We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather overpriced during high season.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WiFi + Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rather overpriced during high season.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for three weeks over the Christmas/New Year period. The first bedroom we were allocated was very disappointing and extremely noisy. We managed to change the next day to a room on the top floor, which was much better. The pool areas are small and get very congested during peak seasons. The breakfast is very good and staff are generally very polite. The beach is about 10 minutes walk away and there are many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance so the location is pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    462
    105
    22
    10
See reviews for
429
773
50
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

if you fancy a curry do not use the indian first on the left awful but if you like steak go to the buffalo steak house excelllent.

Room Tip: no sea views but that not a problem pool only rooms with even no
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear briannethercott,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your holiday with us and liked the hotel services and staff and will be back.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I loved this hotel. It is a new addition to Kata and thoroughly deserves it’s high ranking on tripadvisor. This is the only hotel I stayed at in Kata that bent over backwards to improve every aspect of its service and make my stay an enjoyable one. They care what their guests think, they want their guests to have the best stay possible and they listen attentively to every comment / criticism / suggestion. They easily deserve their 4 star status and I would rank it a very high 4 star. There was a lovely Swedish lady called Mathilda whose mission was to make sure all of their guests were happy. It was so refreshing to stay somewhere that cares for their guests to this level.

I stayed for 3 nights in their suite room 511 (I decided to treat myself for a few days) I went the day before to have a look at some rooms at the 5 star Aspacia Hotel across the road and the Avista, and it was a toss up between the two of them which one I wanted to stay at. Although the Aspacia looked amazing, the Avista won the toss as I thought it had a nicer vibe to the place generally. I was not disappointed. I saw their Avista Club room and the suite and although I opted for the suite in the end, the Avista Club room was incredible. The lighting console next to the bed was fantastic – you could alter the lighting to suit literally any mood, including a very cool & futuristic blue strip of light all the way down the wall behind the bed - stunning. Whoever designed the lighting in this place deserves an award – I was so impressed.

The suite was large, well appointed and felt very luxurious and the view across Kata was fantastic (I think you only get this view from Room 511). The breakfast was great – they had an amazing buffet selection & everything was clean and well presented and the staff very attentive. The pools were great & I enjoyed sitting at the pool bar.

All in all I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough, and a big thank you and top marks must go to the delightful Mathilda who I thought was absolutely amazing.

Although the hill leading up to the hotel is steep and not for the feint hearted, it didn’t cause me any problems and was a small price to pay to stay in such a great hotel. I generally preferred the other end of Kata Beach, but still would have no problem recommending this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Suite room 511 is the best room in the hotel but the Avista Club rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear LightningUK,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

It is a pleasure to note that you had a wonderful stay with us and liked the hotel and its staff, service and facilities.

In our endeavor to constantly keep improving and delivering the best in service and facilities, all our staff is trained to be listening posts who are actively seeking feedback from our guests so that we can keep improving. Your feedback is a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and will encourage us to continue to take the path of continous improvement.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had great expectations based on reviews when we arrived and we were NOT dissapointed.

The interior and exterior decorations of the entire hotel were absolutely beautiful and the service, the positive attitude of all the staff made the arduous walk up the (very) steep hill well worth the effort and daily exercise.

In our opinion the difference between a very good and excellent hotel is invariably the quality of the service and caring for its guests. For this reason alone, The Avista Resort & Spa is to be highly commended and awarded a 5 star resort.

Best wishes

John & Lene
Copenhagen, Denmark

Room Tip: Best rooms are 401 and 501. Great seaview. But all rooms are way above average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear JohnJensen1,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and for making us your No.1 resort in Thailand.

Your comments come as a welcome endorsement of the quality of our resort and staff and will encourage us to continue to do even better. It is our endeavor to ensure that all our guests have a great time on their holiday by providing them the highest level of service and attention and we are glad to note that you found our service to be above expectations.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and the Avista team looks forward to welcome you soon.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

For me, the location of hotel is not good. There is limited space to walk around the hotel. The breakfast is also low qualitty. What I like the most is the media box in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Zamijang,

Thank you for your comments.

We are surprised & sorry to note that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments about the breakfast seriously and will work towards it.

With regards to the location, allow me to explain that though the hill may look like a difficult climb we are safe from Tsunami and the view from our rooms is excellent.

We do hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Spent 8 night's at Avista on our Honeymoon. The Resort is excellent, High quality standards and excellent service. Friendly helpful staff. The rooms are clean; spacious and modern. Great Value and I will recommend it to anyone visiting Phuket and wanting to stay in Kata / Karon area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Sharad17,

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and hope that you will also celebrate many of your anniversaries with us too.

Your comments are welcome endorsement of the quality of our hotel and its services and encourage us to continue to do even better.

We look forward to welcome you again soon and wish a very happy married life.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia , New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have stayed in Total 6 times at Avista .Something we do not like to do as so often the second visit never lives up to expectations. However this is not the case with Avista the staff are just so friendly helpful polite the list goes on. Incredible value for money, Breakfast offers plenty of choice and we dined in the restaurant several times each time we were more than happy the thai food is excellent and we love the italian options as well.The rooms are spacious modern with a great patio for lounging, comfy outdoor chairs. Very central location can walk to the beach yes there is a short climb back to the resort but this we enjoyed meant we working off those extra kilos. Pool is large with wonderful garden. Used the gym the equipment is modern and has all that you need.
On this visit we were in Thailand for 8 weeks and Avista was right up there with some other more expensive resorts. Raining and cold here in New zealand so can't wait to return

Room Tip: We have stayed in every room type enjoyed room 500 the most great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear MervaNZ,

Thank you for your wonderful endorsement of the quality of our hotel, its staff and services. We are pleased to wlecome you always and are already looking forward to your next visit.

It means a lot to us that you decide to stay with us on your visits to Phuket and we value your special friendship with Avista and its team.

Looking forward to your next visit when you can get away from the rain and cold weather and catch some sun at Avista.

Warm Regards,

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avista Phuket Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa at Kata Beach Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Avista Phuket Resort and Spa is not just any hotel -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel’s design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. Its Grand Deluxe rooms shine bright with blue mood lighting, setting a calming atmosphere in which you and your loved ones can cuddle up and find inner peace. Even the bathrooms are pristine down to their smallest details. The nice hotel’s pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotel.de, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Avista Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.