We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistency of treatment @Metadee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metadee Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Metadee Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Metadee Resort and Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Tateyama, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Inconsistency of treatment @Metadee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 4 days at Metatdee Resort. However, we need to request for a welcome drink to 2 different staff before we get a rest & drink. Also, we requested specificially for a connecting room months before we booked. However, they gave us different rooms with another in between. Only after arranging for days that we manage to get adjouning room on the last day! Staff in the restuarant were not very polite. The only words they spoke to us was to get our room number! No greetings or smiles whatsoever... Rooms had several lizards, ants & even a wasp. It was kinda frustrating to ignore those pests daily.

On the good side, bathroom was spacious and modern. Swimming pool was definitely a plus factor. Loved to swim and laze around the quiet & beautiful pool in the day.

Overall, service was mediocre but the pool facility was great. Might not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    287
    75
    20
    13
See reviews for
187
552
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Metadee for 9 night from July 7th 2013. We were 2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 & 14 and we had 2 rooms. Metadee is a stunning resort. The pictures on the website are exactly how it is when you arrive. We had a pool access room and it was beautiful. HUGE bathroom and HUGE living area. More than enough room for 2. The resort was at 95% capacity but we didn't feel crowded at all. The pool is nothing short of sensational. My girls spent every moment possible in it !!! The staff cannot do enough for you. Always smiling and happy to help. I had a massage at the Spa and my mum had a facial both of which were fantastic. Yes it's more expensive than out on the street but it's also alot more professional and lets be honest, $25 AUD is nothing to pay for a magnificent 1 hour massage in a beautiful spa. The breakfast had more than enough choice, loved the egg station !!! We had many meals at the resort restaurant and they were all outstanding. There are several restaurants nearby. You can get the golf buggy to the main road and go left or right and will find plenty of shopping and restaurants however we didn't try any of the restaurants. The beach is an easy flat 10 minute walk with plenty of shopping along the way. If you want a tuk tuk they are plentiful on the main road but the minimum cost in Phuket for these is $200 baht so even if you are only going 3 or 4 blocks that's what you will pay. Also worth nothing the resort has 4 of it's own taxi drivers. We used Mr Addy and Mr Chicken on several occasions and both were great drivers and very professional. Patong Beach is around a 15 minute drive, Phuket town about 25. We did check the cost of going to both of these places in a tuk tuk only to find it was the same price as the resort taxi's (400 baht to Patong & 500 baht to Phuket Town). Given the taxis are much better drivers, air conditioned and more comfortable that was the choice we opted for !!! If you need supplies for the room go to the 7 eleven which is heaps cheaper than the mini mart. To get to the 7 eleven grab the golf buggy to the end of the driveway and turn right. It's just up past FINDIG which I might add is an fantastic store. It looks expensive but don't be fooled. It has a bargain basement which has every souvenir you could ever want on sale plus some amazing shoes and leather goods !!! Also recommend "First Massage & beauty" which is also near the 7 eleven. The ladies here were amazing and we went there several times to have nails and hair done. One more shopping tip if you have teenage girls is a place called "EXPO" in Phuket Town. Its a HUGE airconditioned market which sells mostly girls/ladies wear, shoes, jewellery ect. Seriously there is nothing you can't find here and its cheap cheap cheap. My daughter bought a dress for her graduation for $5.80 AUD !!! Kata Beach is not near as busy as Patong bearing in mind we were there in the low season so I would assume it would be alot busier in the high season.
Overall we had a fantastic 9 night stay at Metadee and should we return to Phuket in future would not hesitate to stay here again.
Thankyou so much to all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Our rooms were closest to the restaurant (5201 & 5202) There was music into the evening which d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here and totally love the direct pool access. We got a room right at the end of the pool (away from the restaurant), which means we had that part of the pool mostly to ourselves. And the best part about the pool: it was heated and perfect for our baby to swim in.

Staff were very friendly and always ready to give you a ride to and fro the main road or even from the resort entrance right to your room.

Location of the resort is good as well. Cafes, restaurants, shops and mini-marts are all just outside the resort. If you are looking for tidbits, drinks or snacks though, walk a bit more down (about 5 mins) the road to 7-eleven. Stuff there are so much cheaper than the mini-mart right outside the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We travelled from China with two small kids to have a week in Thailand with family visiting from Australia. We were upgraded from a pool villa to a private pool villa, while the rest of the family were stuck with their pool villas.

The pool entry rooms were excellent and the private pool villa was superb.

I can't say enough about this resort.

It was small and quiet away from the bars and restaurants which was fine for us
there was a buggy you could catch down to the main street and they would even pick you up when you came back.
The buses to the beach every hour were excellent because it was hot when we were there.
Lots of restaurants and massage places near by
An excellent pool (from the pool entry villas the kids swam up for breakfast most mornings)
The food at the resort was great, as long as you chose the Thai options.
Breakfast was excellent, there was the number of options that other larger resorts have but the quality was superb.
The staff were very friendly and every day the manager would come up and say hello at breakfast and ask what we have been up to. It might have helped that we had two babies and three little girls under the age of 7 with us.

We would go back to this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hi just had 3 nights at metadee resort .We booked a pool room good to get out of bed 4 steps and in pool breakfast not good drinks dont buy there not going back could do with a make over staff helpfuff easy check in and out . The golf cart to get up to the main street and bag a good one good staff always happy to help us . yours swans 05

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a long over due review. We stayed at Metadee back in December 2012 for four nights. We got upgraded to a swim up pool and it was like having our own private pool. The location of the hotel is great since there were many restaurants nearby. We ate at the Café Opera three times we were there! A must go if you staying in the area! We only ate breakfast at the hotel since it came with the package. Food outside the hotel is much cheaper. The rooms were very spacious and service was good. We did however find a caterpillar in our bathroom one night and other bugs. We did have one incident, on the last day, the taxi service was charging too much for transfers to the airport. They wouldn't allow us to use an outside taxi service and kept us waiting in the lobby while they kept saying another car will pick us up. Finally we got fed up and just got our own taxi up the street for much cheaper. I wouldn't recommend using your taxi service since they overcharge for their services. We did have a good stay up until the day we were leaving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent three nights at Metadee Resort. My friend and I were greeted warmly on arrival with a welcome drink and cabbied to our room. The resort is very beautiful - the pool is clean and a sight to behold in the mornings, the restaurant serves all manner of food (and staff are very happy to pack a breakfast for you if you have to leave for a day tour), and there are always taxi drivers and staff near the lobby if you need transportation to Patong or elsewhere. In terms of improvement, it was sometimes difficult to communicate with the staff who, while very nice and accommodating, weren't always English proficient. This made it harder to get recommendations regarding things to do, places to visit, etc. The restaurant is also quite expensive (relative to Phuket restaurant standards), and you can get much the same standard of food for less if you venture out. Nonetheless, very comfortable resort with lots of privacy.

Room Tip: The pool access room was great because it was on the ground floor (no stairs to climb!), and close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metadee Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.