We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in peace, an oasis a few minutes from the beach and many restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Avista Phuket Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in peace, an oasis a few minutes from the beach and many restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We chose Avista on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed!
Picking faults seems a little harsh as this hotel really was fantastic, especially for the great prices.
Our Grand Deluxe room was very well appointed, the beds were comfortable, there were a range of pillows available, a great selection of TV channels. The rooms were decently soundproofed so we rarely heard other guests. Very small issues: we wanted to sleep under a sheet rather than have the aircon at full blast, but we had to ask for a sheet as clearly most people sleep under a doona, also the step down to the bathroom was not clearly marked.
The service was prompt and courteous with decent English. Wonderful smiles everywhere.
The hotel facilities were extensive: good pool, quality restaurant, fitness facilities, pool bar, games room, library, free internet, cooking classes, etc.
As other reviewers said, the hill is steep. However, this is a small issue really. We liked being near Kata beach and Kata Centre, but some travelers may wish to be closer to Patong.
Breakfast (included with our room) was fantastic. The chicken cashew nut (main meal) will change your life :)

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view, got one on day 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear PeteinPerth_11,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    421
    90
    20
    9
See reviews for
392
713
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We are just about to check out of the Avista and unlike the previous rating we had a fabulous time here. A mistake in the booking meant we stayed 1 night at the Sugar Palm Grand Hotel with pool access. It was nice but not a patch on the Avista although it is slightly closer to the bars and restuarants.

The staff at the Avista were so friendly towards us which really added to our enjoyable stay. The staff were extremely helpful.

We stayed in the Avista Club Room (Room 418). We had a great view of the pool and of Kata Beach. The rooms are modern and have all the facilities you would need ( King-size bed,large lcd tv, sofa, nice bath and large shower room) The decor is lovely and everything is in pristine condition. When we arrived in our room a lovely touch was the bed was decorated with 'Happy Honeymoon' flowers etc and in the fridge you get a large cake as a welcome to the hotel.

The pool is pretty big compared to other hotels we have stayed at (Sugar Palm Grand quite small; Nap patong- another beautiful hotel in Patong). The games room is fun with a pool table, darts board, table tennis and table football). There is free wifi in the hotel and 4 computers in the lobby. The library is very good with lots of English books which would certainly keep my mum entertained for many many weeks. The breakfast was huge.... umm and how can anyone say not much choice??? you get Thai food, lots of fruits, diffrerent cheeses, fresh bread, croissants, about 6 different fruit juices, omelettes, baked beans, bacon, yoghurt, cheese sausages, chicken sausages, muffins, waffles ...omg and much more.

The hotel is on a steep slope( but dont let that deter you) so no worries if there is a tsunami! Its about a 5-10 minutes walk to kata beach and not any more to get to the bars and other places. We hired a car and Id highly recommend you do the same to get to see all the island. We particularly loved Kata Noi Beach and Surin Beach. Patong was a nice surprise to us as the beach is very nice and its not too tacky.

We went on a trip to PHI PHi Island booked through the hotel and it was a fantastic day out ( The trip is 2900 baht but well worth the money as you snorkel at so many different islands - Bamboo, Mosquito and Losana islands).

We would and will definitely stay at this hotel again and it is well worth the money! Thank you for a wonderful stay from both myself and my girlfriend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Chalkychris,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

We regret that we could not accomodate you for one night, however, we will ensure that during your next visit your entire is with us.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in the middle of April. We had higher expectations of this hotel so were a bit disappointed especially after coming from the amazing Amari Watergate hotel in Bangkok. We arrived and checked in but we wanted to skype our family back at home on their free computers which were excellent. The porter men went home and left our bags by the lift. Our room was all sorted out and designated to us so I can't see why they couldn't have taken our bags up even though we hadn't gone up.

Breakfast was ok. Choices very limited and the meals very repetitive. There were no curries like the other hotels we had been to and other cuisines like Japanese. It is an open air room with no air conditioning so it was quite hot eating breakfast.

The resort is located on top of a hill which isn't too much of a problem. Just make sure you are always prepared so you don't have to keep walking down to the shops to get anything. We had room 401 which has an ocean view and balcony. When we were laying by the pool we would just look up at the pool view rooms and were glad we didn't have one of them as there would be no privacy on the balcony and noisy at times.

There is a library where you can borrow books to read for your stay. We didn't use the Spa there because it was quite expensive but were offering some deals. We found some other really good, nice and cheap Spas in the main street where we had manicures, pedicures, body scrubs, and massages. We could have them every night instead of once or twice because of the price.

We ate at the same restaurant in Kata called East and West because their Thai food was all 100 baht and had a free salad bar where we indulged on watermelon, pineapple and broccoli.

We used the hotel free shuttle to Patong for 2 evenings which is great. I have stayed in Patong previously and didn't like getting harassed constantly so that is why we stayed at Kata.

The concierge men were really nice and would bow to you but no one else did. The restaurant staff weren't friendly. We had a early flight on our last morning and we went to breakfast at 6.20 am and we knew it started at 6.30am. We asked if we could have a bowl of cereal but we weren't allowed to. It was all set out and ready to go. Another couple came down at about 6.25 and went to go straight up and get some hot food but got chased away. The hotel should offer people an earlier breakfast if they need it, even if it is just toast, cereal and juice.

The pool was ok. Nothing huge and fancy. They could have a massage hut like the Peach Hotel next door did.

My other choice was the Metadee and we passes it and went and checked out their 4 types of rooms because I probably wouldn't stay at Avista again. A hotel similar I would consider next time and is cheaper is the Sugar Palm Grand Resort which is at the busy end of the town, close to restaurants, massage places and the beach and on a hill which is what we would be after next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Honeymooners160110,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay with us and my sincere apologies for the same. Please be assured that these issues will be addressed with all seriousness they deserve and we will ensure that we put in corrective measures to arrest them.

I assure you that this incident is not a true reflection of our service standards and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your perception about our services.

We look forward to welcome you back to Avista Resort & Spa, Phuket soon.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We had a suite, room 511 so that our teenager son could sleep in the lounge. It is very nice and large with 2 TVs, lounge, small kitchen area with microwave, main bedroom with large spa and huge bathroom. Need to be aware there is a folding door between the bedroom and lounge that does not really do much as far as blocking out noise and light. In hindsight we would have booked 2 rooms instead.

There are apparently 2 suites and ours we were told had the best view, I disagree as the pictures show. Yes, you could see the beach on one side, but mostly only the top of buildings, which is a shame considering the price for the suites. We also had a problem with our air conditioner that was fixed but them became too cold, we just managed with it.

Breakfast was great, huge choice and well run. Few things, the coffee was terrible and the cups for tea and coffee so small that you where having to refill after a couple of mouth fulls. We had poolside service and this was very good, great fruit smoothies and food. Did not have dinner at the restaurant so can't comment, but looked good and reasonable value too.

There are 2 pools and both are very nice, this is not a resort with much garden area and I would consider it a small resort compared to others in Phuket I have stayed in. The hill is not much fun to walk up but not that bad either, perhaps with small kids it would be a problem considering the heat and because the tuk tuk and taxi's are such a rip off we refused to pay for any. The hotel does have a free shuttle to the beach and Patong, I think twice a day.

Yes the sewage smell at reception and in certain parts of the restaurant were terrible and I don't think it was because of recent rains, it did not rain once in our 5 night stay. I am sure something can be done about it and should be addressed straight away.

Not long after we left to go to another resort, we realised our son had left his iPod in the TV cupboard. Called straight away and also emailed and after 2 days were told it was not there. Could have been taken by the next guest I suppose but am pretty sure the cleaners would have found it. I also think the cleaning of the room was on the poor side, our bathroom bench top area was not cleaned at all during the stay with toothpaste marks left each day, which I cleaned myself. The rest of the room seemed to be okay but have certainly had better cleaners at other resorts we have stayed in including our next resort Villa Zollitude, which was spotless.

Overall a good stay, nice and a reasonably new resort, shame about the view, smell and lost iPod though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Dear ratbagx3,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve the quality of our services. We have already taken necessary steps to ensure that smell at the Reception is addressed.

I regret that you misplaced your ipod during your stay in Phuket, however, let me assure you that our staff has been with us for a long time and we do a thorough background check of every employee who is hired. We also have a process by which every employee goes through a physical check when they leave the hotel after work to avoid any such incidents. I would like to assure you that I have personally investigated the entire incident and spoken to staff concerned and can say with complete confidence that the ipod was not taken by a member of the hotel.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Room:
My hotel stay started off with a bang because we were upgraded to the Avista Club room on the 5th floor! The room is very spacious with a glass wall separating the bathroom and the bedroom, so it makes the room look even bigger. It's clean and very well lit, with a good view of the sea.

Amenities:
Free wi-fi in the room - my friends were constantly updating their FB pages with photos of our vacation!
I was impressed with the selection of pillows offered. Good news for the discerning sleeper!
Buffet breakfast had a good variety of asian and western cuisine, albeit a little pricey at THB450+. The hotel restaurant is non-airconditioned so it can get a little stuffy.
There's a DVD player in the room and the Reception also provides a selection of DVDs for rental.
Pool is fantastic! Great for relaxing in.

Location:
Hotel is perched atop a hill overlooking the sea. It's got a good view of the ocean, but you won't be able to see the sunrise. Although the hotel provides complimentary rides to Patong, the timings are limited to 12pm & 5pm. There is a taxi stand right outside the hotel with published rates, so be prepared to fork out quite a bit on transportation since taxis don't use the meter (400THB to Patong 1-way and THB1500 to airport). Twice, our drivers got lost enroute to the hotel.

I'm not sure if it's the "go-green" policy of the hotel, but our toilet paper was not refilled after room make-up service and new towels had to be requested for. Other than those small oversights, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Avista. It's definitely value for money and a great place to relax in.

Tip for the ladies: The water in the shower is quite "hard" so do bring along a good conditioner (the one provided by the hotel doesn't quite cut it).

Room Tip: Best to avoid low floors due to noisy insects!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear FriedLotti,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve the quality of our services.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

From reading reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to take this property. When we came to Phuket it was pouring rain. We barely could land because it was raining so much !
Upon arriving at the airport, I found out that we were one hour away !!!
Coming from Koh samui the week before everything was double the price.....that’s for sure !
I come from the hotel industry and Agoda.com rated this hotel 5 star. It is a 3 star trying reallllllly hard to become 4. In Bangkok we were staying at the Grand Hyatt so obviously this was a big downgrade. I expected it to be a nice boutique hotel. But I was wrong..

We were forced to have dinner at the restaurant on the 1st night due to the weather.
They mentioned to us that it was BBQ buffet for 499 Baht (I think) with a glass of wine.
It was really cafeteria style...every time something fresh came to the buffet, everyone had to run for it. It was overall tasteless..

Breakfast quality was also awful...We usually had the egg and fruits since you could not go wrong with that.

My husband also went to the spa to get a massage. Since they gave you a coupon during check in for a rebate. He told me he felt that it was a “coupon” massage. The masseuse did everything very briefly and pretty much was ready for the next client.

There were a lot of families with a lot of kids. Even though they allocate free computers in the lobby. All the kids were 24/7 playing games. So that was very annoying....
Most of the time when we wanted to do research/check email there were all these kids.

One night my husband really wanted to go to the bar to have a drink.
We went down to find out that the bar, is located behind the restaurant in a very sad state...
it was simply a bar counter with 4 stools...and NO one was there. Another bar was in the pool but since it was cold and raining that was not an option.

We also wished that the front desk had a bit more knowledge on restaurants in the area.
When we asked them for a recommendation of a restaurant in Patong, they handed us a guide. So obviously we just went for whatever we saw first.

At first looking at the reviews, the rooms seem sooo large.
But my room was 306 (I think) and it was just standard size. We were located right above where the taxi drivers chill. So it was annoying to hear them talking, watching tv, listen to radio all day. I do give credit to the quality of their bed and also the room technology was pretty good.

The hill is STEEP especially with a baby. But it is located very close by to the beach and center. But personally the center there is not much to do...

As you can see I was pretty disappointed. At one point a guest service manager came to introduce herself to us. She was Russian who caters to 90% of their guest nationality and I just felt that she was not really there to hear all my thoughts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Cannes101,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay with us and my sincere apologies for the same. Your valuable suggestions help us better our services and improve our standards.

We are in the process of revisiting the design of our restaurant and will definitely keep in mind your suggestions to make it more lively.

I would like to assure you that this incident is not a true reflection of our service standards and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to change your perception about our services.

We look forward to welcome you back to Avista Resort & Spa, Phuket soon.

Warm Regards
Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Amazing hotel. Excellent in all aspects, cleanliness, service, high quality rooms, fantastic breakfast, polite & courteous employees- at a very reasonable price. Our kids ( ages 8, 11 & 13) enjoyed everything from the different pools to the kids club to the game room to the library. Kata is beautiful -far better than Patong , especially for families.

Thumbs up Avista.

sulafakhair@hotmail.com

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVISTAKATAPHUKET, General Manager at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Dear zeresa,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back soon.

We are sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to improve
the quality of our services.

Warm Regards

Management
Avista, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avista Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 4 / 1, 4 Leam Sai Road | Karon District, Amphur Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avista Phuket Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Luxurious Accommodations at Avista Phuket Resort & Spa at Kata Beach Raise your vacation to a higher level and have a stunning experience in Thailand. Avista Phuket Resort and Spa is not just any hotel -- it stands as one of the most expressive and stylish ones in Phuket. This beautiful hotel’s design itself is a splendid architectural deco-nature model of bio-regional and ecological harmony. Set against gently sloping hills, it is the perfect spot to achieve your much-needed relaxation as well as to explore the wild jungles, magnificent beaches, and exciting nightlife of Kata. Its Grand Deluxe rooms shine bright with blue mood lighting, setting a calming atmosphere in which you and your loved ones can cuddle up and find inner peace. Even the bathrooms are pristine down to their smallest details. The nice hotel’s pool area is likewise a striking, exotic oasis of cascading royal-blue water juxtaposed against the turquoise Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avista Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Phuket Hotel Kata Beach
Avista Phuket Resort And Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avista Phuket Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.