We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Elephant Trekking on Phuket Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking

Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking
287 Moo 2 Sai Yuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 89 59 19413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Activities in Kata Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kok Chang Elephant Trekking Safari in set on a beautiful ocean viewpoint where the dense tropical jungle overlooks Kata Noi Bay. We offer various jungle routes riding on these Majestic animals from 20 minutes, or to the summit on 30 minute and 1 hour treks. Fully trained and experienced guide handlers will take you and your family through the dense tropical forest along paths and trails from the southwest corner of the beautiful Phuket island stopping at scenic beauty for photographs along the way. Get lucky and sit on the elephants neck. Children and adults are encouraged to stop by the banana kiosk to observe and feed the Elephants, there is no charge. This is a great photo opportunity and you can even touch the elephants trunk.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
398 helpful votes 398 helpful votes
“Best Elephant Trekking on Phuket Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Kok Chang Safari would have to be one of the best elephant trek's we have been on during all of our travels to Phuket.

All the animals seem well cared for, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the setting is beautiful. There are bananas available at the center to feed the elephants while taking some great photos and you just leave a donation in the box for them.

There are also 2 white palmed gibbons at Kok Chang called Charley and Lum Yai, however they are both now in a huge enclosure due to being at an age where they could be a danger to people or to themselves. Their new home is lovely with lots of room to swing around on their ropes and play.

One of the highlights of the elephant trek, besides the fantastic views is once you are at the top of the hill you can ride down sitting on the elephants head if you want. It was so exciting sitting on her head, feet hooked behind her ears for balance and enjoying the ride back down.

Your mahout will also take lots of photos of your trek, so just hand him your camera.

There is also a great bar at the centre, so after your trek you can buy water, fruit shakes, beer etc at very cheap prices.

This is also a perfect spot to sit and watch a beautiful Phuket Sunset!

Prices for the one hour elephant trek to the summit are 1000baht per adult. This is the one we would highly recommend!

There is also a half hour trek for 800baht, a 20 minute trek for 600baht, with 50% off for children 4 - 11 years of age and children under 4 are free.

Money for the elephant trek is paid directly to the centre.

Kok Chang Safari have also started doing complimentary pickups from Karon, Kata or Nai Harn and 100baht for return transfers from Patong.
Contact details are:
Chaini +66 (0) 84 841 9794
info@kokchangsafari.com

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    171
    41
    23
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience if you've not try before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I book through their website by dropping them a short email just a day before!
We arrive phuket in Patong by Cruise Libra. Eventhough we are 15minutes late, the driver still has a big smile on his face :) In fact our driver a good command of english and a little too friendly.

The elephant tour was great experience. Breathtaking view. But I do keep telling myself that the elephant has thick thick skin so the guide was scratching and not torturing them. Feeding them is fun. I recommend them because i can see the elephants feed well. 800baht x 2 person = 1600baht / 30min Oh, the guide help you to take tons of photo, just make sure your camera not too hard to operate.

The price is reasonable especially the driver even brought us to a good restaurant, Wat Cha Long, buy tickets at Simon Carbaret at half the tour agent price and back to a shopping mall or place of your choice, for only 400baht!!! Of cos I gave him some tips since he save us a lot of transport fares, time!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive elephants, nice treks and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at the Katathani hotel resort in Kata during our trip in early Nov 2011. I wanted for my children to experience first hand what it would feel like to ride on an elephant. I am glad to have done my research on Tripadvisor ahead of our trip to Phuket. I read good reviews on Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking and decided to call them while there. Within a few minutes of my call, they sent in a driver to pick us up from the resort which is only about 10 minutes from Kok Chang. We were offered a few options for the duration of the trek i.e. 20 mns, 30 mns and 60 mns. We picked the 20 mns tour. The trek was superb and the accompanying staff volunteered to take our photos. After we completed our little tour, the driver took us back to the hotel. We were pretty much done in 1 hour including transport time. Kok Chang is the place to visit for elephant trekking if you are staying in or around Kata.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Must try if you have not done it before.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We did the 50 min trek with our preschool aged children which brought us out to the other side of the hill where you could get nice ocean views. The elephants at kok chang are well cared for. Elephants are amazingly gentle and our guide was friendly and helpful. Over the period of the trek, he would communicate with the elephant mainly by voice. Even when he hopped off the elephant to help us with photoes (with our own camera at no extra charge), the elephant would listen to the guide's voice.At one point, the elephant continued on the trek even when the guide was not on the elephant but some distance away but the elephant would always listen to the guide's voice. In the middle of the trek, he even let my 4 year old sit on the back of the neck of the elephant and she was happy to do so for a while...

At kok chang, you can go to the shed to get bananas to feed the elephants. There's a donation box rather than a fixed price for the bananas (which we saw at some other camp which our taxi driver tried to take us to). Feeding the elephant is something you must try.

I would highly recommend kok chang if you have not done elephant trekking before. My children were a little apprehensive at first and did not want to go near the elephants initially, but with some encouragement and after a while on the trek, they were willing to even sit on the bare back of the elephant, pat her and eventually enjoyed the experience. When we returned, they all wanted to feed the elephants by hand.

There is also a clean toilet at the car park area kok chang if you need one.
By the way, if you stayed at kata and wanted to do an elephant trek, they would come pick you from your hotel and drive you back at no additional cost.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great elephant trekking experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Since we had never ridden an elephant it was something definitely on our list. We are consciousness about animal rights and wanted to pick a reputable company. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we chose Kok Chang as they seemed to be the best reviewed. We had our options for how long to ride and we picked the longest of 55 minutes. We rode the elephant in a seat with the guide gently encouraging the elephant on his way. When the elephant would stop to grab a bite to eat, the guide would yell a few words and the elephant would move along. There were a few times that the guide tapped the elephant with a stick, but in no way did I see any abuse of the animals.

We really enjoyed the scenery as we saw the sea and trekked through rubber trees. Half way through the journey we were allowed to get out of the seat and take turns riding on the elephant's head sans saddle.

The cost was around 1000 Baht per person.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kok Chang Safari Elephant Trekking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.