We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Phuket Kata to your Saves list
ibis Phuket Kata
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

+ The hotel is rather new and clean, nothing too fancy but better than the other Ibis I have visited else where. Quiet.

- The swimming pool is VERY cold (like 20-22 degres), the location is average: right in front of the "Club Med" which is pretty much a 2km long wall so you have to walk 10 minutes to go to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    130
    60
    24
    16
See reviews for
75
122
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kununurra, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Kata (not to be confused with Ibis Patong) before a dive liveaboard with my friend. We arrived late the first night & stayed a second night before being collected to board the Aggressor dive charter operator as this one of the collection points in Phuket. Upon first entering the hotel, you notice it is a part of a franchise with no sense of individuality or charisma. Nevertheless, the foyer is fresh, open and airy.

The room had two king single beds (with a recessed space underneath to allow for baggage stowage), two tiny bed side shelves with overhead wall mounted lamps and the smallest possible luggage bench ever made. A flat screen tv was wall mounted opposite the beds. A small fridge (with 2x 500ml glass bottles of water, replenished daily) was underneath a small linen closet. An electronic room safe, a couple of clothes hangers, two beach towels & laundry bag were inside. There were only two power points in the room, with only one operational – not very convenient when you have a number of appliances needing charging. Tea/coffee making facilities are provided. The beds were very comfortable, with crisp linen and doona. The pillows on the other hand were lumpy & uncomfortable. An adjoining small balcony had two seats, a table & twin rack for clothes to dry. I set up a camping clothes line so we had more line space. The window & door to the balcony were glass with sun-block curtains. The room had constant air conditioning (no need for your room key to keep it running) which worked very well (operated: on/off, fan speed & temperature dial).

The bathroom was tiny & compact: small basin, toilet in the centre and a corner shower. Only two small bath towels, hand towels and a floor mat are supplied. Shower caps and a wall mounted pump hand wash and shampoo/conditioner are supplied. There is also a hair dryer. The shower water temperature & pressure were great. The worst thing was no exhaust fan, so very very stuffy during/after a shower.

I had full mobile phone reception and the Ibis offered free wifi if you have your own device, otherwise internet computers were in the lobby. A buffet breakfast is offered every morning, with a good selection of fruits, cereals, pastries and cooked food, such as soup, local delights, eggs and sausages. The air conditioned dining room is overlooking the pool, adjacent to the lobby. The dining room is then available for lunch/dinner. There is no room service available however you can order meals at the downstairs cafe/restaurant and then either eat on your bed or pool side – prices are reasonable though the selection is minimal – I would suggest getting something from a close by restaurant and taking it back to you room. The hotel guide provided is very basic & not helpful. The pool area is compact & can get quite busy. Transfers are offered every 15min to Kata beach from 8.30am-4.30pm daily, which is only 200m (cutting through Club Med which is right across the road).

The hotel is located in Kata, a quiet part of Phuket which is relaxing & family friendly. No discotheques are allowed in Kata, so if you want to party, you had better take a 300-400 baht taxi one-way to Patong. Otherwise, enjoy the restaurants, bars, stores and day spas/massage parlours. There is an ATM right outside the hotel door with numerous ATM & money exchanges within a 2min walk, as too convenience stores/pharmacies. I can highly recommend for value, service and quality the Oriental Massage day spa located adjacent to the hotel entry. Airport transfers were AU$66 for the 45-60min trip.

Although well located, this hotel is only good for a short stop due to small rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The ibis Kata, very well located perfect spot for beach, shop, bar and eatting out. The hotel itself had everything we needed. very good sized clean pool, the room where very clean the bed comfortable, tv good , bathroom good although shower a little small but enough for us. we are small people so I guess if you are a large peson then maybe the shower mite be a bit cramped.
Fridge big enough again. WE didnt have breakfast as we eat little in the morning so I cannot comment about that. The staff where great very nice. Will we stay again, you bet, in fact we have booked again for April 2014. WE are a couple 58 and 64 and it serviced us perfect. The price was great too. For uk people it was on parr with a good primier inn.

Room Tip: I heard that 2nd floor have bigger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you know the Ibis branding, then you will know it's the chain's mid-tier hotels. Well, this is exactly what this Ibis Phuket Kata is. The hotel is rather new, (the whole stretch of road infront of it cannot be found on my GPS maps) and at the much quieter part of Phuket. (Patong being the "happening" place).
The reception staff were not too apt to handle their duties well but, we were there for our short holiday, so no fuse for us. (Tho' they can be more trained ?)
Rooms were very small n tight ! Not recommended for families with children, tho' if you have bigger kids, they can take another room
Wifi is free in the rooms n lobby area but don't expect to stream any movies - heeee
Breakfast area is nice n clean but the food variety can be improved
Has a mini-mart and massage parlour just outside the the hotel entrance (inside the hotel compound) and a mini tour counter too, but largely meant for the many Russians staying here
Swimming pool is small n can get crowded at times
Free use of pool table n table-tennis
Just outside the hotel, plenty of food places, mini-marts n various typical stalls
Beach is a short walk away

This location is far quieter than the maddening crowds over at Patong area.

Well, as usual, this is just my sharing.........
cheers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel room is small barely can sustain 2 person in a room. Service at the check-in counter has terrible temper and attitude to the extend that it shouts at the guests. Staying in this hotel is a nightmare. I definitely won't come back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Josephine T,

We sincerely apologize for any unexpected experience that might have happened during your stay with us.

Your feedback has been conveyed to our Front office Manager and re-training will be conducted to all team members.

We appreciate sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you,
Best regards

Alexandre H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

They have standard facilities all around however you do not feel homely. They have a nice pool but the rooms are small. You can have better options in Patong at the same prices. Also the hotel lobby has some sting of fish oil everytime we were in lobby and reception. Could have been much cleaner.

Room Tip: Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Abhipops,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your stay at ibis Phuket Kata.

Regarding our room size, Ibis an economy hotel brand that offers quality accommodation at great value for money for our guest. I was however pleased to read you enjoyed the ambiance and the pool.

Pertaining to your comments on the smell in the lobby, please rest assured that we had highlighted this matter to our housekeeping team for their immediate follow up.

We thank you once again for your comment on our service and will improve it accordingly to provide an even better quality of service to our guests.

Best regards,

Alexandre H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Phuket Kata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.