We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK the first time but didn't WoW me enough to make me go back there the second time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Avista Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 50 hotels in Kata Beach
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's OK the first time but didn't WoW me enough to make me go back there the second time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom suite on level 5 for 4 nights in December. We had to go to level 2 and walk about 100m then take another lift up to level 5 in order to get the our suite. This is just a little bit annoying because you have to walk a bit to go in and out of your room.

The hotel is about 5-10 mins walk to Kata Beach.

Wouldn't use the Spa and massage service there again because it was really pricey. We paid close to 7000 baht for two people for a 2-3 hours massage session. It was nothing special and certainly not ten times better than normal thai massage which we can get at beaches/palours for 300 baht per person. The lady at the front counter of the spa didn't have the same genuine and friendly Thai service that we encountered throughout Thailand.

I found the fixtures in the suite really odd. The tap handles were all round so they were hard to grip. The shower head had one constant pressure, which meant we couldn't make the water flow faster or slower. In particular the water temperature of the shower fluctuated when my wife used the tap to wash her face, so i had to constantly move the handle to get the right temperature. There were so many light switches located in confusing spots that we didn't know which one turned on which light. The air conditioner only blew in one direction so when we were sleeping we had a constant breeze of cool air blowing in our face for the whole night. Therefore I just found the features and fixtures in the suite not to be user friendly and functional compared to other hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Momentovitae,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We regret the inconvenience caused to you during your spa experience though we would like to explain that our Spa rates are in comparison with the other resorts in Phuket of similar nature. And with reference to spa receptionist please be assured that we have briefed our team to be more responsive in the future.
Regarding the tap handles, water pressure and Air conditioner we have shared the same with our Chief Engineer who has assured of corrective actions. We have also briefed our Housekeeper to thoroughly check the rooms before allocating the same to our guests.
We value your feedback and it’s our endeavor to enhance our product and services with each passing year. We look forward to your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    862
    365
    81
    18
    8
See reviews for
352
614
37
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely recommend a stay at Avista. I agree with others who say the steep hill up to the hotel is not a problem and is nice exercise after lounging on the beach, at the gorgeous pool and after the decadent breakfast. Absolutely amazing breakfast, delicious pancakes, fresh pastries and perfect eggs. Location is perfect if you like amenities close by, like shops and restaurants.. but not too busy like Patong. Although we did spend a few nights exploring Patong and the free shuttle service was excellent and reliable. The rooms at Avista are stunning. The most comfortable large beds and lovely balcony and well stocked bathroom. We were made to feel so special. On arrival we were seated and the pleasant lady came to us to sort out our check in and we were asked what time we wanted our room cleaned everyday and what type of teabags we liked in our rooms! With a nice refreshing drink and flowers we were escorted to our beautiful room. The staff always smiled and greeted us with the great Thai hospitality and we were so looked after. Loved our stay here and would love to go back! Thank you Avista

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Barbietravel,

Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to give us your detailed valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

As a frequent traveller I found it annoying that you had to be seated in a comfortable chair and wait to be checked in when the appropriate person was available. When the lady arrived we could not understand 90% of what she was saying. Once the formalities were completed we were shown to our room which on first impressions was great. The cleanliness of the furniture was not acceptable but the size of the room and the amenities provided were excellent. I expect all table tops and surfaces to be wiped over but in our case the room had numerous spills which had not been cleaned sufficiently. The supposed free Wi Fi was virtually non existant and even the free computers in the foyer were basically as good as useless if you wanted to do anything online. The hotel amenities were great - offering a gym, games room, library and two very good pool areas. Most rooms overlook the pools which gives a nice outlook. The breakfasts provided were of a high standard and I have never met anyone as happy as the egg cook. Many of the staff went out of their way to make our stay a happy one, but on several occasions when I approached the front desk with a query there was a communication problem as the staff were not fluent in English. I would have thought that a basic knowledge of English would be a pre requisite for a front desk job. The spa prices were very expensive and the travel desk was of no use at all. We were interested in booking some trips and whilst out walking we obtained brochures and quotes. Upon return to the hotel I asked the tour desk to give me the price for each of the trips I had chosen and the price was very nearly double what I eventually paid elsewhere. The steep hill on which the hotel sits is exactly that - certainly not suitable for elderly people or people with a heart condition.
In all the hotel is good and I would still recommend it but it could be so much better by ironing out some of the problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear seeyalaterAdelaide,

Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We have shared your kind words of appreciation with our team members, who have left you with fond memories of the place. We would however like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you at various levels of service. Please find below a point wise revert for your assurance on the corrective measured initiated.
With regard to room cleanliness please be assured that we have briefed our Housekeeping supervisor to thoroughly check the rooms before allocating the same to our esteemed guests.
With reference to the Wi-Fi we would like to assure you that we have shared the same with the service provider, who has initiated corrective action however we regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your feedback regarding the Front Office operation and we have initiated training sessions to attain the desired standard.
Regarding the Spa charges, we would like to explain that our Spa rates are in comparison with the other resorts in Phuket of similar nature and for our in house guests we have various cost effective packages.
Lastly, we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. Your feedback has given us an understanding for the need of trainings, and we would like to inform that we have started conducting training programmes to achieve better service standards.
It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Avista during the middle of November for 4 nights and the overall experience was positive, with only a few minor things to improve on.

The communication via email for the booking was very efficient and informative. They were one of the few hotels we could find who would fit 3 adults and 1 child (2.5 yr) in one room (a 2 x King Bed config). We didn't choose the hotel transfer as they advised it was probably cheaper to barter for a taxi at the airport - which we did for THB900.

The taxi ride is quite long, about an hour. But on arrival we were welcomed with refreshment drinks, refresher towel and a fast and efficient checkin.

The room as pleasant and adequate for what we needed, clean and nicely presented. Plenty of space for 3 adults and 1 child. Small balcony overlooking the next hotel's pool.

I had read about the steep hill and had some concerns, but really it wasn't that bad. It's short and steep, maybe a bit hard if you're pushing a pram but to be honest I didn't mind the exercise after eating all that delicious Thai food :) . And usually we'd prefer beach front but with all the Phuket beaches being sooooo busy and crowded, it was actually nice to get away from that and relax by the pool in a quiter setting, away from the hussle and bussle. BTW, pool bar happy hour from 3-6pm every day was a bonus!

At the bottom of the hill are numerous bars and restaurants and shops, so it is in a very convenient location. And the beach is just a short 5 minute walk in the other direction.

The breakfasts were great, plenty of variety for all nationalities. But the restaurant was dead in the evenings, menu and atmosphere was pretty dire. Don't expect to eat there, plan your evening meals out, plenty of great Thai food just at the bottom of the hill.

If you're booking a tour, be aware that there is somewhat of a cartel operating with the tuk tuk drivers outside. They also sell tours and take you to various sights across the island. If you say you'll go with them but then book with someone else, we heard they can get quite nasty with guests and with the other tour operators. So some tour companies won't pick you up or drop you off at Avista because of this. It's not for island hopping tours, just elephant trekking etc. So best to avoid engaging them on tours at all... We found a tour company down at Kata beach next to Kata Beach Resort & Spa. Great guy, very informative, not biased or pushy and got a better price than at the hotel.

There were a few negatives which detracted from our overall enjoyable stay....

The lifts needed a good clean. Stainless steel which showed up all sorts of splatters and spillages... not a good look.

Our room only got cleaned late in the afternoon each day, so when we came back to the room for my daughters midday sleep, it was still unmaid. And in fact many trays of room service food were still lying around in the corridors til mid afternoon. I'm sure there are a lot of rooms, but I would expect house keeping to be finished by the morning to make the room stay a bit more pleasant.

Only minor things, but overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Mel J,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sparing the time to share your valuable feedback. We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your stay and liked our breakfast and pool bar services. We would like to inform you that for dinner we have a series of theme nights planned like the surf and turf buffet with a live band on Tuesdays, Thai buffet with local cultural event on Fridays and live music on Thursdays and Sundays and on Saturdays we show live telecast of the football matches from England. Spain and Germany on a big screen. The participation and the feedback from our guests have been encouraging so far.
Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us in regard to the elevator cleanliness, we would like to assure you that we have shared your feedback regarding the same with our Housekeeper who has initiated corrective actions.
With reference to your feedback about room service, we would like to assure you that we have taken a serious note of your feedback and shared the same with our F&B manager who has assured of corrective actions.
We thank you for your detailed feedback. It is our constant endeavor to better our product and services with every passing year and your feedback will certainly help in improving these services further.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the resort!
Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

we have stayed 2 nights in Avista club room ..everything was perfect. Spacious room with really nice bed. So mordern and clean. We took the transport from Avista to Kata and Patong, was easy and convienent.We had saved 1000 (to and fro) baht in this way as we had family of 6.
Staffs were really helpful and nice. Great pools. The taxi outside is ok, we paid 300 baht for ferry us to Boomerang..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear luckyanli,
Sawasdee krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort & Spa!
We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our hotel facilities and our services, your positive comments will motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My partner and I spent five days at Kata staying at Avista. Okay so it is up a fairly steep hill - seriously - those that complain about the walk up the hill, should really check the location out first. We hired a scooter so of course it was no problem - scootering around Kata is easy and loads of fun.
Even with the scooter we still walked up and down the hill several times - who can't do with a little exercise, especially after the daily breakfast buffet, which by the way was great - chef new how you liked your eggs and would cook them perfectly every time.

We paid a little extra for a Club room which ensures you are on the either of the top 2 floors - where the views are amazing - we booked ours through a Trip Adviser Promo.

Would certainly stay there again.

If you stay at Kata - make sure you go to Kata Noi (little) its a smaller less crowded beach just over the headland - not walking distance. We went there every day - great little restaurant at the Northern end of beach built into the rocks - great food and drinks. Jet ski hire avail on the beach too.

Thank you Avista for a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose the Club rooms - top two floors - great views....otherwise your just looking into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Steve V
Sawasdee Krab!
Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
Thank you for choosing Avista Phuket Resort & Spa as your holiday destination.
We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you had a memorable holiday experience. Thank you for complementing our cuisine, and other hotel facilities; it will definitely encourage us to continue and improve our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at the resort!

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked the resort for our anniversary..we had informed at the time of booking, casually about the occassion as we were not getting the dates n we had made plans to visit Phuket..however we were highly impressed by the arrangements done for us at the resort. We were welcomed with warm staff at the front desk. They booked us the best of rooms wit an breathtaking view, there was cake n flowers awaiting us in the room on arrival, least did we expect all this.the resort is very hygienic and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent and the service in the restaurants was prompt...we happened to meet the General Manager of the resort on one of the days, the meeting was casual but we were highly impressed with his customer centricity. Kudos to you guys at Avista n keep up the good work...we shall love to come again next year n will definitely recommend to friends!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear caroldiaz,
Sawasdee Krab! Greetings from Avista Phuket Resort and Spa!
We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the resort facilities. It is indeed feedbacks such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.
Once again thank you for your compliment as my team and I stay committed to deliver to our guests’ satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again next year.

Warm Regards,
Management,
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avista Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avista Phuket Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa at Kata Beach Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Avista Phuket Resort and Spa is not just any hotel -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel’s design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. Its Grand Deluxe rooms shine bright with blue mood lighting, setting a calming atmosphere in which you and your loved ones can cuddle up and find inner peace. Even the bathrooms are pristine down to their smallest details. The nice hotel’s pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Avista Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.