We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for $” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Phuket Kata

Save Saved
You added ibis Phuket Kata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Phuket Kata
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for $”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Kata and Karon beach is the best beach in Phuket. Going to Kata beach from ibis kata beach is only 5-mins walk. It was at the back of club med resort. Room of Ibis kata beach is relatively small but it's ok because u must stay outside for water sports or clubbing throughout the day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and the location of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    118
    52
    21
    16
See reviews for
66
109
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice friendly staff and very good location. But must say for this price there are a lot of other nice hotels aroud. Room was small and balcony super small. I mean if you are looking for budget hotel in Thailand, there are cheaper places with and the quality could be this or better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Urs P,

Thank you for reviewing ibis Phuket Kata after staying with us, I was delighted to read that your enjoyed your location and the friendliness of the staff, a kind word will be passed to them.

Concerning our pricing we feel we provide a good value given our central location and extensive facilities comparable to similar properties in the area. We regret that this was not your impression as Ibis core principle is to offer value for money experience.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Came here wanting a nice cheap hotel for my wife's family,as we arrived nobody helped with the luggage which was about 6 bags,check in was good and professional.
We stayed 3 nights,breakfast was one of the worst iv had in Thailand,so basic and not even any Bacon! A couple of nights I brought a couple of beers from the 7/11 and drank them in the room and used their glasses,they weren't even changed the next day when the room was cleaned,this happened with the coffee cups also,not changed!
Good internet is the only plus point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Neil Y,

Thank you for giving us the feedback during your stay, as I see your stay was not up to your standard and I do apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay.

As an economy hotel, we do not have a dedicated staff for luggage handling standing-by, however our team is always willing to help on request, I am sorry this didn’t happen. I have noted your comments regarding the breakfast that you felt basic, at ibis at our core principle is always try to offer our guests the most value for money experience.
Regarding the cleaning of the glasses in your room, I have already bring the issue to our housekeeping manager and kindly rest assured that additional training will be given to our staff to prevent this type of incident.
One a more positive note I am happy that you enjoyed the Internet service.

We hope the experience will not alter your confidence in Ibis Phuket Kata and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Normal hotel with a lot of russian guests. Pool is small by nice. Between the beach and the Ibis lies the Club Med area so you have to walk around the club to get to the beach. If you like to stay in a standardized hotel without any extra charme or atmosphere the Ibis offers you clean and comfy rooms for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graz
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

to keep my review short:

this hotel has everything we needed:
good and clean rooms
very good f&b for reasonable prices
free wifi
complimentary parking for hotel guest
a free tuk tuk shuttle to the beach
a nice swimming pool

and off course his very friendly staff!
especially we have to mention the front office leader vittaya angsuwan, was very helpfull to motify our booking!

we definatly can recommend the ibis kata!
we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our free WIFI and Tuk Tuk. Your kind words will be given to Khun Vittaya.

May I end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you at Ibis Kata and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is good choice for my trip because my flight landed at night and I need only quick stay. Its over expect , room is very clean ,comfort, and good design. Nice atmosphere , nice pool and also reasonable price. Although hotel has not direct access to the beach, you can walk only few mins. They also have shuttle to drop you at beach or market. There are many restaurant and coffee shop around. I love it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Phuket.

I was pleased to read you were positively surprised and enjoy the atmosphere and pricing.
The staff would like to thank you for your kind praise of our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

i was in this hotel 2 years ago and it was nice...
i came back and i'm really disappointed.
first day dirty bed sheets (blood and black and grey??) . so 2 in the night i had to ask for clean one. the staff really rude the say it was to late and i had to sleep there: what???
i went down in the reception to ask for the sheets: the manager became angry and grab and squeeze my harm...finally they gave me the bed sheets but i had to made the bed..
any way:
ants in the room, mirror and walls in the bathroom always dirty, full of dust under the bed...
the swimming pool is dirty... the elevator always dirty (the mirror horrible!!).
very noisy in the night and early in the morning.
very slow wifi
every day big tour bus full of people arrive here.
all the service (motorbike,tours etc are at least 3 times the average price.
good location...
i will not come back again

Room Tip: the room on the parking side are very very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandreH773, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
May I begin by thanking you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.

It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities.
Your experience certainly does not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at Ibis Phuket Kata.

Kindly rest assured that additional training will be given to our staff to prevent this from happening again.
If you could kindly contact me directly via h7273-gm@accor.com with the exact details of your stay I will attend to the matter personally.

Thank you,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Phuket Kata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Phuket Kata

Address: 88/8 Kata Road | Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Phuket Kata 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your ibis Phuket Kata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Phuket Kata Hotel Kata Beach
Ibis Phuket Kata Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Phuket Kata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.