We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely and Relaxing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metadee Resort and Villas

Save Saved
You added Metadee Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   66 Kata Road, T Karon | A Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A Lovely and Relaxing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I always read the bad reviews before the good ones and am seriously wondering if those people stayed at the same hotel as us. We booked two adjacent pool access rooms at the Metadee Resort for seven nights, and wish we had been able to stay longer. Situated down a quiet driveway, unlike some of the other hotels in the area, we were not hassled the moment we stepped off the premises. The friendly buggy drivers were there to take us to the main road but it really only is a couple of minutes stroll. As mentioned by someone else, the entrance is understated; however, the resort is a peaceful oasis of calm. The hotel was fully booked while we were there but maybe because of the layout and the pool access rooms you would never know it.

The staff were lovely and friendly, especially Boy who learned our names and our coffee preferences from day one. Breakfast was excellent, with many choices that varied daily. As with hotels in general, drinks and meals were more expensive than on the street (although no more expensive than a bar back home), but we considered it a good trade-off for the convenience of not having to put on street clothes and fend off hawkers, and the wait staff were more than happy to bring drinks to us at the poolside.

We experienced a small problem with a bulb in an incense burner but this was replaced as soon as it was reported. There were some mosquitos, which is to be expected when overlooking water, but a quick spray of repellent did the trick.

We had a fantastic holiday, made all the better by staying at a top hotel, and would certainly recommend it to anyone considering a holiday in Kata Beach.

Room Tip: The Pool Access Rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    269
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
171
514
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We first went to Metadee 3 years ago when it was fairly new. That time we had a pool access room and was blown away how good it was. This time we stayed 16 nights and upgraded a little and had a pool access villa. The real difference we found was that the place is showing a little age. The pool decking everywhere needs some major maintenance. It's lifting in spots and has never seen any oil. It looks tired. Our room was very good but again needs some maintenance in a few areas. Most of the paths have major trip hazards, and lawn areas have holes and bare spots. I know I'm being a little fussy but this is a great resort and I would hate to think it will continue to decline. Unfortunately the restaurant is only average, and this was confirmed by many of the guests we spoke to. The price of food and drinks is very expensive compared to the close by eateries. The spa is crazy expensive considering how cheap it is outside of the resort.

On the positive side, the staff are absolutely fantastic, always willing to help and making you feel special. The pool is amazing, and if you do make a booking you must get a pool access type room.

The location is very good as it is nice and quiet. We will stay here again, I just hope management can see the place with a critical eye.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a pool access room. It's not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fantastic service, stayed five nights and had a wonderful relaxing holiday with the service faultless, everyone went out of there way to attend to your every question or request. The resort has 76 rooms and villas. An amazing pool that goes on right past many of the villas. The atmosphere at night was so romantic as beautifully lit and tropical plants everywhere. During the day you could choose to lie by the pool on double sun loungers, order your cocktails and bar menu. You could even swim back leisurely to your villa from the main pool if you didn't want to walk through the tropical bush by the foot paths. Or call up one of the golf carts to drive you down to the top of the drive way to the entrance and back when you had finished shopping or spent time down on the white sands of Kata Beach.. Our unit was upstairs on the second level towards the back of the resort with a balcony and view. We would love to go back. It was an excellent resort for young couples or those expecting first baby or the odd small family, to us who are Grand parents and wanted a relaxing break, we sure got it at Kata Beach, Phuket.

Room Tip: A Villa at the resort our upstairs as you can leave your double doors wide open at night to capture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service
I booked three nights at this resort. This resort was a nightmare for us. We booked car service to and from the hotel. The morning of our departure, the front desk did not have us down as having requested car service to take us back to the airport (event though I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival our flight itinerary requesting round trip car service as well as confirming with the front desk the day before our departure). They were able to find a driver to take us to the airport, however, they asked us to pay the driver in cash, however, all we had was a credit card. After an hour of back and forth with the front desk, the finally accepted our credit card. It seemed as though the resort just wanted to get rid of us, however, really didn't care how we got to the airport. We were so worried that we would miss our flight, thankfully my wife and I barely made it to our gate on time...This hotel definitely put a lot of stress on my wife and I the morning of our departure, which put a bad taste in our mouth ever wanting to return to Phuket...

Room
We stayed in the pool villa. The room they gave us was dirty on arrival- both the towels and bed sheets were stained. When we called to ask for our room to be remade, they never showed up. Later that evening we called the front desk for new towels, and said they ran out...

This resort might seem like a "great deal", however, beware of their terrible service and dirty rooms.

I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel with good service, look for anothe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Metadee is a beautiful resort. Location wise, you couldn’t really ask for more. Me and my husband stayed there for 4 nights and had a great time. We liked the fact that it wasn’t in the centre of Patong, so that you could actually get some peace and quiet in the evenings. We had one of the pool access villas which we both were happy with. Nicely decorated and only metres away from the pool! Nice and clean bathroom. (Breakfast was delicious, but apart from that and a few drinks by the pool we didn’t try any food at the resort). Drinks were ridiculously expensive though… but I guess that’s pretty common in Asian resorts. Lovely staff at the resort – big thanks to everyone (I’m terrible with names, sorry!) for making our stay so memorable.

I would consider the same resort if I ever return to Phuket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This has been my sixth trip to Phuket since 2007. I have stayed in patong, Karon and Kata. I have come to expect a certain standard when staying in 4 and 5 star hotels in these areas and other parts of the world. The Metadee promises to deliver this on their web site and other trip adviser reviews but I can confidently say this are far from true.

When you arrive at most Thai hotels you recieve a warm greeting staff fussing over you,a welcome drink and a cool towel. The Metadee resort does none of this. The reception staff seemed to have the attitude any request was to difficult. this made simple requests due to house keepings negligence a nightmare to correct. For example fresh towels were not left in the room after it was made up, we rang to request them and were informed wait time was only 5 min... after an hour we asked again and were told 'we know you want them, you will have to wait.' The same routine was employed for three days.

Room service food was terrible. My partner fell ill from eating it, she was out of action for four days.

Some staff were amazing but sadly the majority ruined the Metadee resort experience for us. I am checking out as I write this and for the first time can't wait to leave Thailand and return home.
Metadee Resort Kata, 0 stars!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived late after midnight by a late flight. There was no welcoming drink, towels nor whatsoever. The staff seemed not to understand one of the room of two rooms we booked through hotel.com should accommodate 3, even with the vouchers available for him. We paid extra money for the extra bed already but he still gave us a room which only had two beds (and we actually arrived in 3). The buggy service man who brought us to the room helped us call the front desk again and told us to wait. Later the front desk called again, saying that I only reserved a room for two persons and hotel.com did not give them money for the third person. And he told me to show him again my vouchers after breakfast tomorrow (so that he can sleep now??) Up to this point, my impression on this hotel had totally been ruined. Not only did the front desk staff check us in the wrong room, but also want to avoid responsibilities with a poor attitude. Incredibly, after 2 mins he called back again, saying that we were in a wrong room without apology. We were given a new keycard and then led by the buggy service man to the "right room" with 3 beds and 3 sets of everything. It was already 3 am by then.

To be fair, this is the only staff member of the hotel who I really found problematic. Other staff members were helpful and friendly. We booked pool view rooms. The rooms are just okay, with linens which are old and ants in the bathroom. The swimming pool looks nice but it needs more frequent cleaning as there were many insects floating on the surface. Breakfast.. On the first day we had milk which was spoiled. Overall, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone. To me, this is at most a 3 star hotel.

If you have to check in late and booked multiple rooms with a difference in the number of beds, make sure you have the confirmation emails with you. Be prepared to explain your bookings! Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon | A Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metadee Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.