We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect too much but its decent enough.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Studio

Save Saved
You added Kata Beach Studio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kata Beach Studio
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   90/5 Khoktanod Road, Kata Beach, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dont expect too much but its decent enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at this place. Managed to get it for a steal of the price (during the peak season) given that it is a studio apartment styled hotel. It has a functional kitchen with microwave, stoves and sinks which you can cook your meals if you are planning to stay for long periods.

The rooftop pool is beautiful, you get your own private sunning deck after a long day out around phuket. It even has a jacuzzi and steam bath as part of the roof top facilities.

Bed is a little hard and springy but you get what you pay for. The place is suitable for couples who like a bit of privacy off the kata hotel stretch and has an interesting viewing window which faces the shower.

Walk to the beach is around 15 mins downhill.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor as the balcony is great for watching the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a great little place with well equipped rooms, including cooking facilities, fridge, tv, free internet etc. The rooms were clean, comfortable and air conditioned. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but really quite fine. Walk to the beach was about 15mins, though a little precarious at times. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby if you don't want to travel far. If you look around you can get some good deals. Would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Avoid the road - ask for an odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights, and it was ok. The walk tO the beach is about 15 minutes on a busy street with no sidewalks, but there are a couple of restos and a mini mart right next door. Try and request a room on the opposite side of the street bcause it can get very noisy early in the morning. All in all, next time i will pay a little more and stay closer to the beach (we paid 42 canadian a night) but this was fine.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

6 of us stayed in this place for almost a week and it was very comfortable. What took us there was the price offered and we got more than what we paid for. The travel desk at the hotel was helpful and we could get good deals from there, including motorbikes for rent. There were lot of restaurants nearby for food, and a familymart right next to it. The roof top pool and along with the bar was quite a bonus for amount that we paid. The place looks just like what we see in other reviews, so i'm not posting more photos :-) There was a taxi guy nearby as well for reasonably priced airport transfer.

We didnt use the hotel restaurant as it never had anyone or anything about it to sit there, and once we sat there, they chef had gone out so we moved on. The free internet was slow, but ok. The tv didnt have many useful channels, but who watches tv on a vacation ;)

Room Tip: No view from balconies in rooms 23, 24 and 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Kata beach studio fell short of my expectations when I moved in, and slowly grew on my over my 5 day stay there. The service was OK except for one rude receptionist.

Pros:
-Very good price for what you get

-Nice lobby

-Good location in Kata - about 15 mins walk from the beach and 10 mins to the main road. We got a moped though for 200b/day which was great.

-Rooftop pool was great. Especially in the evenings. We really enjoyed this.

-Rooms have a balcony - the 5th floor has some decent views of Kata hill with the Budda statue and a peekaboo of the ocean.

-There is the MOST basic of kitchens.

-Good sized room

-Free wifi

Cons:
-Cleanliness was not quite up to par.

-Bed was super uncomfortable - I could feel the springs poking into my back.

-The staff are passively cordial. One was rude but the rest checked the boxes. Nothing good, service wise.

-Our safe wasn't working it took them a couple days to finally fix.

-We did not have working satellite TV, just fuzziness. They did not offer anything for this.

-There was no microwave in the "kitchen". Just a little fridge in the room and a sink and stovetop outside on the balcony.

-Slow wifi

Overall the bed was the worst thing about this place and the pool the best. I would maybe stay here again only because it was cheap (600b/night for the Agoda rate)

Room Tip: Stay on 5th floor. Close to pool and decent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a really nice hotel! The location is great, short walk to the beach, lots of restaurants nearby! The staff is very nice and helpful and speaks great english at the reception. The room is big, has a little outside kitchen area, fridge, microwave, free wifi, good Tv! Very clean and you get fresh towels and sheets every day. The rooftop pool is nice and relaxing and the bar is good to have up there as well. Nice people! We are staying here for a whole month and I would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I booked three nights here because I wanted a place that had some cooking facilities.

Pros - clean rooms, quiet (ask for a room off the street), simple but nice rooftop bar. Helpful staff, and the front desk person spoke excellent English.

Cons - Even though they have cooking facilities, they have the small bar sized refrigerator, which is kind of useless. I like to have ice for iced tea etc. so I had to go to the family mart and buy ice, which is not a big deal but of course it immediately melted in the refrigerator (no freezer) and made a mess. There is also no microwave - only a cooktop.

I liked the location, about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and there are plenty of nice restaurants right near the hotel. The taxi mafia killed me for 800 baht to get back to the airport, but I tried several places and could not get it any cheaper. The rooftop bar had a very friendly and helpful bartender (Tik?), but was deserted when I was there in late afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Studio

Address: 90/5 Khoktanod Road, Kata Beach, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Specialty lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Beach Studio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata beach studio Being gently lapped by smooth sandy and warm Andaman sea, The natural beauty of Kata Beach is unsurpassed. A perfect place suitable for safe swimming and sunbathing. Kata Beach Studio made as a modern style with kitchen and balcony. The most distinct features is the swimming pool with Jacuzzi, privacy, stunning, panoramic view at the top level. Enjoy and relaxing with the cool drinks at the bar and feel the sensation of the atmospheric sea breeze. With a few minutes easy walking distance to beach, Kata Beach Studio ensure your peace of mind as your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kata Beach Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Studio Hotel Phuket
Kata Beach Studio Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.