We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villareal Heights

Save Saved
You added Villareal Heights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villareal Heights
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   214 / 14 Patak Road | Suksan Place,Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and five days in January 2013. Phil and Jo were great, so friendly and welcoming. Phil showed us around and dropped us off at a place for dinner. We stayed in a studio room with no view (which we knew when we booked). It worked well for us because we were not in our room often, but if you care about the view or want more space, you should definitely upgrade. The only strange thing occurred when the staff brought us to our room, there were three or four younger people (I think they were siblings) sprayed the hall with something as we walked up (bug spray, air freshener, who knows) and then they stood in our room with us kind of awkwardly as the main girl showed us where things were. Not a big deal, just a little awkward. The room and bathroom were clean, and the bed was comfortable.

The hotel is a little ways off the main road, but you can walk to a restaurant within 5-10 minutes. It is also very quiet which we considered a pro. We did not do breakfast with the hotel, but walked to the Swedish bakery a minute or two down the road most mornings (good and cheap). You do have access to the pool and restaurant the hotel next-door, we sat by the pool one morning but other than did not go there.

It is a 15-20 minute walk to the beach, we went to Kata Beach but Karon is close by as well, and rented a chair for 100 baht a person. One day Phil and Jo set us up on a full day beach and snorkeling tour of the Similan Islands. You can stay the night, but due to timing we left early and got back late. It was an amazing place to visit and I would highly recommend it. Our final day Phil and Jo arranged a driver and tour guide, Mr. Wee, who was a great resource and a good way to see a lot of the surrounding area. For a reasonable fee, he drove us to four or five different locations (Big Buddha, Chalong Temple, other sightseeing spots, a beach for snorkeling). This was one of the highlights of our trip since we got to see so many different spots and learn a lot from Mr. Wee, I recommend scheduling some time with him if you are able.

Phil and Jo were the best of this hotel; they were great resources and really made our trip to the Phuket area wonderful. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Villareal Heights and would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    50
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
214
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Phil and Jo will certainly go out of their way to make your visit to Kata hassle-free and memorable. First, we wanted to book a room type that was no longer available so what Phil did was to upgrade us to a deluxe for the same price (or less?)! Then, we had to ask Jo to move our reservations a day later because of flight changes and she said yes, no questions asked, with no penalties! Lastly, we had asked Jo to call a taxi for us to bring us to the airport which we didn’t know was already paid for so we paid the driver again. Jo helped us recover the money from the driver and sent it to me through her dad who was in the Philippines. =) Phil and Jo are very kind people who want the best for their guests. Even the after-service is amazing! With the treatment they give their guests at Villareal Heights, I’d say they definitely deserve being no. 1!

The room we were upgraded to was massive and always clean, and exactly what it looks like in the pictures. The beds are comfy and I slept like a baby. I would definitely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Villareal for 7 nights in February. We booked the seaview room and now realise that it was worth the extra money as we decided to take breakfast in our room looking out at the the Indian Ocean. The room was fully appointed with modern furniture and a very comfy bed and is a true reflection of the description on the website. The staff were excellent keeping the room very clean with clean towels for the room and beach provided everyday. Throughout our stay Phil and Jo were extremely helpful giving advice about good restaurants and organising a wonderful trip to the James Bond Island. We had booked a airport transfer through Phil and now realise that this was an excellent price so would recommend you take advantage of this service. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is a little bit out of the town and up a small hill but this did not cause us any problems and we quite enjoyed the walk to Kata beach during the day and to the local restaurants in the evening. Yes we did pay more for this hotel than others we stayed in during our holiday in Thailand but as the saying goes " you get what you pay for".

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth the extra for the wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and and ended up extending for another night,
We have travelled all over the world and this place is by far the most welcoming and comfortable!!
Phil and Jo are amazing, showing us around, giving us tips for places to eat, drink, get suits made and even getting a scooter!!
the rooms are massive, very clean with all the mod cons you need (yes the photos are as the rooms look)
The area is just up from a restaurant and bars street, and still close enough to the beach to see it from your balcony.

We will be returning here on our next trip to phuket

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have very mixed feelings about our stay at Villareal Heights. Jo and Philip were extremely helpful and friendly however we found the standard of our "deluxe" room very basic. When we finally checked into our room (after a power outage that lasted the whole afternoon) we were quite dismayed to find how small or room was. When we drew back the curtains all we could see was a grey concrete wall of the building next door. The tap was vey loose in the bathroom and there was no exhaust fan or window for ventilation. On showering the smell which came up from the drain was simply nauseating and the floor tiles in the shower/bathroom were extremely slippery. Philip mentioned in passing that we could possibly move to a room with a "view" but this offer was never followed up. Every time we turned in the bed it squeaked terribly. To Philip's credit he fixed the loose tap and changed our light globe upon our request and we could not fault their friendliness as hosts. Unfortunately we were were not informed about access to the pool, if one existed and we found the beach too far away and crowded to attempt a swim. We experienced a far superior standard of accommodation (and free breakfast ) in both Vientiane and Bangkok for less than what we paid here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villarealheights, Owner at Villareal Heights, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your review.

1.You checked in when there was a power cut in the area as the government was changing posts on the main road. This is beyond our control. We then offered to take you for a drive and tour of the area and drop you off to THE COFFEE CLUB as you were hungry and wanted a massage which we personally booked for you at Kata Day spa at the same hour. You forgot to bring the map which we gave you in case you can’t find your way back and I personally got in the car again to go to you at the coffee club to make sure you have the map.
Even after that, you still could not find your way back and called the hotel to pick you up FOR FREE as you are getting very tired and lost.

2. You booked the cheapest room through AGODA. “SUPERIOR NO VIEW”. We have 20 rooms. We have rooms that has proper washing kitchen area (no cooking), a room that has a kitchenette no dish washing area but complete with cutlery and utensils and a dining table. Also provides a relaxing spacious room that has a big L shape sofa in front of the tv/dvd for your convenience and relaxation to lounge about. Choices of room sizes ranges from 40 sq mtrs, 30 sq. meters, 37 sq meters, 45 sq meters, studio room 55 sq meters but you chose the smallest cheapest room that stated in AGODA NO VIEW but still provides you the exact amenities ie mattress pocket sprung individually $1,600, dvd, kettle,shampoo, body wash, liquid hand wash and room size indicated in Agoda VERY CLEARLY as you booked. It even indicates on your booking print out copy. Free use of the common Microwave/ dining/ cutlery etc provided for free to those who are on budget booking cheaper options.

We do not understand why you were “DISMAYED” as you know exactly what you booked for as it is stated in AGODA - in sq meters. You could have chosen a room that is Ocean view, Mt View or Kata Town view. Bigger than the room you chose that got you “dismayed” if size matters to you. There are other options than the cheapest room you chose with size indicated clearly.

3.You mentioned “Very basic”. In most B&B at the price you paid (please note you were in phuket on a Chinese new year month-PEAK season), do not provide swimming pool, DVD players, a mattress that costs 1,600$ , body wash, shampoo, hand wash, kettle, drinking water, beach towel no charge or deposit, free wifi, free dvd movies, free books, free use of microwave and dining common area, free use of cutlery and utensils -plates, glasses etc free of charge.
We never had any complains about our bathroom being very slippery otherwise, is it is very easy to have provided you a non slip MATT ASAP if you had informed us of this concern.

4.We do not wish to mention about the squeaking of the bed, but it do depends on how much a person weighs and how big they are- as per consideration. I believe if you are of a normal size - a bed wont “squeaked terribly when you move around”. We do have a lot of comments how comfortable our beds are.

5. You booked through agoda, the first picture is of the pool. You are an agoda and tripadvisor user, I believed you have browsed and looked at photos and reviews and read them as to how far we are to the beach. We never lie or mislead anyone. Also, you can find the pool listed on the hotel features in Agoda when making the booking. I don’t think people will missed the first picture which is of the swimming pool which you said we “failed” to mention to you.

6.You personally mentioned to us that you are not the beach type couple, prefer historical places which you mentioned to us also that you wished you have chosen to stay in Phuket Town instead after you came back from the local day tour that we booked for you with our recommended private guide as your husband hated the sand and the beach and you are not bothered about the beach location at all. You have booked several spas with free pick ups and drop offs. You also have used our common area where there is a dish washing sink and complete cutlery, plates and glasses free of charge. You have also availed free pick up and drop off to Sabai Corner which costs 900THB taxi if you go by yourself as a compliment transport (when available -booked in advance) for staying at Villareal Heights.
It is not fair to compare us to Vientiane where everything is cheaper, rent, transport, real estate, not beach location, and cheaper labor. Pls note that Kata area is one if not the most expensive prime real estate in Phuket thus higher rent and higher cost of running a business. Bangkok is a city with hundreds of hotels and noted to be the cheapest city for hotels in ASIA for it’s quality. So please "justify" comparing us to both cities. Why is Maldives expensive? Why is Bora Bora expensive? Why is BURMA, Laos and Cambodia very cheap? Why is SHANGRILA CHANG MAI way cheaper than SHANGRILA Bangkok and HongKong? They are all Shangrila group so why the price difference? It is all about LOCATION and RENTAL COSTS. Called Economics.
Please if you wish a bigger room, your own dining area and kitchenette, a sofa to lounge and a view of the ocean, mountain or kata town, we have these options. Please do not book the cheapest room and complain that you do not have a view and dismayed of its size. CHEAPEST room has no view and not the same size of the suite which costs more.

7.As for the smell, if you have brought this to our attention, we could have fixed this by filling up a special powder designed for drainage. this is a very common problem in Phuket especially on peak season when it has not rained and the drainage doesn’t get washed up. It is not only us but entire Phuket suffering with drainage smell problem which can be corrected individually per room if was brought to our attention. I will be surprised if there is one hotel in phuket who have not had headaches about this problem.

Lastly and most importantly, as for the possibility mentioned that you will be moved to a room with a view- we apologized but we do get booked up and there are people who do pay for the “views” therefore we have to prioritized those who paid for it.

Thank you.

Johanna Villareal Benares and Philip Hubbard
Owner
Villareal Heights Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Feb. 2013. Phil and Jo were awesome! When we first arrived, Jo offered to drive my wife and I around for a few minutes to show us the area and recommend restaurants, etc.
The room itself was very up-to-date - everything was clean, new, and nice.
I'm not much of a review writer. Although other places we stayed at on our trip were very nice, this is the only review I'll be leaving, and this is why: Upon leaving Phuket we went to Phi Phi for a couple of nights. Upon arrival, I realized I had left my passport in the safe in the room in Phuket. I emailed Phil and he replied right away. He even found the number for the hotel I was staying at on his own and called the front desk to speak to me. We arranged a way for me to get my passport the next day without me having to go back to Phuket. He was very diligent in making sure I got it and confirmed with me the next day that everything had gone smoothly. This is going above and beyond to me. They will do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

On first meeting Phil and Jo, you'll be struck by their willingness to help get you settled. Firstly we met Jo, who may be small in stature but don't be fooled. I’ve seen her sling a 16kg case over her shoulders and easily navigate 2 flights of stairs.

After a few minutes of introductions, we were heartily welcomed and instantly made to feel at home. In the reception area for Villareal Heights, no-one will fail to notice the Tripadvisor awards for service excellence.

Jo had already provided us with the Wi-Fi password the previous night - we arrived late evening. Incidentally the download speed ranges from sub 2 M/bits to 4.4 M/bits per sec - depending on load. You MAY be reminded to use the service with discretion - no downloading films and heavy-duty files.

So, after the preamble of the introductions and signing agreements, we were given a synopsis of what was ahead.

"Got your camera ?" says Jo, as we set off on a mini-tour of the area in Phil's car. Beaches Kata (about 600-700 metres long) and Karon about 3 km in length) are about a 15min walk from the hotel - 3 mins on a bike; local restaurants (Lucky Tom's in Taina road), Pad Thai shop (just a few metres left out of the entrance to VR), a local massage place - which will pick you up and drop you back to the hotel.

Further out, beyond Karon viewpoint, is 'Sabai corner restaurant'. Here, Phil treated us to a cooling drink.

The room we had was the Ocean view suite, which considering Villareal's position (set back from the very busy Patak road) - IS quiet. A microwave, fridge, crockery and storage cupboards and sofa (L-shaped) are at your disposal. The balcony with the ‘ocean view’ outlook, is a bit tight though.

A handy breakfast bar with two cushioned stools - for those times when you choose to eat in. A TV with stereo speakers. On one speaker are slots for CD/DVD of your choice, although if you ask - you'll have access to around "300 DVDs". There's also a USB slot if you have your personal collection for viewing on the big screen.

The bathroom has the usual, but the water pressure is less than I would have liked. Was the room cleaned daily?? Yes it was, by a trio of cleaners, but not as thoroughly as we had expected. Picky?? I don't think so. Its the sort of thing that needs mentioning - at these prices!!!

There is a 1.5m deep pool in the next building along towards the mountains, which guests from Villareal are allowed to use.

We needed a scooter and Phil was the right man for contacts - he'll get you a good deal. You'll be introduced to a local bike rental/travel place ('Ice Family tour' - north of Villareal) offering reasonable rates - the longer you require the scooter, the lower the rate. Never leave your passport, of course - a copy is sufficient!!

Overall our stay at Villareal Heights was comfortable, the 'dynamic duo' will see your needs are catered for and help with arranging your trips. They also offer an airport pick-up service.

The hotel's position allows easy access to shops and restaurants, so most things are practically on the doorstep. We didn't see anything we wanted at Karon night market which is a 5 minute bike ride away. The noisier - if thats what you want - (we didn't) Patong beach and Bangla road is roughly 20mins away - again on the bike.

If we were to re-visit Phuket.......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villareal Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villareal Heights

Address: 214 / 14 Patak Road | Suksan Place,Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villareal Heights 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villareal Heights is a Luxury Boutique Hotel situated conveniently between Kata and Karon Beaches on the beautiful Thai island of Phuket. Surrounded by lush mountains and facing the stunning Andaman Sea, Villareal Heights provides a unique sanctuary for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villareal Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villareal Heights Hotel Kata Beach
Villareal Heights Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villareal Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.