We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Holiday Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Spa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kata Beach Spa Resort
Save
You added Kata Beach Spa Resort to your Saves list
95 Pakbang Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Family Holiday Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was getting a little worried when I read reviews on this hotel just before we departed for Thailand. Upon arrival around midnight we were confronted with only a king size bed in our room and now where for our two children to sleep, after a long discussion with the front reception they organised a roll away bed for one child and the other bunked in with us for the night. The next morning I put my foot down and demanded proper sleeping arrangements and beds for my children, which we where then upgraded to the pool wing which stepped right out onto the pool. We were happy little vegemites after that. We could not fault this hotel one bit other than it being a little too expensive, but that did not stop us as we just waved the beach cafes over to us and purchased our food and drink from them. The location of the hotel is just perfect, right on the beach with ample activities ie: parasailing, banana boat rides, jetskis etc. I am also now convincined we now never need a kids club in a hotel, my kids are age 9 years and 5 years and we never saw them unless they were hungry and needed money!! The restuarants around the hotel are awesome, we hired bikes and looked at the sights that way. We made some great friends and some who we intended to keep in touch with in the future. If you stay here you will not be disapointed, we had a ball...!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Hotel was nice, clean (although we did have some ants in our room by the coffee and cups) and right on the beach. We loved the location most of all, you could walk to onto the beach from the hotel, which is rare in Phuket or you could use one of the hotel lounge chairs and feel as you were on the beach anyways with great views of the ocean. We also loved our balcony and our room overall was nice. The hotel food and drinks were extremely expensive so we always ventured out for food and drinks but there is ample selection close to the hotel. To purchase a fresh coconut drink at the hotel was 170 Baht however if you walked 50 feet to the beach it was 40 Baht. We left a book in our room when we checked out and came back 3 hours to claim it but the maids had already thrown it away which was disappointing. We paid around $150 USD a night and enjoyed our stay but I don't think I would stay there again. We moved to a nearby hotel that was only $25 USD a night. The other hotel wasn't on the beach and the rooms weren't quite as nice but for the savings of $125 USD a night it was well worth it. The problem with the cheap hotels in Phuket is some are nice and some are a dump so you have to be very careful. We chose to pay extra for this hotel for our first few nights so we could scope out a cheap hotel that we were confidant was nice and that plan worked wonders for us. This hotel is a sure bet to be 'nice' but if you do your homework you can find a much better value elsewhere. The hotel we moved to was Baan Thai Homestay in case anyone is interested. (side note when you are on the island looking for rooms negotiate rates!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Found the service lacking. Badly in need of complete make-over! Impossible to get sunchairs at pool. Very difficult on beach too as many were "reserved"!! Found that most of deckchairs were booked from the early hours of the morning!
could find a better place to stay that has better service and FREE WIFI..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed in Kata Beach 7 nights, then moved in another hotel of Kata Group Phuket Orchid on Karon. Kata Beach Resort and Spa is GREAT ! it's good for romantic honeymoon and for families with children, for solo travellers and your can send there your parents and they will like it. The location is Perfect, right on the beach, no big stairs, your sunbed is under coconut palm near the pool and the sea is 30 steps away. very comfortable with children. Beach Kata is safe from waves (in March), not deep about 6-10 meters. Outside the hotel there are nice restaurans, really lively but not like patong ! Recommend to visit Dino-Park with kid's ( it's between kata and Karon , on main street) and Fantasea !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Room was clean, with great room service every day. Good looking staff with great polite service. Highly recommend this place for any age travelers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I've stayed at the Kata Beach Resort and Spa (at Kata Beach) 3 times over the past ~ 7 years. Although their location is fantastic, the hotel itself is lowly going downhill. The quality of the english of the staff is much worse than other times I've visited...they look at you an smile when there is a problem. The service is not great (it took them 10-15 minutes to bring me a cup of coffee at breakfast, the next morning I just got it myself). The a-la-cart menu isn't great either. The satays are OK, but the pad thai is horrible. We disliked the food so much that we went across the street for lunch daily. From afar the hotel looks clean, but you can look at virtually any wall and see dirt on it. The hotel was quiet at night, but they had the most annoying, pointless, fireworks outside the hotel nightly. They could have been some of the worst I have seen....it wasn't worth the BOOMS and noise (they ended by 11pm). Be sure to get a delux room and when you get there, if you don't like the view demand that they change your room. The overall value is good in the low season (solely because of the location), but I surely wouldn't pay what they expect in the high or peak season. It is likely that I won't return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangiora
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed 14 nights with our two children at Kata Beach Resort and Spa and couldn't fault our rooms or the service. We had two interconnecting rooms. They were very clean and well appointed. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, right on the beach with fabulous sunset views. Pools were great and the beach was clean and the water swimable in late September. We were thinking of staying in Karon originally, but are so glad we didn't as it just does not compare to Kata. We would highly recommend this hotel and it's three restuarants as well as the poolside bar. It is a great location. Very close to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Spa Resort

Address: 95 Pakbang Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Spa Resort Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.