We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
60% off Room rate
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic pools with trees and lots of greens. Spa was incredible even if a bit expensive but really worth it done with pro masseuse.
Room was a bit smelling mildew and we could not get one with top view despite asking for it and the fact many rooms looked empty but we didn't requested a pool view. As usual price of food was higher than restaurant near by. Good breakfast included in the price which makes it worth it. Smiley hotel workers especially Angelique at front desk. Hotel is located on top of hill so quite challenging to walk up and down and not on the beach. Phuket is not worth it, don't spend too much time there but go around by boat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear yvesc007,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay and liked our resort’s facilities and service. We would like to assure you that we have shared your feedback regarding the smell in the room with our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer who has initiated corrective actions. We would also like to apologize for not being able to allocate room as per your request and would like to assure you that it was only because we were fully booked during your period of stay with us.
We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    417
    87
    19
    9
See reviews for
389
702
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Avista Kata on 26th to 30th April.
Staffs were friendly, frm the driver tt fetch us frm the airport, to the receptionists, housekeepers and even the guy who cook my eggs at the station when I had my breakfast!
We took the Grand Deluxe Room; didnt disappoint us. Was huge, spacious and clean.
My gals had fun in the Kids Club room, truly a family hotel.
The only downside is the steep slope up to the hotel but it was ok, as we were prepared with prams for the lil ones. Overall, we had a splendid stay n will definitely be back!!
Oh, Kata beach is much better than Patong beach; more family oriented.
Special mention to Ms Juthamard Somapong, the reservations manager who assisted us when we were making enquiries about Avista. She did a GREAT job!!

Room Tip: Get a Grand Deluxe Room if ur family is huge. Its a huge room with 1 King bed and 1 Double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear HafizSalem,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We thank you for sharing your feedback with all and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!
Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent 7 night last week in this hotel and was delighted! Upon arrival the receptionists served us the best (fresh) juice i ever tried in my life, it made the arrival to this jungle island even more surreal!! The staff was very sweet and hekpful, breakfast was very good, the only thing missing was mango!
The hill which people complain about is not that bad, the "climb" last only a few minutes for goodness sake! So if you are not 70 with an artificial hip or weigh 100kg ,you should manage it just fine :)
The restaurant was great - open but under the roof, just lovely!
The pool seemed to have been chilled because in comparison to the sea temperature it was actually a bit refreshing, just the right temperature. Didn't stink strongly like chlorine, I guess because the water didnt have 40c which i once experienced in Cyprus.
The rooms were big (we had double delux), actually as this room was bigger than many appartments in Europe, i don't think anybody's entitled to complain about it :P
The air conditioning was a bit too strong for us, as we're not big fans of it,and the lowest speed wasn't low enough for us :)
Mosquitoes were there, yes, but can you have tropics without them? I don't think so. They put those little eletrical anti-mosquito gadgets in our rooms.
Our room was at the back, quiet, with a balcony to the backyard (trees).
The only annoying thing was the taxi mafia outside, but paying 1200 baht instead of 1000 to the airport is also not so tragic :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear VK V,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to know that we met your expectations and we would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with others. Your positive comments about the hotel facilities and service will motivate us in delivering services to our best.
Once again thank you for your compliments on the resort facilities as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

One of the best properties on the Kata beach, the Avista, located on a small hillock (a nice exercise for the limbs on the climb) turned out to be a great option while vacationing as a family last week (30th April to 3rd May 2013). Away from the bustle of Pathong, the property offers a decent view of the bay from the top floors. The rooms are spanking clean, the staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. Their signature dish probably was the rice and Thai curries (both Green and Red) while the breakfast was a decent spread (the egg counter was awesome). The dinner spread was good as well, with the Thai dancers entertaining the audience with their graceful display.

A nice safe, a mini bar and a decent size balcony compliment the clean bathrooms with ample towels and Pool towels provided.

The pool though small (two levels) is clean. The sun beds are a bit cramped but good. An outdoor foot massage deck is also available by the pool and the lovely lotus pond at the entrance is soothing on the eye.

If I have to think of any negatives, it was probably the 2 hour wait for our rooms to be ready (arrived 1:30 PM and had to wait until 3:30) for check in.

The other thing that the hotel does not do anything about is the Taxi Mafia just outside the lobby. They do not allow cabs from outside to pick up people staying at the resorts, but you can get away by simply stating that you are on a trip to one of the islands from where you are getting dropped to the airport. They are more interested in fleecing you on the small trips to the surroundings (Pathong, Golf, local beaches, snake show etc)

Overall a great place for the family.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor which faces the sea. They are the best. Settle for the garden facing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear mrajank,
Sawasdee Krab!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team, especially the Chef and the F&B team to strive for improving the quality of service. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We have investigated on the late allocation of your rooms and found that there were two rooms booked by you, the first room was allocated at 12.40 PM and the second room was given to you at 2 PM. kindly note that our Check in time is 02.00 PM. We try to do our best to allocate of the room as soon as possible however it depends on the check out time and the occupancy of the day.

We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to better our product and services with each passing year.
We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay. Hotel did seem gay friendly and was respectful of my husband and me. The rooms were comfortable and clean. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was included. A lot of fun around the pool. Maybe because we were part of a family group there was a lot of fun. The hill was a challenge but it didn't stop three of us going for a run three times during the week (recommend early morning because of the heat and less traffic). There is no airport transfer by the hotel. The taxi outside the hotel does have a monopoly which the hotel doesn't challenge. Did lose my kindle there but my fault, lesson learnt, use the safe in the rooms and triple check your bags before you leave. Hotel states it has checked for the kindle left in our room and said it would get back to us if found. But apart from that downer the holiday was wonderful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Colin E,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
We would like to assure you that on receiving the information of the missing item we did check our lost and found items and also rechecked the room but unfortunately we could not trace it.
Lastly, we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

After catching a taxi to Avista we knew that from the moment we walked into the lobby our stay was going to be great. After receiving a welcoming juice and flower garland, we were then told that the hotel was overbooked and we had to be transferred to another sister hotel. We were not happy! However, the hotel bent over backward to accommodate us. The sister hotel was in Patong ( a place we did not want to stay in this time as we had been there on many occasions) and was 5 star. In hindsight we possibly should have stayed there but as it was in a more isolated spot, we decided that this was not the hotel for us and asked to be reaccommodated elsewhere.
The next day we returned to the Avista in Kata and spoke with the GM who apologised profusely and said he would make this stay a memorable one for us. AND SO HE DID. What we liked about the GM was that he acknowledged the hotel's mistake and in true CUSTOMER SERVICE FASHION he made sure that our stay was more than we paid for. Apart from a glorious ocean view from our balcony the GM gave us a complimentary spa treatment and late checkout even throwing in a resort van to take us to the airport for FREE.
It is not often that mistakes turn into beautiful holidays but this was one of our best. So thank you to the GM and staff especially Angelique in reception and Rin (manager of restaurant) for your excellent hospitality. The Avista ticked all the right boxes and certainly made up for a booking mishap. 10/10 and well done!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Avista club room on the 4th floor facing the front of the hotel and had great coasta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear GazzaPerth60,
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. At the onset kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on the first day. We are glad that you found our resort better than the other established brands. We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the complimentary spa. We are delighted to note that we met your expectation about the resort facilities and our service left you with fond memories of the place. We have shared your feedback with our team.

Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is perfect for the position, facilities, rooms, pools, staff, restaurants, day spa, games room etc etc. We stayed for 13 nights in April and can't wait for our return visit. ALL of the staff are friendly, always smiling and very helpful. Staff for special mention are Irena, Egg man (breakfast was the meal we most looked forward to - Egg man was always smiling and greeting guests and serving them eggs every which way, scrambled, boiled, fried, poached and awesome omelettes). Also for special mention are the front reception girls, Angelique and Yummi. Nueng who was always smiling and very friendly each and every time we walked past.

We arrived at the Hotel about 10.30 pm and were greeted with smiling faces, a cool scented facewasher and chilled fruit juices. Check in was easy and quick. We were showed to our club room which was lovely but not the room that I was hoping for. The very next morning I was told we could move so we did and the club room we had for the remaining 12 nights was absolutely perfect. The room was spotless and views perfect. When the cleaners came through our facewashers were always made into little bunnies - it's the extra work that the staff do which make your stay perfect at this hotel.

BREAKFAST was all you could think of - eggs, potato gratin, bacon, baked beans, cooked tomatoes, fried rice, some Japanese food, pancakes, french toast, pastries (together with vanilla sauce, chocolate sauce and raspberry sauce as well as all the jams and maple syrup). You could have toast with any kind of bread you chose. A good range of fruit juices and fresh cut fruit as well as salads and lots more. Something for everyone. After a couple of days the staff remembered our room number and always asked when seating us at our table if we would like tea/coffee.

LUNCH - we had lunch at the restaurant which was also lovely and the menu had a good choice selection.

DINNER - we enjoyed dinner at the restaurant quite a few times. One night we had the buffet which was great. Again - a full range on the menu to choose from.

SPA We enjoyed the spa for massages and also a body scrub.

GAMES ROOM and LIBRARY. The games room, airconditioned as is the library, was good with table tennis, pool table and table soccer. The library had a good assortment of books and a couple of computers. Also note there are computers in the reception area. All free of charge which is great as hotels are getting into the nasty habit of charging their guests. Wi-fi was a little sketchy at times but never a problem.

Irena was great in helping us out with hiring a car. Budget delivered the car to the hotel and also picked it up which was really handy. We enjoyed driving around - just have to watch out left, right, centre, ahead, behind (everywhere) for those scooters. The Thai people are fine - it's mainly the tourists on the scooters you have to be careful with.

We did not have any problem with the taxi stand out the front - in fact Eed and her husband Nat were our taxi drivers for the whole time we were there and are very lovely people. There's always someone at the taxi stand asking if you want a taxi/tuk tuk as soon as you step out the front but they are not intrusive at all.

As I said - can't wait to come back to this hotel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Thank you Avista for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Club room with an ocean view. Next time we'll probably go for the 1 bedroom suite which has vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear chook2564,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and your kind words of appreciation will encourage the entire team to strive for improving the quality of service. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. Your compliments will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avista Phuket Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa at Kata Beach Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Avista Phuket Resort and Spa is not just any hotel -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel’s design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. Its Grand Deluxe rooms shine bright with blue mood lighting, setting a calming atmosphere in which you and your loved ones can cuddle up and find inner peace. Even the bathrooms are pristine down to their smallest details. The nice hotel’s pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avista Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.