We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Kata Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phuket Kata Resort to your Saves list
Phuket Kata Resort
30/9 Kata Road, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyd this hotel and its very nice pool area. We had a pool access from our room, but althought it was nice, our room was located so that the terass was in the shadow all day long and therefore we didint really enjoy this option as much as we would have been wanted. Nevertheless, Phuket Kata Resort is a lovely, peacefull place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited Phuket in october and the weather pleasant the hotel is bit away from the town but the Kata beach is really nice, much better than the croweded ones in Phuket.
The Pool Bar is quite a treat, The hotel has decent rooms but the room serrvice is bit sluggish, The food is good and they have activities planned out for kids which really means a lot to family like ours with a small kid (Son is 4)

Room Tip: Try take a room with a direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I visited Phuket Kata Resort with my friends and we really had a amazing experience. The rooms were big and lovely. The bathroom was also nice. We really enjoyed a lot and had a very good time. We got a pool access from the room directly. The location is amazing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are big and spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here last October (yes its taken me a little while to write my review). We got a pool access room for 1100 baht a night which was an absolute bargain! The room was lovely, large and roomy bathroom with a little balcony straight into the pool. Breakfast was included and great (just stay away from the bain marie items). The only thing my boyfriend and I ate different on the trip was the breakfast buffet (I forgot to warn him about Thai breakfast buffets). I stuck to the fruit, cereal, toast etc but he got stuck into the noodles etc that had been sitting there all morning.. 24 hours later he was violently ill from both ends! No criticism on the resort as a whole as this can happen anywhere!

Positives: bargain hotel, swim up bar, pool access rooms, tucked away from main road
Negatives: not the best customer service, avoid the bain marie food at breakfast

Would I stay there again? Yes if I wanted to be in Kata area and it was low season ABSOLUTELY... Would I pay high season price for this resort? No....

Room Tip: Pool access definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espergaerde, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a big disappointment in Merlin, Khao Lak, we moved to Phuket Kata Reort, which turned out to be a wonderful resort. We chose a room with a direct access to the pool, which can be highly recommended. The room was big, nice, bright, clean and had a double bed and 2 single beds. Nice bathroom. Perfect for a family of 4. There is a small terrace with table, chairs and sun beds.

The resort is only 5 min. away from the beach, and 2 min. from shopping and the main street, but still tucked away, so there is no noice or hassle from the night life.

The staff/receptionist were so nice, helpful, and smiled all the time.

The breakfast was good with their own egg station.

The pools were nice, there are sun beds all way around, and was never over-crowded.

A wonderful place for a family!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Common 3-star hotell, a little dated. Booked a room with direct pool access. It also had a direct view on the neighbours a few meters across the pool. The pool water was quite cold. Breakfast ok. Two extra beds in the room: a sofa/bed with an extra mattrass under! Good if you travel with kids. Fridge. Bathroom ok with spacious shower. New Years Eve dinner rather disappointing with strange food. We grabbed our taxfree champagne and a couple of beers and went down to the beach instead. Reception asked when we were going to leave the room, because we had a very early departure. When we then opened the door one from the staff waited there and took our bags to the bus! We became very happy, because otherwise the service was limping at restaurants and other places.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Three positives are great location (near everything and short stroll to beach), fabulous pool that is not overcrowded, nice reception building in grand traditional Thai architectural style.

Now the negatives. The rooms are tired and appear to have been renovated some 30 years ago (they are bungalow style with entry from the garden). It felt as if we were on a camping holiday, with basic facilities. The room was not particularly dirty, but the sheet was stained, as were the floors and shower. The shower drain outlet was at a high point, so the water on the floor never drains, which I felt was unhygienic and the worst aspect of the room. The shower head had basically two thin water streams and it was almost impossible to rinse yourself. There were many cockroaches around the hotel and room, but I guess that is a feature of Phuket. The aircon could only run one speed, but I managed to turn the airflow away from the bed, to allow some shut-eye. The room safe did not work, but they fixed it, after working on it for three days. It is one of those hotels with lack of toilet privacy, with no door to close.

It appears that the hotel is popular with Scandinavians. Taxi drivers do not know the hotel, but you can say it is opposite the Khata Phuket Resort (sounds the same, but is not!). There is also a major taxi rank in front, which is convenient for getting around.

Room cleanliness and bathroom facilities are most important to me, so I gave it a low overall score. I won't be back at the Phuket Kata Resort, but my impression is that Phuket lacks fresh, clean accommodation, at least under 7000 Baht a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Phuket Kata Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Kata Resort

Address: 30/9 Kata Road, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Phuket Kata Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Kata Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Kata Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.