We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice in Kata Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metadee Resort and Villas

Save Saved
You added Metadee Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   66 Kata Road, T Karon | A Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good choice in Kata Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here in June for 1 week (couple with 2 year old daughter) in a pool access room. This room was perfect as it allowed us to jump straight into the water without having to pack up a bag and walk to the swimming pool. The pool itself is huge and stunning with a main section by the restaurant/bar which then meanders around the resort. It was very clean considering all the downpours we had) and maintained at a lovely temperature.
The hotel is set back from the main road up a fairly long drive/entrance road. Hotel staff will happily ferry you up and down that road whenever you want in a golf buggy and it is actually nice to be away from the noisy main street.
There is a laundry and massage place at the bottom of this road, and then the restaurants/convenience stores of the main road are a short walk.
The hotel restaurant food was of a good quality but of course you are paying hotel prices so expect it to be more expensive. Breakfast offering was very good and superior to other hotels we have stayed at in Thailand.
Rooms were large and clean, and included a small sofa which we turned around and our daughter used as her bed. We had a port-a-cot with us, but she preferred this option! Maid service seemed to vary from day to day in term of timing, sometimes whist we were at breakfast, other days not until 3pm.
There is a kids room which is quite a good option when a rainy day. It's fairly well stocked and enough to keep them entertained for a couple of hours.
The Wi-Fi was not very good at all which was disappointing. The first couple of days seemed to work (albeit intermittently) but after that we could only get service when near reception. I think they were implementing some kind of new system so that could explain it.
Overall, I am pleased we chose to stay at the Metadee and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    515
    266
    72
    18
    13
See reviews for
174
517
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in the private pool villa which was fantastic inside but the garden is not perfect. The pool is a little too small to swim in and the sun loungers only get the sun for a couple of hours in the morning. Inside is lovely though; a nice bed, a huge couch, a big bath. It's all nicely decorated as well.

The resort is stunningly beautiful and is like walking/swimming around a rainforest. One downside to this is that you'll see a few creatures. Two lizards and a frog managed to find their way inside our room somehow despite keeping the door closed constantly (maybe the maid left it open) so you'll have to get good at the glass and paper trick to take them outside again.

All the staff here were friendly and smile and say hello to you as you walk around. Jen on reception gets a special mention for all the help she gave us in booking a boat trip out and a spa package, she really went beyond expectations. Day, the man who showed us to our room and drove the buggies to the main road was also very friendly and helpful.

This was my first experience at a massage spa so I can't compare it but it was very enjoyable. We booked the honeymoon sensation package which was buy one get one free and I felt we got a lot for the money.

The free minibar and fruit plate is a nice touch (though quite common in Thai hotels) if you like soft drinks, but I would like a bit more water to deal with the Thai heat. Also, the maid never puts the water in the fridge for some reason, it would be nice to be able to have refreshing cold water when you return home.

Criticisms:
The bar is very expensive, more than double the price of bars outside the resort. They have a happy hour which is 50% off but when it came to paying the bill when we checked out they said I had to pay full price even after I pointed out the time on the receipt. I felt a bit scammed by this and I'm glad I only had one drink but I wasn't going to spend more than 5 minutes arguing over 70 baht with a girl who didn't understand English that well (I've forgotten her name).

There is no way to keep the electricity on in the room while you are out. This is a minor inconvenience if you want to charge something but it can be a huge annoyance as the mosquito repellants are electric. This means there will almost always be mozzies in the room when you get back for the first couple of hours.

The wifi is a little annoying to use. You have to log in every time you want to go online, sometimes more often when the connection drops. The username and password are quite difficult to remember so write them down in case you lose the tiny piece of paper they give you.

There is no way to lock the gate into your private garden while you're out, reception wouldn't give us the key.

Breakfast doesn't have a lot of choice and people are allowed to smoke inside. The quality of all the food and drinks is good though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I enjoyed my experience at Metadee Resort and Villas. I stayed for 5 nights. The service there was great especially the cafe staff which were friendly and nice. The location is pretty good and my wife and I went to do massage at the end of the street next to hotel everyday. There are a lot of shops nearby so it is very convenient. Overall, the hotel was excellent. I'd recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 13 nights at Metadee Resort and loved the friendliness of all staff. Pool was lovely, food very nice and service was great. Location was very good away from busy streets, so was very quiet. If you are looking for peace and quiet and good service I would recommend the Metadee. Thank you Boy, Mhee, Sabastian and Ball for your great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staff:
+ Very friendly. Had trouble with the safe deposit box twice, and they were prompt with the assistance.
+ Check-in and out was reasonably prompt.
+ Restaurant staff were warm and friendly.

Facilities:
+ Pleased with the tub in the toilet to soak in (but no real bath foam to use).
+ Jacuzzi in the swimming pool was also a nice addition.
+ Rooms are equipped with some sort of rattan-woven bag with beach towels inside, which would come in handy for the beach or pool.
+ Their swimming pool is the main draw as it snakes around the rooms, so it is huge and fun to use.
+ Breakfast had a good selection, and they changed a fair number of dishes on my 2nd and final visit.
- However the wifi connection was bad, had to reconnect frequently, and I hardly managed to get stable wifi from my room.
- The glass sliding door would slide to close either the cubicle compartment or the shower compartment, and sometimes does not hold in position. Instead it would slide to the centre, partially covering both compartments instead, so just take a little caution during showering to avoid flooding the floor.
+/- There is a taxi service booth just outside the reception. While taxes fares to kata noi beach were at market rate (200 baht), it was quite pricey to the hotel (1200 baht). To be fair, the vehicle used is a 10 or 12 seater mini-van which could explain the higher cost.

Cleanliness:
+ Room was clean.
- Twigs and leaves do fall into the swimming pool because there is vegetation all around the pool. However I saw staff working to clear them on both days that I swam, which mitigates the problem.

Comfort:
+ Spacious rooms, large toilet, comfortable bed.
+ Fruit platter is given upon arrival.
- However there are some minor issues. The pillows had a smell similar to when damp clothing that is not aired well (could be the case for just my room).
+/- Yes, there may be some mosquitoes in the room in this part of the world, but I had no issues at night. Probably wise to take precaution not to leave the balcony or main door open for unnecessarily long.

Location:
+ The beach is walking distance, but you have to follow the road instead of being able to walk a straight line to the beach (due to a concrete wall blocking the way) so it takes a while longer.
+ They provide free shuttle transport to the beach on an hourly basis.
+/- Would have to walk 100-200m to reach the main road from the hotel entrance, but that also gives it a very private and quiet feel. Do note that they provide free transport to the main road for this in the form of golf buggies.
+/- Kata beach area was very much more quiet (in June 2013), so I enjoyed the peacefulness, but for the rest don't expect too much of a party life there.

Room Tip: Deluxe double room with pool views would be on the second level, while deluxe double rooms with pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. From the beautifully appointed room with access directly to the swimming pool, the friendly staff, wonderful breakfast spread, great cocktails at the pool bar ... we just couldn't fault it. Set off the main road in Kata, so its peaceful with well planted gardens to ensure privacy and tranquillity. Walking distance to shops, beach, bars & restaurants, although the hotel provides golf cart to the end of the driveway if you desire, or a shuttle down to the beach (we liked to walk though). Would definitely stay again. Pool access room was great, although I'm sure a room without it would be just as fine.

Room Tip: Pool access for a bit of a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The moment you enter the resort's premises, you will feel you were taken away from the busy everyday Phuket life and into the resort's garden resort. After a quick check-in, we were carried by a golf buggy to our Pool View room. The scent, the serenity and the inviting atmosphere of the room made us feel we want to stay there for a long time.

Checkin/out: Fast checkin. Not so fast checkout as they will really have to check if you used any items in your room rather than take your word for it, as they do in some hotels.

Room: Clean and comfy bed and bathroom. Bathtub, toilet and shower are all separated. Mosquito net available but we felt we didn't need it as we never experienced any mozzies in the second floor, but used it nonetheless. Usual free toothbrush, toothpastes, earbuds, and haircaps. Don't touch the mosquito lotion, thought. You will be charged 250 Baht for it.

Room stuff: Great that they provided a beach basket to go with your beach towels. Bring your own razor/shaver. The one the provided is hardly sharp enough. Shampoos and liquid soaps are provided in refillable pump containers.

Pool: As seen from their websites, it's the highlight of your stay. It snakes around the premises, surrounded by the Pool View rooms and Villas. It's cold and deeper at the area near the restaurant and sun loungers, and warm at the other end where the water falls are.

Amenities: A buggy service to take you to the street corner anytime (24 by 7). If you need to go back, just use the phone in that same corner to pick you up. Excellent if you have bags of groceries to bring to your room. Otherwise, a nice 5 minute walk is not bad at all. For a trip to the beach, a free shuttle service is provided every hour from 8AM to 5PM one way. It's not a long walk anyway if you miss the service.

Food: Breakfast: Nice mix of Thai and Western. It gets tired, though, if you're staying more than 2 nights. We haven't tried foods at the bar or their own restaurants for lunch and dinner.

Location: Excellent as it is far enough from buzzing motorcycles from the street. Walk around to see restaurants, shops, spas, and travel agents. You'll surely will see them on your way back to your hotel from your visit to the Kata beach. You will never run out of options.

Room Tip: Pool View rooms at the second floor are good if you want more privacy. We can always open the curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon | A Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metadee Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.