We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, fair price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
“Good place, fair price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel staff and breakfast was great! The only problem we had was the low water pressure in the bathroom. Walk to Kata is only five minutes and there are many restaurants to eat around the area. I would eat out as the hotel food is just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear kevk06,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service.

We have shared your feedback about low water pressure with our Chef Engineer who has ensured corrective action on the same.

It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    421
    90
    20
    9
See reviews for
391
713
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

From the moment my 2 young children and elderly mother and myself arrived at the hotel we experienced friendly staff. We had a 20 night stay it was our first time in phuket. The receptionists are very helpful and friendly the resturant staff and bar staff were fantastic my kids didn't want to go anywhere else for dinner they slso have a bbq buffet on Tuesday nights and a thai buffet on Thursday nights were they cook everything fresh it was very nice. The breakfast is amazing anything you want freshly baked pastries the even bake there own bread ,asian style breakfast and everything else, alot of choice . The kids had a gaming room library with computers with free internet and swimming pools to keep them occupied. They made friends by the pool with other kids travelling and also made friends with the staff. The rooms are spacious and clean house keeping is good. The hotel also caters for most people from what I saw families , young honeymoon couples, older couples and they also cater for weddings which they were setting up for when we were there . Looked amazing. The hill is steep to get to Kata shops and beach but at the end of the day you need to walk off that breakfast or grab a taxi out the front which charges 100B. They do have a free shuttle twice a day to patong and once a day to the beach. I would also like to say a thank you to Angelique there who always made sure everything was ok. She's friendly and professional. So obviously I'll be back next year.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Sylvia M,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We would have given Avista a five if the breakfast was better and told them that in our review at the hotel. We wished it had more selection of fresh fruits (not just melon and orange pieces) and juices. Our Club Level room was exceptional in contemporary style with a view of Kata beach off our deck. Bed excellent. Cold beer in room refrigerator. Yes, there is short steep side road hill to climb from main road but we all need the exercise anyhow! We used their bus to go to Patang one night. Great staff all so friendly and keen to help.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear carocaro15,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others and complimenting our team members hospitality. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and we have shared your feedback about the breakfast with our executive chef for corrective actions.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very nice smallish resort with all required facilities. Room was spacious, clean and well air conditions with a large balcony. Pool could have been larger but was ok. Wifi worked very well. Breakfast was great and service very friendly. Yes - it was up a big hill but was not a problem for us (2 adults and a six year old). There were always enough sunbeds and most of the guests were scandinavian or asian. We loved it. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear MaijaMatkaaja,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and our service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Avista.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the avista on our family holiday with our just turned 5 year old son it was our 4th trip to phuket our sons 1st
After reading reviews we got our travel agent to book us into the avista due to them having a king and queen bed in the room
The rooms are amazing we stay in a lot of 5 star hotels and let me tell you this is just as good, on our 1st night we got back to our room with the sound of loud music coming from hotel next door we had asked to be moved as with a 5 year old that doesn't sleep at best of times we new we'd have a problem they were so happy to move us wasn't a problem at all, the staff are amazing specially abby, breakfast was great, pools amazing and even have a kiddie pool, you can get a massage by the pool as well, would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Melissa P,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service and we have shared your appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We've been to Avista couple of weeks ago and I must say that I had a great experience in this hotel. They will never fail to make you happy and comfortable. Staff was very great as beautiful as the place. Accessible to everywhere-beach, shopping centers, and restaurant. The hill was quite steep but its not an issue at all. It was short and you actually will be needing it just for sometimes because the hotel provides a shuttle bus going to Patong which is a big shopping mall and to the nearest beach in the area.

Breakfast was excellent as the staffs are. Receptionist are all very lovely and approachable. Housekeeper was friendly and good cleaner. And everybody there was really hospitable. As if you don't want to leave the place. :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Bellavict143,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We are overwhelmed by your appreciation of our team members and your feedback is shared with all. It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland Vale NSW Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is at best 4 star. It feels like a sanatorium, with long straight corridors and institutionalised decor. The buildings occupy most of the site and it feels overcrowded. The 2 pools are small and there are not enough lounge chairs or other facilities for the numbers of guests. It seemed that the sewers could not cope with the numbers of people as a strong smell of sewage pervaded the entry and foyer with the occasional whiff adding another dimension to breakfast. There is a long walk from the hotel to the beach. The beach was 4 lounge chairs deep packed with tourists and you have to pay to rent a lounge. The back of the beach is packed with rubbish The sea was a pleasant blue from a distance but was very murky up close. Transport is difficult as there is a "taxi mafia" operating that will not allow non member taxis to come up the steep hill to the resort as well as having an over the top pricing structure. Tea and coffee are only available from a fairly non-attentive wait staff at breakfast. The hotel does not live up to it's advertising spin.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Christine I,
Sawasdee Krab!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
At the onset kindly accept our apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We strive to deliver the best of services to the utmost satisfaction of our guest. However, we sincerely regret that we were not able to live up to your expectations.
We would like to assure you that your much detailed feedback has been discussed with our team members to initiate corrective measures. During your stay, our Guest Experience Officer met you four times and your only feedback was that you found the taxi rates at Phuket higher than normal and you wanted the hotel to provide complimentary transportation which was not extended to you as we are not in the transport business nor was it agreed upon on your booking confirmation. We wish you had shared your dissatisfaction with the resort during your stay as that would have provided us with an opportunity to improve your holiday experience with us.

It is quite unfortunate on our end that we were not able to deliver a true "Avista holiday experience" during your stay with us; however we would like to reassure your trust in us and would be happy to have you as our guest again.
Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avista Phuket Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa at Kata Beach Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Avista Phuket Resort and Spa is not just any hotel -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel’s design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. Its Grand Deluxe rooms shine bright with blue mood lighting, setting a calming atmosphere in which you and your loved ones can cuddle up and find inner peace. Even the bathrooms are pristine down to their smallest details. The nice hotel’s pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avista Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.