We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it appears !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metadee Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Metadee Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Metadee Resort and Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as good as it appears !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently stayed in this resort for 4 nt/5 days ( 27th Oct-31st) and to be frank my experience has not been so good. Its a decent place but it is not as good as it appears in the websites and reviews.Me and my fiancee had booked a Deluxe pool access villa almost 3 months in advance and when we checked into the room ( 5112) ,to our utter surprise we found that two beds have been joined together and there were no bed posts and mosquito nets, as portrayed in their room description, I managed to glance into the adjoining rooms , they were all with bed posts and mosquito nets .I chose to ignore as it dint matter to me much ,but I would like to mention this for the benefit of the readers .Next issue was internet , they claim to be having Hi Speed internet all over the resort , but over the 5 days we stayed I found it difficult to browse continuously for 5 minutes at a stretch ,I cannot confirm whether its the same state all over the resort but in the breakfast area and our room it was impossible to stay connected for more than 2 min.We complained to the front desk since the first day but it was not taken care off.another issue which irked me is that this resort charges you for ice bucket which is really not the norm in SE Asia or else where I travel frequently ,I travel at least twice a year on vacation all across Asia for the last 5 years but never have I encountered such a thing .Coming to the rooms ,it was tired and gloomy looking ,the wooden floor was old and had marks all around ( dont go by the website picture) ,sunlight doesn't enter the room as its covered with trees and plants , lots of ants in the loo and we were lucky to find a cockroach in the room on the penultimate day.Breakfast was average but the egg station chef could have been better with some responsive smile when spoken to.He was dead serious as if he was making an omlette with a gun pointed at his head .The reception was very small area, with 2 tables an few chairs, most of the staff were smiling but their comprehension of English is below average barring one or two .The buggy service to the main road is quite good , walking distance to the beach is about 1.5 KM and leisurely stroll will take around 12-15 min. Overall, to us its just an average resort, I had gone with lot of expectations after reading the reviews but in reality was totally disappointed.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before you step in specially for the Dlx pool access room and avoid room 5112
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    287
    75
    20
    13
See reviews for
187
552
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved it. Could not have asked for anything better.
From check in we felt welcome and comfortable. We were shown to our rooms and the keys that they had provided for us didnt work. They apologised many times and we got into our room. We had a pool access room, and was surprised at the size of the room - especially the bathroom.
We had a disaster bag mix up at the airport and the hotel did everything they could to help with getting it sorted out. Within one hour the hotel had spoken to the airline, organised a taxi to swap the bags over and sorted it all out. Amazing service.
The hotel itself is in a quieter part of Phuket, but we liked it this way. We spent one night up in Patong area and was glad to get back to the Metadee. It was better shopping experience, lovely early morning walks along the empty wide beaches. Everything seemed to be much more my pace down there.
The hotel is set back a far way from the main road, but we never had trouble catching the on call golf buggy service.
The couple of inconvenient things: We only ate lunch and breakfast there...the food was ok. Edible, tasty, everyday, but had we been there for a long stay I might have been going elsewhere for breakfast. It was just the same thing everyday, no mixing it up....
Our room was right up the end of the hotel. And right next to a water-fall wall. During the day it was lovely - at night not so much. I am a light sleeper so found it a bit loud - but being a light sleeper I dont make mountains out of molehills and got myself some ear plugs. Just to make others aware :)
We loved this hotel. We would return again in a hearbeat should we ever go back to Phuket!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husaband and I spent a considerable amount of time trawling through accomadation and Metadee was the winner. The service was immaculate from the begging to end- could not fault it at all we felt like royals. We had a pool acess room, We were not as impressed with the room as we were service. Room smelt extremely musty- It would almost make me gag as i walked in and it did not get any better. My husband had to hose down the toilet when we arrived as the urine that had mangaed to make its way into the toilet seat lid joints was potent and foul, it smelt the bathroom out, satff need to take more care here and perhaps pull toilets apart for a good clean. Apart from these TWO issues we loved our stay. Great location, great pool, great service, great brekkie and one GREAT honeymoon :-) ps- be aware, the thai massgae down the alley way to Metadee is extremley brutal and violent!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned after staying 12 nights at the Metadee, and what a fabulous time we had. We had a private pool villa which was great and big enough for the three of us. Having the private pool was great for our three year old who could swim when ever he wanted and allowed us to relax and warch him while still in our room. The main pool is great too, as we swam there in the late afternoon as it was warmer.
Being off the road is great as the resort is so quiet. The buggy service is excellent and can't give enough praise to Ko, Vorn and Dun who looked after us and especially our three year old, who is still talking about them!!
The breakfast was great, although not as much variety as bigger resorts, but offered everything we wanted.
We used the fitness room a few times, but gets quite hot - so make sure you put the air conditioning on!
The only issue we had was a decking board broke when I stood on it, and i fell through it cutting my leg, but they fixed it straight away and the house keeping and maintenance service were excellent.
Thanks Metadee Resort we will be sure to return next year.......and again a big thankyou to Ko, Vorn and Dun for making the buggy service our sons holiday highlight:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Metadee for four nights in a Pool Access Room. The room was fantastic, clean and spacious. With everything you needed for a relaxing stay. The Metadees pool is fantastic and it was lovely to walk two steps out your door for a cool down swim. All the staff are friendly and cheerful and speak English well. It is the restaurant staff though, in particular one waiter who made our stay a breath of fresh air. My husband is highly allergic to peanuts which can make eating in places like Thailand very dangerous. We always travel with a translation card, however in our 4 day stay we only had to show this once. Every time we came back the staff recognized us and all the wait staff had been briefed what he could and could not eat. We were very impressed. We don't even receive that sort of service back home at restaurants we regularly dine at. It made our stay all the more relaxing. If you stay definitely eat at the restaurant, the food is delicious with a huge Thai and Western Menu. We will certainly be recommending to friends and family and look forward to returning ourselves soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the Metadee Resort near Kata Beach, Phuket, Thailand, in October 2012. The staff and the hotel were outstanding! Would diffently recommend this hotel and wil diffently stay there again. If, stayoing in Phuket, there are three main beaches, Patong (the largest beach), Karon and Kata (the smallest beach). For those individuals looking for large beaches, night life and partying Kata beach is not for you. If, you are looking for a more relax beach for older adults and family, then Kata beach is better. The only disadvantage to the hotel it is not on the beach and takes 10-15 minutes to walk to beach. The hotel does offer a free ride to the beach hourly. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly! The breakfast buffet was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Metadee for 3 nights in October 2012. We booked a pool access room and were not disappointed. It was lovely to be able to slip into the pool to cool off from the heat. Staff service was great & my fiancee recommends their spa treatments as the best she has ever experienced. I would certainly recommend the Metadee for a great stay in Kata.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metadee Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.