We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

Save Saved
You added Phuket Kata Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Phuket Kata Resort
30/9 Kata Road, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Kata Beach
Piacenza, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very nice location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Hotel has all comforts! Very large and very clean room! A breathtaking view from the windows to the sea! A very rich and varied buffet!! All good! All nice! All comfortable!! At only two step by the beach!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well, the hotel was great - the highlight for me was the bacon! Delicious (as was the whole breakfast)
The room (pool access) was fairly big, and was capable of sleeping 4 people in comfort, via pull-out beds. The pool was long and interestingly shaped, although it was narrow, so it was difficult to open the curtains and maintain privacy.
It's fairly close to Kata beach, which is clean, has lovely fine golden sand and plenty of waves to surf/jump into/be washed away by.
While most of the staff were fairly friendly, many of them didn't understand English or Thai (and, my wife is Thai, she had to speak to some of them in English!) We also had to take all of our luggage to the room ourselves - there's no porter service at all!
I have been coming to Phuket for over 10 years, and I have noticed in the last 2-3 that the majority of people are now Russian, Chinese and "non-Thai workers"
Unfortunately the "local" people aren't friendly on the whole - service is quite poor across the board and some of the people who work on the beach are downright aggressive.
It's still possible to buy great, authentic cheap food from places like Rawai, but for the most part Phuket is now vastly overpriced and has been ruined by foreign businesses and employees with no skill or interest in providing service. You can get a nice cheap hotel, but to enjoy a good cheap authentic meal, be provided good service, travel around the island for a reasonable price - good luck with that!

Nice hotel, but go to Khao Lak instead!!!

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are a good size, but you may lose a bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Γλυφάδα, Ελλάδα
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kata beach was a fantastic hotel. I had a huge room and a huge balcony that looked directly to the hotel's pool. A/c was strong (it had to be) and the hotel food was just amazing! Breakfast was unforgettable!!!
People very friendly and it looked very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is located in an amazing beach, the restaurant is nice, good breakfast but the rooms are a little bit dated.
Lots of action close to the hotel, if you are searching for a calm place without too many people, this could be a deception, otherwise I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed about a week.

The reception staff were a little unfriendly when I arrived, spoke very little English and seemed a bit stiff. Nobody offered to help carry my luggage, I was simply led to my room, handed the keys, and left alone.

The room was reasonably spacious, as was the bathroom except for the broken handwash tap. Air conditioner was ok, a remote control would have been nice though. The main light seemed to be connected in series with the AC so had to sleep at night with a light on. No bed bugs but tons of Mosquitos and a little cockroach or two. Spacious cupboard with working safe. Disappointing CRT TV; flat panels should be standard in this day and age. Wifi is not free but the hotel next door has some signal on the left side of the hotel (kata poolside resort) which is totally free and not password protected, but rather slow.

Huge pool, clean, nice swim-up pool and loads of poolside beds. The swim-up pool is the single best feature of the hotel. The bar man Mathawee was quite friendly. The restaurant manager a little surly though.

Well-situated close to the beach and shops. The raw sewerage smell sometimes wafts over the hotel though.

Pricing was not particularly good for a 3 star hotel (THB 4200/n).

Overall, not a bad experience. I might have recommended it if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

it my 1st time to phuket: m glad to choose phuket kata resort after plenty of research. Beside the norms when travel in Thailand: mosquitoes & poor English, the location is great! nice restaurents,cafes,cheap street food and spa nearby: 5min walk to beautiful kata beach.only disappointment is non-thai staff working at shops,most of them are rude and it really spoilt mood of shopping spirit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyd this hotel and its very nice pool area. We had a pool access from our room, but althought it was nice, our room was located so that the terass was in the shadow all day long and therefore we didint really enjoy this option as much as we would have been wanted. Nevertheless, Phuket Kata Resort is a lovely, peacefull place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach
Address: 30/9 Kata Road, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Phuket Kata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Kata Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.