We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phuket Kata Resort
Save
You added Phuket Kata Resort to your Saves list
30/9 Kata Road, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Hotel has all comforts! Very large and very clean room! A breathtaking view from the windows to the sea! A very rich and varied buffet!! All good! All nice! All comfortable!! At only two step by the beach!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well, the hotel was great - the highlight for me was the bacon! Delicious (as was the whole breakfast)
The room (pool access) was fairly big, and was capable of sleeping 4 people in comfort, via pull-out beds. The pool was long and interestingly shaped, although it was narrow, so it was difficult to open the curtains and maintain privacy.
It's fairly close to Kata beach, which is clean, has lovely fine golden sand and plenty of waves to surf/jump into/be washed away by.
While most of the staff were fairly friendly, many of them didn't understand English or Thai (and, my wife is Thai, she had to speak to some of them in English!) We also had to take all of our luggage to the room ourselves - there's no porter service at all!
I have been coming to Phuket for over 10 years, and I have noticed in the last 2-3 that the majority of people are now Russian, Chinese and "non-Thai workers"
Unfortunately the "local" people aren't friendly on the whole - service is quite poor across the board and some of the people who work on the beach are downright aggressive.
It's still possible to buy great, authentic cheap food from places like Rawai, but for the most part Phuket is now vastly overpriced and has been ruined by foreign businesses and employees with no skill or interest in providing service. You can get a nice cheap hotel, but to enjoy a good cheap authentic meal, be provided good service, travel around the island for a reasonable price - good luck with that!

Nice hotel, but go to Khao Lak instead!!!

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are a good size, but you may lose a bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Γλυφάδα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kata beach was a fantastic hotel. I had a huge room and a huge balcony that looked directly to the hotel's pool. A/c was strong (it had to be) and the hotel food was just amazing! Breakfast was unforgettable!!!
People very friendly and it looked very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is located in an amazing beach, the restaurant is nice, good breakfast but the rooms are a little bit dated.
Lots of action close to the hotel, if you are searching for a calm place without too many people, this could be a deception, otherwise I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed about a week.

The reception staff were a little unfriendly when I arrived, spoke very little English and seemed a bit stiff. Nobody offered to help carry my luggage, I was simply led to my room, handed the keys, and left alone.

The room was reasonably spacious, as was the bathroom except for the broken handwash tap. Air conditioner was ok, a remote control would have been nice though. The main light seemed to be connected in series with the AC so had to sleep at night with a light on. No bed bugs but tons of Mosquitos and a little cockroach or two. Spacious cupboard with working safe. Disappointing CRT TV; flat panels should be standard in this day and age. Wifi is not free but the hotel next door has some signal on the left side of the hotel (kata poolside resort) which is totally free and not password protected, but rather slow.

Huge pool, clean, nice swim-up pool and loads of poolside beds. The swim-up pool is the single best feature of the hotel. The bar man Mathawee was quite friendly. The restaurant manager a little surly though.

Well-situated close to the beach and shops. The raw sewerage smell sometimes wafts over the hotel though.

Pricing was not particularly good for a 3 star hotel (THB 4200/n).

Overall, not a bad experience. I might have recommended it if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

it my 1st time to phuket: m glad to choose phuket kata resort after plenty of research. Beside the norms when travel in Thailand: mosquitoes & poor English, the location is great! nice restaurents,cafes,cheap street food and spa nearby: 5min walk to beautiful kata beach.only disappointment is non-thai staff working at shops,most of them are rude and it really spoilt mood of shopping spirit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyd this hotel and its very nice pool area. We had a pool access from our room, but althought it was nice, our room was located so that the terass was in the shadow all day long and therefore we didint really enjoy this option as much as we would have been wanted. Nevertheless, Phuket Kata Resort is a lovely, peacefull place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Kata Pool Lagoon
Kata Pool Lagoon
#41 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#15 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maithai Hostel
Maithai Hostel
#47 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#42 of 54 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#29 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#21 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Address: 30/9 Kata Road, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Kata Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.