We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would always come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Chaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket Chaba Hotel to your Saves list
Phuket Chaba Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Would always come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This will be a short feedback: great little hotel!
Very friendly and helpful staff, pool surrounded by palmtrees, a buffet breakfast with lot of choices (even 2 different Thai dishes every morning, eggs the way you wanted them), spacious rooms (although the beds could be wider) with bedsheets changed daily. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
98
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Phuket Chaba for 5 nights and found the majority of the staff to be very helpful. I didn't like the system of having the safe at the from desk as it was a pain to be going backwards and forwards to it. We had a 2 bedroom bungalow(3b) which did overlook the green stagnant water and directly in front and to the side of our balcony was a spare plot which looked like a rubbish dump. However, it did not smell and we were grateful not to be on the main road. The pool was fabulous. The previous review said there were only a few deck chairs but we never found it a problem to get one. The breakfast was more than adequate, trying to cater for all the tastes of different cultures but for us they had lovely pineapple and watermelon, eggs, great thai food( green curry/noodles/stir fried vegs) toast, jams and to top it off, fabulous hot PROPER coffee! My only complaint would be the pillows which were very bulky but this seems to be everywhere in Thailand.
Kata however was disapointing compared to our last trip there 3 years ago. The beach was packed to capacity with beach chairs lining the beach from one side to another, 3 or 4 rows of them. We only heard another 2 people speak English in our 5 days there which wasn't a problem for my husband and I but my older teenage son and his cousin, both 19, found the nightlife pretty boring, even after venturing to Karon on a couple of nights.
The Chaba has a great night market opposite the hotel on a Monday and Thursday night. The prices are good, you can get some prices down, but most of them are low anyway. The food section was interesting and we ate fabulous corn on the cob, spring rolls and pad thai(quite hot!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I rarely write a review but they earned it :)
hotel was overall nice, nice room with balcony.. location is quite central and we rent a scooter so everything is close... got some mosquitos at night (but that was everywhere in kata)
i give them the thumbs up because: helpful and nice, help us keep our items (and shower) on the day of the checkout (till the flight), fixed what was needed rather very fast..

to be sincere, if you go kata is only for the beach... we loved the hotel! cant say the same about kata beach...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good value for the price and staff very relaxed and reasonably helpful. We stayed three nights with two rooms next to each other on the third floor block 5 (rooms 533 and 532) which were nice, big, clean and 533 had a balcony. It's an average hotel and has a good location not far from the beach (10 minutes slow walk), shops, bars and restaurants. The pool area is just ok with limited sunbeds and a small pool and there is a small outside dining area by the pool. The breakfast is limited in choice but ok and the service friendly.
We wouldn't recommend the bungalows by the big pond (looks stagnant with probably lots of mosquitoes) but otherwise the main hotel building is not a bad place to stay for the price for a few days. Nothing really exciting about the place.

Room Tip: Block 5 main building is near the pool and quite nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Just went on a trip through Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand and Phuket Chaba easily had the most accommodating staff and was a great way to end the trip. Clean rooms and decent breakfast. Nice walk to the beach, but we only stayed one night so didn't have a chance to explore much.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed at the Chaba hotel with 2 other friends. We got two rooms and we had been under the impression that the hotel had rooms with 2 beds. Not the case, each of us had to take turns spending a night on a rigid cot. Once that issue was settled, the hotel was par for the course.

Pros: Good Location, close to beach, restaurants, and nightlife. Breakfast was good and fresh. Free wifi

Cons: No Shower curtains, no rooms with 2 beds, no safe

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

rude staff. small rooms. bad location. They will ask you to come and collect your water bottle from the reception in case you call for service. Also they give only two water bottles complimentary, if you have to buy more, please go to nearest 7 -11.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket Chaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Chaba Hotel

Address: 98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Chaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Phuket Chaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Chaba Hotel Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Chaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.