We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shore at Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Shore at Katathani to your Saves list
The Shore at Katathani
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 599 Reviews
Bindoon, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The extra little touches make all the difference. It was my birthday while we were there, and we came back to our room after being out all afternoon, and there was a lovely cake and fruit basket waiting for us. The bed was done up beautifully with flowers and a towel arrangement. My husband was sick one day and we arranged for our tour to be cancelled, and he received a lovely get well card from the resort. Made us feel very special. The rooms were gorgeous and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would totally recommend it for a special occasion romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    75
    25
    7
    0
See reviews for
28
477
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at The Shore for our honeymoon. What an amazing place to stay! The welcome was fantastic - warm, friendly and comprehensive. The rooms (villas) were cool, clean, spacious and the views absolutely stunning. The attention to detail was also excellent with the rooms equipped with every amenity you could possibly need. Great value with many things included in package, e.g. Welcome fruit platter, free wifi, breakfast (buffet or delivered to room), complimentary afternoon tea, books / magazines / movies to hire for no extra cost. Buggy service was also free and drivers were always willing / offering to give you a lift. On our last night there was a big storm and we were in a restaurant over the other side of the resort - the restaurant called for a buggy to take us back to our room - no problems! Service exceptional, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came here on my honeymoon. This place is just paradise. It is so beautiful, so romantic, so friendly, and just perfect.

The rooms are large and spacious! Extremely zen and calm, the linens just make you feel super relaxed. There is a bit of a hill but that just means you have a nicer view :) Each villa has a private pool which is very nice. We were lucky enough to be treated to a larger villa with an extra bedroom and bathroom. It was larger than my home! The space was terrific; having the living room and the ability to open all the doors, the fresh air...it was just perfect.

The food was great too. The breakfast buffet was so delicious and had a wide variety of items. As a Korean, I'm always so impressed when I see Kim-chi at a buffet. I don't know why. They had all types of foods, fresh fruits, delicious breads, and fresh grill items. We also had the pleasure of a romantic dinner for two. It was so sweet and incredible adorable how they planted the candles in the shape of a heart.

They really know how to make you enjoy your honeymoon and your vacation! The staff were extremely sweet and so pleasant. Everyone greeted us with a warm smile and proper Thai greeting. We went to many other hotels in Thailand, but never did I see people formally bow like they did here. So you really felt like royalty.

The beach is right off of the hotel. The infinity pool overlooks the crashing waves and the Katathani beach is rather small so you feel like it's a private beach.

You can walk to Kata Beach which is some what of a "main" part of town. Katathani is just a small strip to the side. It's a good walk, I think about a mile or two. 200 Baht gave us a tuk tuk ride back. We just rented a scooter out front for 300 Baht for a day. Pay an extra 30 for the gas. It was perfect for the two of us.

What you have to know that this is hotel in the city of Kata Beach but when you leave the airport, make sure to tell them that you want to go to Katathani. Cab drivers will be crazy about the extra 2 miles they have to drive out.

Bonus info: when you walk into the Kata Beach area, visit Phu massage. It's the BEST massage place in the whole area! Trust me we checked them all out. We went here 4 times! haha

Sawadee Ka!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

So far the best place we have stayed in ever!! We were amazed by the beauriful room with a private pool looking out onto the ocean in a quiet, peacful and private atmosphere. Very friendly attentive staff and nothing is too much trouble here for them. Really beautiful place! Highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Room was magnificent. Good size all the right amenities you need. So nice relaxing in the cool of you private cabana and pool, no need to put up with the endless stream of posing Russians that crowd the beach. The staff were all excellent and went above and beyond to ensure everything was perfect. Even our complimentary transfer to the airport was no problem when we had to divert to another resort to pick up my mother, they refused our offer to pay extra. We could not fault the service. Bed was big and extremely comfortable. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean each night was just bliss. Great resort for getting away from it all.

Room Tip: Room 8882 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The fabulous villas are located in hills, drowning in green jungles with breathtaking views either on hills or on the Andaman sea.
The service is of top class, at first call and irreproachable.
Villas are very spacious, have everything you need and have your private pool that is such an awe at dawn and sunset cause the sky mirrors in it and the feelings you experience sitting in an open-air terrace are just terrific!
To the nutshell: for whom?
Those who seek quietness, isolation, lack of people around, absence of dresscode.
Restaurant: at the sea shore, with a big pool at you foot and the sea at your eyes, open-air, very good quality food, fantastic variety of fruits, intricately served and decorated. Special emphasis should be given to the breakfast: it is a cornucopia, plenty of fresh juices, fruits, delicious bakery items, and traditional selection of hot meals: sausages, eggs, pancakes, etc. all this is accompanied with a perfect pleasing the ears music and immediate quite service of waiters.
Dinner inevitably looks romantic due to the sea scenary , candles and stars sky. The menue is not very long though the the meal offered is tasty- we have eaten around 2/3 of the list. The list of beverages is sufficient and has VSOP staff as well as decent apperetives and digestives. There' s a wine cave, we didn't visit it.
The sun desk is on a grass terrace and furnished either with chaiselonges or sofas protected with umbrellas. In my view it is very comfortable, the sandy beach is just 5 stair steps down from you and you are not mixed up with all the people strolling around along the beach
The place is absolutely safe, and has a guard posts on every exit.
We enjoyed going up and down the hill on foot in order to keep fit though the buggy service is free and they work 24 h.
The fitness center we didn't visit.
The spa center is well equipped though I didn' like the design- no windows. The service there: this is the only issue I think has space for improvement. I'm an experienced visitor of Asian spa centers in Vietnam, Cambodga, Maldives, and others.
First the description of treatment: it's quite descriptive but I can't make a clear picture of what to expect. Not every spa treatment is accompanied with elements of massage. The massagers are wordless and address all the enquiries to the receptionist who lacks typical Asian welcome. I would tell that that is not good value for the money you pay. Spa is overpriced. Because the hotel is relatively remote , so to use the other spa centers in the village will be uploaded with extra pay for taxi.
As for the sun beach relax , I haven' had a better place to go.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed at The Shore (Dec 19-24, 2012) with our two-late teens children and enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Situated on the beautiful Kata Noi beach, with its clean sand and pristine clear waters, Shore is a small resort of excellent villas. Our 2 bedroom villa was spacious, light and well airconditioned and had all the requisite facilities, wifi, large bath, plunge pool, large comfortable beds, plenty of relaxation space.
The resort is on a very hilly area, which didn't worry us but may concern the less mobile, (some steep walking required, though pick-up golf cart service is available.)
Gym facilities are adequate at Shore; and excellent at the neighbouring Katathani Hotel, (Shore guests can use all the facilities at that hotel.)
The resort has a great pool and very pleasant restaurant area, no access to non-guests, (across the whole resort), so always relaxed and never crowded. we never had issues getting loungers; a table for meals, etc.
Breakfast is comprehensive and dinner is excellent with lovely food and a good reasonably priced wine list.
The service across the resort is excellent; from the crew at the restaurant to the housekeepers to the excellent concierge/bell boys, (Hi Mimee!) They all blend excellent professionalism with an easy relaxed communication style.
If you book directly with Shore, they will provide complimentary airport transfers; good value given the 1 hour trip duration.
One suggestion; the check in process could be handled more efficiently for late arriving guests.
We had a great stay and will definitely return when we next visit Phuket.
Many thanks Shore team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shore at Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore at Katathani

Address: 14 Kata Noi rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shore at Katathani 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront pool villa resort on Kata Noi Beach in Phuket, Thailand. This adult only resort is a natural fusion of indoor and outdoor living where time has no meaning beyond the pleasure of every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shore at Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore At Katathani Hotel Kata Beach
The Shore At Katathani Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shore at Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.