We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horn Grill Steakhouse

Horn Grill Steakhouse
Address: 2/37 Kata Plaza, Kata Road | Karon District, Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 (0) 76 285 173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 117 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, European, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to the Horn Grill on the recommendation of some friends who were also in Phuket over New Years. I'm glad we listened to them. The food was delicious! Between the four of us, we had a burger, lamb chops, a steak, and a sandwich. Every meal was prepared perfectly. The accompanying vegetables were perfectly steamed/cooked and flavored. Our drinks, including the wine by the glass, were excellent.

The service was notable as well. The servers and the system they employ would give a fancy restaurant in the USA a run for its money. Our servers were professional and prompt. At an accompanying table, a waiter accidentally spilt some water on one of the customers (another customer jostled the waiter). The server immediately brought out a restaurant t-shirt for the customer to change into and swept his t-shirt away (assumably to be cleaned and dried).

All in all, an excellent experience. We live in Bangkok and will definitely put Horn Grill on our list of Phuket restaurants to frequent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    159
    42
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A pretty good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When you get sick of Thai food and Chang beer during your Phuket vacation, this is a pretty good place to go for a dose of American food and wine. It shares ownership with the local Two Chefs chain, which deservedly dominates the Kata restaurant scene. Like everywhere else in Phuket, service is pretty slow. And expect to pay tourist prices, as at Two Chefs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the price:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Horn Grill Steakhouse in Kata is separated into four different sections. There is a street level outside terrace, an inside Bistro area, a lovely Jazz dining room and our favorite, the outside patio area which looks very pretty at night with all the fairy lights.

All the beef is imported from Australia so it would be fantastic quality. The night we went no one was really hungry so we just ordered snacks. Everything was very tasty, reasonably priced and service was very good. We will go back again to try their steaks.

The bill for the 4 of us was 2450baht; this also included a glass of wine, Bacardi & 4 beers. For the sort of restaurant this is the prices are very good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I have eaten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Try the Angus Filet Mignon. There were also a separate kids menu.

Location is not that great, but ok to look at the busy Kata evening life.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Doesn't warrant all the good reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

So we sought this place out on the recommendation of the reviews we had read here. Looked quite dirty from the outside and inside nothing to get excited over.
It was ok. Nothing special...and the prices were quite expensive for what we ordered (and the quality that came out)

We ordered 2 soft drinks and both the Australian Rib Eye Steak with various sides. For one thing...the steak served definitely wasn't Rib Eye. Being Australian, we know the various cuts of meats and this was basically a flattened out lamp chop with lots of fat. Onion rings were stock standard from Burger King, and the Cajun sauce was a sprinkle of spices on top of the steak.

We were the only people dining there at approx 4pm. Servers lacked attention and friendliness.
People that eat here while in Thailand are either not fussy with their food (or over eating Asian food), or don't know any better on what is decent quality for price.

Wouldn't recommend

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn Grill Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Horn Grill Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horn Grill Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.