We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Elephant Trekking in the Jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking

Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking
287 Moo 2 Sai Yuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 89 59 19413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Activities in Kata Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kok Chang Elephant Trekking Safari in set on a beautiful ocean viewpoint where the dense tropical jungle overlooks Kata Noi Bay. We offer various jungle routes riding on these Majestic animals from 20 minutes, or to the summit on 30 minute and 1 hour treks. Fully trained and experienced guide handlers will take you and your family through the dense tropical forest along paths and trails from the southwest corner of the beautiful Phuket island stopping at scenic beauty for photographs along the way. Get lucky and sit on the elephants neck. Children and adults are encouraged to stop by the banana kiosk to observe and feed the Elephants, there is no charge. This is a great photo opportunity and you can even touch the elephants trunk.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Elephant Trekking in the Jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time that we've taken this trip.It makes for a wonderful hour in the hills above Kata and the environs.For sure the elephants are well looked after and the people that run the place are friendly and very welcoming.The views are outstanding from a certain part of the trek.We never felt uncomfortable at all.It's definitely 'a must' as it's such a great diversion from the beaches,shops and the general hustle and bustle of resorts.It feels like escapism.The ride is very relaxing and only a little bumpy in places.I'd say go for it as it's so very unique.There are bananas supplied for you to feed the elephants with,which adds to the whole pleasure of the trip.We also sat on the neck of the elephant which too feels quite special and very enjoyable.
Very well recommended.A great experience....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    162
    41
    21
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good elephant trekking in South Phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had done a lot of research into elephant trekking on Phuket as my girlfriend loves elephants and Kok Chang looked to be the best available.

Kok Chang is slightly out of the way if you don’t have transport (although they do offer a car service if required) but is easily found next to a main road. On the drive out there, we drove past numerous elephant trekking establishments, all of which seemed to specialise ATV rides and one was making a point about having a new baby elephant for people to see. We were both really pleased we pushed on for another 10 minutes and went to Kok Chang. It is set in a peaceful area, set back from a small main coastal road. There is a very nice bar where you buy your tickets and can stop off for a drink before and after. We opted for the 60 minute ride (I think it actually lasted 50 minutes) for 1000 baht each - it seemed a little expensive but I would prefer to pay more for well looked after elephants.

The trek itself was most enjoyable and unlike another trek I have been on, you don’t have to go out in groups which makes the experience all the more enjoyable. We were taken up quite a steep path through the forest for a while until we reached the top of a peak with great views over the coast. Here, our mahout jumped off and took some really nice photos of us on the elephant and we both took it in turns to sit on the elephants neck as she wandered down the hill side. We were shown several different things in the jungle, including some truly monstrous spiders and the rubber trees being tapped.

The elephants themselves look well cared for, and after our ride, the mahout took our elephant for a wash down to cool her off. We took some time to take some further photos and feed the elephants with some bananas.

I enjoyed it thoroughly and would return again if we come back to Phuket again

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We did the 50 minute trek for 1000 baht each. The people were very friendly and we felt the elephants were treated well. It was our first time doing this and just like swimming with dolphins, once is enough.
There is a bar with beer and soda you can take with you on the ride.

The view from the top of the hill overlooking the ocean is fantastic and scenic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location is great, but ride and service just so-so. Free bananas excellent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Kok Chang is very close to the downtown, so it's much easier to go there and ride elephants than going up to the National Park for a full day. Price is ok (kindof expensive, but I'm ok with a premium for convenience). The venue is ok - I was worried it would be like fake since it's right near Kata, but it was quite natural and the terrain is mountainous, which makes for an interesting ride.

They let you feed the elephants bananas for free. Of course, there's a donation box which we contributed to, but it's nice that it's optional. The elephants look a little underfed, but beggars can't be choosers.

Two bad things:
Midway through our trek (30-minute trek), the guides stopped us and tried to sell us trinkets made of elephant tusks or whatever. They said we had to buy there, since they weren't allowed to sell back at the main launch area. We didn't want to be sold to - you know? We were just enjoying our elephant ride and then had to be made to feel like we were back on Patong beach fighting off hawkers. Not to mention that they were selling us stuff made of the very animals we were riding on. That seemed quite wrong to us and was disappointing. Even more disappointing was when we politely said "no thank you", our two (we had two elephants for the family group of 6) previously jovial guides became sortof unhappy pricks. Why do we need to be made to feel like bad guys because we just want to enjoy the elephant ride and not fight off hawkers?!

The other bad thing: one of the elephants (my elephant) was a little poorly behaved - - wandering off slightly - - and the handler started whacking the elephant on the head with his steel hammer/hook. The elephant suffered a cut and was bleeding a little bit. I recognize that they're wild animals and, yes, I'd prefer the elephant get a cut then run off with me and my son on his back...but...a little bit scary for my boy and my wife on the other elephant was saddened.

Anyway, aside from the above issues, it was a decent experience and something you can fit into your schedule quite easily.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Still The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Kok Chang Safari would have to be one of the best elephant trek's we have been to during all of our travels to Phuket. All the animals seem well cared for, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the setting is beautiful. We have lost count of the number of times we have been here over the years and Kok Chang just keeps getting better!

There are bananas available at the center to feed the elephants while taking some great photos and you just leave a donation in the box for them.

One of the highlights of the elephant trek, besides the fantastic views is once you are at the top of the hill you can ride down sitting on the elephants head if you want. It was so exciting sitting on her head, feet hooked behind her ears for balance and enjoying the ride back down.
Your mahout will also take lots of photos of your trek, so just hand him your camera.

There is also a great bar at the centre, so after your trek you can buy water, fruit shakes, beer etc at very cheap prices. This is also a perfect spot to sit and watch a beautiful Phuket Sunset!

Prices for the 50 minute elephant trek to the summit are 1000baht per adult. This is the one we would highly recommend! There is also a 30 minute trek for 800baht, 20 minute trek for 600baht, with 50% off for children 4 - 11 years of age and children under 4 are free. Money for the elephant trek is paid directly to the centre.

Kok Chang Safari also have complimentary pickups from Karon, Kata, Nai Harn or Rawai and 400baht for return transfers from Patong (per car not per person).
Contact details are:
Chaini +66 (0) 84 841 9794
 chainikokchang@gmail.com

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.