We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking

Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking
287 Moo 2 Sai Yuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 89 59 19413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Activities in Kata Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kok Chang Elephant Trekking Safari in set on a beautiful ocean viewpoint where the dense tropical jungle overlooks Kata Noi Bay. We offer various jungle routes riding on these Majestic animals from 20 minutes, or to the summit on 30 minute and 1 hour treks. Fully trained and experienced guide handlers will take you and your family through the dense tropical forest along paths and trails from the southwest corner of the beautiful Phuket island stopping at scenic beauty for photographs along the way. Get lucky and sit on the elephants neck. Children and adults are encouraged to stop by the banana kiosk to observe and feed the Elephants, there is no charge. This is a great photo opportunity and you can even touch the elephants trunk.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff at kok Chang safari were excellent! Elephants are well looked after. The views are outstanding! Our rider took lots of photos of us whilst trekking! An unforgettable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    168
    41
    22
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice location and good staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Easy to get to - 200 bath from Mom Tri and Kata Noi. Elephants seems to be well taken care of, and our guide was excellent and a very good photographer. 3 trips to chose between - 20, 30 and 50 minutes. We took the 30 minutes. Very nice. Felt a bit like being alone in the jungle :-)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went there last year by myself and met some amazing people, whilst enjoying the adventure! Elephant trek, my guide made me a hat out of a leaf, I got to ride on the elephants head at one point, lost my shoe but the guide picked it up. The fish feet always gets me.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

1 hr ride 1000b each. Arrived from Patong via tuk tuk for 700B, driver waited whilst we enjoyed our ride. Was quite quiet. At first worried as elephants were chained up around their ankles. This is to stop them walking off. They seemed to all be well looked after. Fed well and cooled down. Elephant rider who came with us (on LongLegs the 40year old female elephant) was using this large spike on a stick to keep the elephant in line. This was not used harshly which was a bit more reassuring.

Our actual ride was 1 hr long and 1000B each for 2 of us. We enjoyed a lovely hike, with beautiful views. Elephant rider jumped off and let us ride Longlegs by ourselves. Just whistled and shouted instructions to Longlegs every now and then. Really wonderful. Elephant rider was fantastic at taking lots of photo's of us on our camera. He was very artistic with his shots!

Got to feed elephant after she was washed down back at camp.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I loved it, for $1000 baht we rode an elephant for 50 minutes, paid an extra $400 baht to be picked up n dropped off to our hotel in Patong. They have free bananas for you to feed the elephants after the trip, my partner got to sit on the neck. It's a bit scary at first but never felt unsafe

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.