We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Spa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kata Beach Spa Resort
Save
You added Kata Beach Spa Resort to your Saves list
95 Pakbang Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was one of the few that was on the beach. The problem is that the hotel has no loungers on the beach, although you can pay for loungers at around 100 baht each. The hotel loungers are around the pool and scattered through the grounds. If you want a lounger which has an umbrella you should make sure you get up around 7.30am to sling your towel over it as most of the loungers have been covered with towels by then.
We had a nice room which overlooked the beach, most rooms don't. the air conditioning unit is very noisy though. Breakfast is not that great - diluted orange squash, unappealing bread and not a very good selection of fruit considering where we are. The cooked breakfast was average. Its quite a scrum as this remember this is a big hotel approx 280 rooms. I think the hotel is overpriced for what it offers.
The staff are very pleasant as they are, in most places in Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Many reviewers have mixed this place up with a larger/expensive resort. This place consists of a group of bungalows just 5 min walk to Kata Beach. It is owned/run by Mr. Helle and his wife. I stayed in Bungalow #5 - very roomy; complete with a kitchen, 2 recliners, TV, bed, batroom, etc. It's clean enough and in a GREAT location.

It's not luxury, but definately worth the $1,400 per night I paid (I believe they upgraded me for free to a larger bungalow). I've attached pictures.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My family and I will not be back. This hotel is devious about getting the extra dollar from you. Beware !! Check and double check all bills. Mine had someone elses drinks added, we were double charged for our meals ( which they add a service charge and vat onto after informing you what they cost, it could be a nasty supprise ) and we were charged for usage from the mini bar that we did not consume. To their credit, the reception did sort it out, but it should not have been necessary. So check your bills !!!!

Room Tip: pillows were terrible. One of our rooms had no hot water. We requested/booked connecting rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very nice room, people at the front desk smile a lot (not a lot of english, which is surprising for this type of hotel). They do try to get a much money from you as possible. Example, WiFi, 150baht for 2 hours....walk around the corner and there are at least 3 establishments (coffee, restaurant/bar) that you get it for free. Save your money. Go to the 7-11 rather than the mini bar, etc. I'm not a cheapskate, but a couple baht here, another couple there...it adds up.

Room and grounds were very nice. On this trip I stayed in other towns in botique hotels that cost less, free WiFi, and rooms much nicer. So this just didn't live up to the rest of the trip. It's not bad, and if you're just going to Phuket to get-a-way, you will enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week when we arrived in Phuket and it was a great intro to the area. Not far by tuktuk to Patong, walking distance from Karon, and a short stroll along the beach to some great restaurants. 7Eleven across the road is handy!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days and overall we loved it. Check in was smooth and friendly.
The room was clean, if not a little dated and we had a fantastic shower. We had a beach view room and I recommend getting a room facing the beach. The others look out onto the carpark or villa rooms. My negatives about the room were the air con was loud and the walls were thin.
The hotel is all about location. Right on the beach. It's the only hotel that currently offers this. It's great to go for a swim in the ocean and then come back and clean off in the hotel pool with a happy hour cocktail or two.
If your after good shopping go into Patong. There are shops around the hotel but they're limited and more expensive. It'll cost about 300-400 baht one way into Patong depending on your bartering skill. The hotel taxi will cost 450baht but you don't have to barter and you don't have to move out of the hotel.
Pool chairs. I had to get up at 6:30 am to get a front row seat looking out to the beach and even then I wasn't the first person to get a seat.
Restuarants a plenty. We found if you walk out onto the beach and turn left and walk to the end there is a great place to drink. It's a reggae bar. Drinks are cheap and next door is a cheap place to eat. If you walk out from the carpark of the hotel and turn right there is the Horn Grill. Fantastic food. Prices are a bit more than average but the service, dacor and food are worth the extra.
Kata beach was a great place to stay. It was quiet and out of the way but still within reach of the kaos of Pantong. If you've stayed in Patong before you may miss everything being on your door step , but if your not a big fan of being asked for a suit everytime you walk out the hotel Kata Beach may be for you.
One last piece of advise. Avoid the Phi Phi island tour. You'll join a few thousand friends everywhere you go and the rubbish is unbelivable. If you can afford it charter a private boat to take you somewhere secluded.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor seaview room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had 10 days in a Deluxe unit (with a small sea view through the trees) and enjoyed this place. We booked a Deluxe rather than a Superior suite (which is their standard suite), so we would be assured of a sea view and this worked. Very clean place, well organised, staff very helpful and friendly. Right on the beach, so the location is great with Kata shops and a large range of restaurants over the road (once you had finished with the 3 at the hotel). Food is more highly priced in the hotel than in the town. One of the hotel's resturants is right on the beach, so this location is better than anywhere else. Only item of comment was a small smoking smell after our unit was locked up, which disapeared after about 5 minutes (so ask for a non-smoking unit). With boat trips - avoid these if there is sea swell. We did Phi Phi and Racha Islands and Phi Phi was calm so had a fanastic day but Racha had 3m swells so most people on board were sea sick. But take me back anytime to Kata Beach - I miss Chang beer and the Sticky Rice and Mango puddings already!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Spa Resort

Address: 95 Pakbang Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Spa Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.