We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WiFi + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Well where do i start! the Avista is a beautiful hotel, it has so many wow factors mainly in the room itself. There was no expense spared when they designed this hotel, everything is the best of the best!

Room:
- Universal plug sockets (you dont need adaptors)
- modern, stylish & clean bathroom including all toiletries
- very large Queen size bed - the comfiest bed i have ever slept in!
- large 42 inch LCD tv in front of the bed
- Large modern gloss black fridge
- Modern Safe with light inside
- Touch activated switches
- Mood lighting

Hotel:
- Modern Elavator
- Reception area with modern sofas & blue glittered tiles behind the service desk
- Free Internet access in the lobby with very latest HP PC's - top of the range
- Staff - were all very polite and helpful, they allways said hello and gave us a smile

Facilities:
- 2 pools, 1 with a swim up bar
- Gym - looked pretty good
- Comfy loungers & towels - staff serve you drinks to your lounger
- Library - nice modern, airconditioned room with more internet facilities
- Spa, looked amazing but i didnt have any treatments
- Restaurant - we tried the friday night Thai Gourmet Buffet - this was fantastic! the food was presented beautifully and the selection and quality of the food was amazing

Breakfast:
- Excellent selection!
- Various bread's to toast, muffins, cakes, pastries, doughnuts, juices, fruit, pancakes, waffles, honey, jams, eggs (any way you want) sliced meats, cerials, yoghurt, cheeses, sausages, bacon, potatoes, noodles - the list is endless!

This was our 4th time in Phuket so we know what most of the hotels are like and trust me you will not be disapointed with the Avista.
The hotel is at the top of a road with a steep incline but quite a lot of hotels in phuket are due them being built in to the hillsides. We didnt mind the hill and it brought you out at the better end of Kata with plenty of shops and restaurants. The beach was 5 minutes away too.

The only downside for me is that i found the pool area quite shaded by palm trees and the hotel itself. I like to sunbathe and there were only about 5 loungers that got direct sunlight all day and they got taken up quickly - i guess im not the only sun worshipper!

We got chatting to the hotels guest relations manager (again i have never seen one of these in phuket before!) she was asking us if there was any way we could improve the hotel so i told her that most other hotels in phuket offer a number of shuttle bus services to phuket town or patong and then return to the hotel for a small fee however this hotel didnt offer this. She told us that they didnt want to upset the local taxi drivers that sat outside the hotel as they were all part of the phuket Mafia!
They wouldnt even transfer us to our next hotel becuase they were fearful of the taxi men outside so we had to arrange our own transport.

Other than those 2 downsides, we had an amazing stay at the Avista and if we return to phuket for a 5th time then this will be the place we will come back to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.
We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    462
    105
    22
    10
See reviews for
429
773
50
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Booked this hotel based on price, paid less than $60 AUD.
Only stayed the one night as this was during our stay in Ao nang.
We hired a car for 2 days to drive to Phuket and stay overnight just to have a look.

Location of hotel as others have said is up a very steep road, nice and safe if a Tsunami happens, if you have knee issues as I do by the time you walk down to the bottom your legs may turn to jelly like mine did :)
But the hotel itself was very nice, a bit spread out so need to keep your wits about you if your sense of direction is as bad as mine, you may get lost looking for your room!

Bathroom was divided from bedroom with a plain glass wall, you'll be grateful for the roller blind if you're not into watching your significant other on the loo!

Breakfast was buffet style which was pretty much standard, I only ate fruit which once again in these big hotels seems to be almost tasteless for some strange reason?

Personally I would rather a hotel that is enclosed as by the time you get from room to reception you can work up quite a sweat in the humidity over what for us was some considerable distance, upstairs and 2 sets of lifts.

But overall, comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Check in is pleasant with cold towel and sweet fruit drink. Staff is nice and very helpful.

Deluxe room is spacious but spotted ants on sofa toward the end where near the door at balcony. Properly due to food residue that no clean properly i supposed. The room amenities are great & sufficient. The balcony with seating and small table (room 304) is great chilled out place with clear sky at night but be prepare for mosquitoes attack. The sunset is sightable too.

Resort's facilities are adequate with gym, great pools, game room & a small libary. Kid club is closed at the time of my stay may be due to low season & you hardly see kids around (less kids mean less noisy, is time for honeymooner now). Free internet access with headset at check in lobby is a plus. Spa is discount up to 50% at this time around, great deal but i never try.

There is only one restaurant (no air-conditioning, humid and hot) in this hotel. I tried the dinner there, standard is average if compare to the price. Breakfast is acceptable if you are westerner but if you are asian, then forget about it and no yummy at all. All dishes no really fresh may be due to high temperature, variety limited (of course, low season now).

Be prepare to walk on a very steep hill up to the resort. Ok for youngster but if you are old folk, good luck to you or you may treat it as exercise of the day. Cheers!

Location is ok, nearby bars (of course pretty girls are inside too if you have FAQ). Resort provides complimentary shuttle service to Kata beach (Return) & patong (one way only) which is great as it saves your token as tuk tuk & taxi service right in front of resort are blood sucker. I suggest you rent a motorbike if you stay here, you will find that your world in Kata will becomes bigger.

Overall rating 3 out of 5, mainly constibuted by the room it-self and price offered during this low season (1,750.00 Bath/night inclusive of VAT). GREAT DEAL, ha.... See you there

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you and for the time taken for the detailed feedback.

Based on your feed back we have enhanced the Asian corner and are introducing more variety.

We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.

Best Regards

Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

5-stars hotel though the name don't sound that.
Location midst between Kata n Karon beach, walking distance to both. Resort is on top a small hill hence more Windy n spectacular sight.
Good for honey-moon, special events n family. Staff even give us a cake for my son's birthday.
Friendly staff - especially mention the Sweden Relation Officer - Ms Matilda :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us an a wonderful trip.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed last week for 3 nights in Avista in Phuket and the only bad thing was not staying for longer.
The ideal summary of my experience in Avista will be "more than what you expect".
This resort is really superb in every way. From the perfect service of all the employees, to the size and confort of the room (with 42 inches LCD TV), a wonderful breakfast, a very relaxing pool and so on.
I would also like to point out the excellent service and personal attention of Matilda Pettersson.
I recommend this hotel to anybody going to Phuket and would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving the privilege to host you.
We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us and we met your expectations.
We look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Best Regards
Magesh Iyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Very quiet hotel (not dead quiet) which is good for relax, Great Staff, Good service, Good food, Very nice room, Fantastic pool, all makes good memories in my vocation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.
We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Having travelled around the Far East and Australia for seven months we both agreed that this was the best hotel all round that we had stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble and we were so impressed that your Manager, Matilda found the time to speak to every guest on a daily basis and immediately responded to every request, however small. The rooms are extremely well appointed with everything you would expect in this class of hotel with spacious comfortable balconies affording excellent views. Breakfast was excellent as were the swimming pools. The only small negative is the steep climb from the town but a free shuttle bus is available and it is good exercise to walk!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGESH-IYER, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Dear Guest,
It gives my team and myself immense pleasure to learn you had a memorable experience with us.
We thank you and look forward to your continued valuable patronage.
Warm Regards
Magesh Iyer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avista Phuket Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa at Kata Beach Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Avista Phuket Resort and Spa is not just any hotel -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel’s design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. Its Grand Deluxe rooms shine bright with blue mood lighting, setting a calming atmosphere in which you and your loved ones can cuddle up and find inner peace. Even the bathrooms are pristine down to their smallest details. The nice hotel’s pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Avista Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.