and the coffee - well it's Illy coffee, so very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony rather than the 'inside' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for just one night at Capannina Inn after doing some of the islands surrounding it before heading back to Bangkok. The hotel was clean, air conditioning worked well, and the room was a decent size. We did not go down for breakfast so I cannot speak about that. Overall the hotel was perfectly fine, nothing special. Although they have a tuk tuk that can take you to the beach, it is not super close to the hotel, and our taxi driver had a very difficult time finding it as I think it is relatively new and is tucked away. I think there are probably cheaper options with the same amenities that can be found in Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We travel regularly, and decided to come to Thailand, Phuket for a 10 day break. After lots of Thai flavours- we craved something clean and simple! What better than Italian food. We asked our phenomenal hotel for a recommendation- The Shore at Katathani, and was recommended this restaurant. What an awesome lunch experience. The staff were friendly, welcoming and knowledgable. Fabio, a true Italian recommended great wines. Mario the owner and chef was happy to adjust menu choices slightly to suite out needs. The focaccia was a lovely flavour and crisp, salad fresh. Main of Vongole and Ragu Penne was amazing. Clean Italian flavours- excellent al dente pasta. Great wine. Highly recommended restaurant for anyone visiting this Beautiful Island!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamnik, Slovenia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

FACTS
Positive:
* quiet location
* free tuk tuk service to the beach
* big and well equiped room
* free wi fi
* rooftop swimingpool

Negative:
* breakfast is not good for a four star hotel
* breakfast is served in unfinished restaurant
* no elevator (hotel has three floors)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Originally booked a family room on booking.com for a very reasonable price. Upon arriving at the hotel and checking into our room, we found the room to be huge. So big in fact that we could've lived in it for a month. We spoke to the check in lady and she helped us downgrade our room to a smaller one without a view for a cheaper price too, now thats a deal.

The rooms were very clean, bed sheets were perfect, A/C worked great, bathrooms were large, bath towels and beach towels were supplied. And to top things off our own expresso maker in the room. Television with approximately 80 channels, 5-10 english channels.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to Kata Beach which we did one day. We felt like a break from the crowds and sand and used the roof top pool for three days. Perfect size pool and nobody but us were up there for 3 days. Pool was very convenient as well, as it was only a 15 second walk back to our room to use the bathroom or to get drinks from our fridge. An amazing three days were spent sunbathing and relaxing on the roof.

The hotel has a newer section and an older section. The large room we originally saw was very nice with brand new furniture and fixtures. But even the older room we stayed in was very modern and well maintained.

Only complaint while there was because the hallways and rooms are all ceramic flooring, noise in the hallways travels long distances and echoes. If you plan on sleeping in, in the mornings get ear plugs if you arent a heavy sleeper. Other then that the place is a steal for the price we paid.

They offer a free tuk tuk service to the beach and to their restaurant which is located about 5 minutes away or a 20 minute walk south along Kata Beach.

We had dinner at their restaurant the first night which is tucked away from the street and noise. The food was authentic and fresh and the portions were large. Service and atmosphere were also very good.

Breakfast in the morning was quite good. A selection of fresh baked goods, fruit and yogurt are available as well as the best lattes we've had pretty much anywhere.

I could see us coming back here and staying with the family for 2 weeks in the future.

Previous negative reviews are not indicative of what this place is. Well worth the price.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We saw more than one room in this hotel and all appeared amazing inside. Some have views others don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capannina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capannina Inn

Address: 98/84-85 Kata Rd. | Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capannina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Capannina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capannina Inn Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capannina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.