We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Chaba Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket Chaba Hotel to your Saves list
Phuket Chaba Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Really nice room and great pool. The location is just 5 minutes walking to Kata beach. Breakfast is excellent with a variety of fruit, egg and pastries. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    94
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
104
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently arrived at Chaba Hotel after seeing it reviewed well in the area. We didn't have a booking, just rang once we arrived and they picked us up (free of charge) from a nearby area.
Only booked for one night, instantly found the staff to be excellent, friendly and very keen to help.
The pool area is really great, the main big pool and little kids pool have poolside bar adjacent and then a 3rd more secluded pool is just on the other side of the bar area.
We stayed with 2 kids (11 and 12) and they loved the free pool table.
We spent a number of days just at the hotel playing pool and swimming, having lunch and dinner at the restaurant which did very good meals.
Prices were excellent (850baht) per room (low season), including, as already reviewed, an excellent buffet breakfast. Also free bottles of water each morning and towels available for pool / beach use.
Based on the great experience and staff, we extended our stay out to 11 nights and had a great and relaxing time.
Previous reviews mentioned poor WIFI, that was the case when we first arrived, however while we were there, they re-did the whole system and it's now great, and free.
It's a 5-10 minute walk to Kata Beach and 5 mins to the main shopping area, so it was excellent that these things were very close, but not too close and therefor the hotel kept that quiet feel to it. The walk to the beach (the short way) is along a waterway, as previously mentioned, but we didn't find it too bad and it's about 150m - so not a long walk.
The rooms were very clean, including the bathrooms. The TV reception wasn't great, but we were not there to watch the TV, so no problems there.
Kata is a little way from Patong Beach and the shopping centre however they accessible by bus, which I would recommend, as the taxi prices in Phuket are a little extreme compared to elsewhere in Thailand (everywhere seems to be 500 baht - about $20.00 aud). There is no fault of the hotel there, it's just the Phuket taxi system which is, as I understand, pretty well controlled by organised crime and therefor the price is the price and no one is really game to undercut that.
That said, we got a hang of the local bus system and found it good and cheap. The bus to Patong (and the shopping centre) can be caught from outside 'Dino Mini Golf' and is about 35 baht per person, seems to run every half an hour, but does finish at about 6. Similarly, the bus can be caught from near the Central Festival Shopping Centre (5 minute walk away) and goes back past the mini golf. So a 5 minutes walk each end of the trip for a very considerable saving.
All in all, would highly recommend this property and for the money, I would struggle to think it could be beaten. It's not a massive resort with a kids club, pools with swim up bars and so on, but; a) we were not after that and b) it was about one eighth of the cost of that type of resort in the area and I believe it has everything the average family and couple would need.
There is no fitness centre, but after speaking with staff, I understand one is in the planning, which would be a great addition and really top off a great place to stay.
And Bjorns across the road is good for a meal too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We (couple in our 20s) stayed for four nights on our trip to Phuket...

Good
- The hotel is very clean and tidy, with professional, friendly staff
- The breakfast is cheap and very tasty!
- The pool area is fantastic, with a poolside bar and lots of space to laze around
- Clean bathroom and free bottles of water!

Bad
- The first thing that comes to mind is Kata itself. It's just not a nice place. As other reviewers have mentioned, the walk to the beach is alongside an open sewer/canal, and the town centre is pretty sleazy.
- The safe deposit boxes are behind reception, for some reason? Extra security I suppose, but I like having access to my items
- Poor wi-fi signal above the first floor
- There's a bar outside the front of the hotel that plays loud music, something to keep in mind if you're a light sleeper
- The A/C unit started falling apart on the last night and coughing out giant black lumps of rubber, which fell on our bed! We told the staff, who looked quite bewildered...

It's a nice enough place to stay in Kata, the question you have to ask is whether Kata is the right choice for you....

Room Tip: Try to choose a room facing AWAY from the front of the hotel, to avoid the bar music
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, spacious double superior room with kitchenette, balkony with laundry rack, good Wi-FI, and air conditioner, also ceiling fan. Good pool, efficient and friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast. We were satisfied of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and overall enjoyed the stay. Room was fine- adequate size, had a small balcony. Water temperature of the shower was erratic but given the hot weather no problem.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. It's great that you can borrow towels not only for use at the hotel pool but also for the beach.
The garden and pool area are very nice and cozy, the hotel's real asset. Breakfast was fine and included some hot dishes such as curry and eggs. Overall, the price quality ratio at this hotel is very good.
The only major disadvantage and reason for me to rather not stay there again is the location: first, the trip from Phuket Airport took around 1.5 hours and involved some heavy traffic. If staying only few nights, there are probably other locations than Kata, closer-by, that are better alternatives. Kata itself is kind of touristy and rather quiet, seems to attract mainly families and couples from Russia. It has some nice dining options. Second, the hotel is far from the beach. The most direct way to the beach (10-15min walk) leads along a dry river bed with disgusting sewage smell (as mentioned in other reviews). What is more, the part of the beach were the path ends is a part where the beach/water is not clean (plastic bags etc.) and where the sewage smell persists.
It's much better to choose another part of the beach further up or another beach altogether, but that will mean at least 30 min walk along a road with heavy traffic.
Conclusion: If you want to mainly chill by the pool, this hotel can be recommended. If you prefer the beach, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Room
Good room, clean with AC. WC and shower on the same room.On the room there is a TV but this one didnt really works. The WIFI on our room didnt works.

Restaurant
Every morning you can find a HUGE breakfast with bacon, eggs, thai food, cereals, croissants. Everyday the restaurant purpose differents meals : Thai Buffet (130B), BBQ (250B), ect...

Service and Staff
Friendly staff who can help you for everything. Average english level, sometimes it was a little hard to speak with them...

Location
At 10min by foot to Kata, this hotel is really good located. Every monday and thursday, there is an air market just in front of this hotel!

Conclusion
Good value hotel, quiet place at only 10min by foot to the pubs and restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There was a minor hiccup when the car picking me up from Patong did not arrive as it had to go to the airport. But that was rectified and they came after an hour. Upon arrival, friendly receptionists greeted me with welcome hospitality and offered me a router and internet cable cos I needed to work and the room's wifi was non-existant.

The restaurant food was pretty good. Good variety of breakfast spread. The Phad Thai was delicious.

Pool was clean and quiet.

Rooms were immaculate. Comfy bed that wasn't too soft.

5 mins to beach tho u had to pass thru a canal. Food and massages everywhere

Room Tip: no elevators so get ground floor if u are w elderly or disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#27 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#28 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#42 of 54 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#3 of 54 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#34 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#44 of 54 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Chaba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Chaba Hotel

Address: 98/13-17, Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Chaba Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Chaba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Phuket Chaba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Chaba Hotel Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Chaba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.