We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manohra Cozy Village

Save Saved
You added Manohra Cozy Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manohra Cozy Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   29/18 Soi 7 Patak Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Manohra 6 nights in December 2012. We were searching for a budget accommodation with not too much of a stroll to the beach as well as far from the noisy, overcrowded and not-too-family recommendable nightlife such as Patong or Bangla road. Spot on.

Airport pick-up was in a comfy car (our daughter got to rest) with aircon and the price was conveniently added to our hotel bill upon arrival. We were greeted by a friendly night receptionist with limited English but very helpful and polite that even helped us with our bags. The room was exactly what we had discussed with the owner beforehand (renovated standard room). Aircon was good, even too good at times, so we often used the fan instead. The bed was very comfortable, just hard enough for our taste, however much harder than European standard that tend to be quite soft. The shower had a convenient plastic door rather than a curtain and an extra curtain separated it from the room. We made a point of tipping the house keeping and cleaning was always good even when our little one brought a bunch of sand back in from the beach (in the bed and all). Sheets were spotless clean and changed daily. The breakfast was good, with a choice of fresh fruit (pineapple, mango, lichee, papaya and watermelon) and eggs, some yoghurt, cereal and toast (and bacon). The lady tending the breakfast tables was quite nice and we always left a tip for the mess our 2 year old daughter made. The pool is not as small as people say, it's fine for a quick swim in the morning before going to town. I mean, why go to the pool for more than just a dip with a choice of beaches (not that far) around?

If you have children, avoid leaving the hotel through the front gate. This is only for driving access and there is a large road with little walking space (vehicles all speed like crazy) and a difficult crossing if you decide to leave this way. There is however a 7-11 and a Tesco quite close nearby on this side.

The receptionist recommended to use the back door and even though it appears harder to get out with a stroller after the exit it becomes clear this is the best way out and in. This back door opens in the middle of restaurants and shops (after you pass the tailors back-rooms). Distances in the Hotel brochure can be misleading and we would not recommend the Italian that was featured, not for the quality of the food (good) but for the overpriced menu.

Avoid the "Tuk-tuk mafia" as much as possible. 400 baht minimum to go anywhere at all is just outrageous. There is a bus called the Songthaew minibus (converted pick-up trucks) that take you along a predefined route between Phuket town and Kata stopping in Karon that is most convenient for 30 bhat per person per trip and they didn't even charge for the stroller (or our daughter for that mater). It takes a bit longer but it's an adventure not to be missed (not to mention much cheaper).

We enjoyed most Kata noi beach. We paid the parasol mafia fee and felt safe to go swim (one at a time) and our belongings were safe(r). The main Kata beach is nice but was quite noisy because of the festival for the Kings birthday. Karon beach was less full and it is possible to avoid the parasol mafia but at the cost of a bit of walking around to find a spot.

Overall Manohra does what it says, we enjoyed our stay and can recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    72
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
110
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last year, (I don't think my original review posted for some reason)

Anyway, it was perfect for what we wanted. Comfortable, cosy, clean and tidy. Nothing was too much trouble for Dario, the man is a legend. Sorted cabs, bikes, trips, and never seemed to stop.

If you want a little piece of Phuket that is off the main drag this is perfect for you.

Thanks Dario for an excellent holiday, we hope to come back someday.

My only thing of note, and this is a general Thailand thing. The beds are hard compared to western ones. We stayed on Phi Phi for a night and it was exactly the same. Note a downvote, just an observation of what to expect in Thailand.

Breakfast is a simple affair, but again its simple good food. A mix of fruit, bread, meats and tea/coffee/juice. I do recommend asking for a 'proper' coffee, its definitely worth it. Italian coffee, made by an Italian gent.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The superior bungalow we stayed in was lovely. Wall lizards, floor frogs and coconuts on the roof in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here. Only 8 min or so walk to Karon beach where I spent my time. Kata is too crowded. Great pool. Good breakfast but it should start earlier than 8am. Cheap motorbike rental. Cable tv, room was fine. Nothing special but fine for me. Especially for the peak season this was a good deal and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'll start off with the pros of this place:

Room:
- The superior room is amazing! Its clean. Our room was right in front of the pool and with the fountain on, we get soothing water sound from the fountain to our room. It's not too loud when the door is closed. Perfect!

Bathroom:
- Bathroom's spacious and clean.

Service:
- Jane and Dario were both amazing. We were welcomed by Jane, the receptionist, with a huge smile and she made sure our rooms were ready and showed us to our rooms. We had an ac issue but it was dealt with immediately. Jane arranged most of our show bookings and everything was done with professionalism and very well. Both of them are very nice and caring people as they showed concern when my brother fell ill during our stay and we had to leave Phuket earlier than our actual trip. They were both very considerate and understanding. Thank you Jane and Dario! :)

Breakfast:
- Breakfast was alright as there were a variety of fruits, cereals, bread, bacon, eggs (some days sunny side up, some days scrambled), sausages, and yummy banana pancakes!

Location:
- Quiet location with trees around. Amazing feeling surrounded by trees and the sound from the pool. Very near to many restaurants and massage services.

Pool:
- Pool was good as the water was cool and amazing to swim in after a hot day.

Cons (based on our view though):

- We found the place a lil' bit far from the beach. Probably coz we're not used to walking a lot. If you're motorbike friendly, it'll be better to rent one. Unless you love the exercise. ;)

Overall it was a good stay and we had hoped our holiday went better but oh well, things happen, maybe I'll go to Phuket for the 3rd time next! :)

Room Tip: We took the superior room which was comfortable. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I would not recommend staying here. Firstly it is a significant distance from Kata beach and main town area. The rooms are small and the shower is less than a few metres from the bed only covered by a shower curtain. The water pressure was so weak in the shower that we had to buy a bowl to shower adequately. The tv was small and the bed uncomfortable. The breakfast was disgusting- i wouldn't eat it as it was infested by fruit flys and bugs. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere closer to Kata beach and pay that little bit more. This was the worst hotel of our honeymoon by far.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On arrival we were given a warm and friendly welcome.

This is just a wee hotel and is very much what we were looking for. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was ideal for our trip.

The bedroom was a good size clean and tidy with TV, fridge, a safe and everything you need for your stay. If I was going again I would ask for a poolside room. I think these are slightly more expensive but in my view worth it.

The hotel is just a short walk from the bar's etc and only 10 mins max from the best beach in Thialand in my opinion.

Would certainly stay again and recommend to others. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stop looking and stay here!
We had a wonderful stay at the Cozy Village! It was quiet and a great escape.
We stayed in the standard room and loved it. No, it's not a five star hotel, so don't expect it. But in all honesty, I couldn't have asked for more. It was clean, the ac was great and it was private, comfortable and safe.
We stayed for four nights, Dario and his wife are great. We had a problem with our shower (no pressure) and told Dario about it before leaving for lunch, when we came back he was already fixing it (he had to replace and reroute the piping.) which was a fairly extensive job but he finished it within an hour or so.
Dario also arranged for us to have a private driver for 6 hours for just 1000 baht, he drove us around to all the tourist spots and we really saw a lot! It was one of the best days we had in Kata Beach.
The hotel is situated about 2 min walk from the busy street, which is great because the night clubs are quite loud on the strip, and you really hear the sound die as you walk back to your hotel.
Dario recommended a few restaurants, but honestly the entire strip is worth a try!
Many massage places and tourist shops with inexpensive goods nearby. We bought most of our souvineers in this area.
The bed was firm but comfortable enough. Our shower was a good temperature. There was a good amount of storage and the housekeeping was excellent. The breakfast was good enough and the bar had enough to keep us happy poolside. The bathrooms in the standard room weren't bad but could use some updating now that the rest is renovated.
Overall, we had an amazing stay and want to thank Dario for kicking off our trip to Thailand! Hopefully we'll be back again someday! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manohra Cozy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manohra Cozy Village

Address: 29/18 Soi 7 Patak Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Manohra Cozy Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manohra Cozy Village is a small resort offering a relaxed atmosphere in a nature friendly environment, composed by comfortable and well cared bungalows, at walking distance from the nightlife of Kata Center and just a few minutes from Kata Beach. The small size of the resort, reflects its management policy, first of all focused on customer care. Manohra is more than just a good place to spend holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Manohra Cozy Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manohra Cozy Village Hotel Kata Beach
Manohra Cozy Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manohra Cozy Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.