We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Service Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Romantica Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chanalai Romantica Resort to your Saves list
Chanalai Romantica Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Self Service Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is quite ok,location is in more or less in center of everything.Coustumer service not exist in this hotel.Receptionist are more bothering having their food in pantry back area than serving guests.Last night on departure we order wake up call,which never happened..when we went to c/o we found guy sleeping in lobby,he didn't even bother to apologize,instead of that he kept our airport car until he didn't personally check did we had any consumption from mini bar.Breakfast stuff is everything,but not polite...I do understand that they don't speak English but smile,which is part of Thai culture is not on their list as well.We spent whole morning trying to explain that we want egg white omlette..didn't work as well.We had leakage in room,which was fixed in reasonable time but workers were more interested steering at us than doing their job.Hillarious!Considering that this hotel is not cheap for Thailand standards I will not recommend anyone to stay here,unless you wish frustrated vacation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    86
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
25
114
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burrill Lake, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel, got a really cheap rate on agoda. The rooms were large with nice bathrooms, rooms were very clean. The layout of the pool is unique and so good to cool off. Great position in Kata as well.
Returning for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and 5 days with family (2 adults and 2 kids) and booked the hotel thru agoda.com. I took the deluxe room with direct pool access room with breakfast and it costed me just Rs. 17000 (indian) which is even cheaper than hotels of this quality in India. the pool was great but surprisingly had salty water in it. the room aahhhh its was a villa inside and beautifully done with larger bed room, big TV cabinet with DVD player, Tea coffee maker, bath area with bath tub and basin separately installed out side and shower room separate. Free wifi and very friendly staff ( staff was less in number though). its right on kata -karon road so you have good transportation options available. good near by resturants, ATMs, Exchange counters, seven eleven, Subways etc. Kata beach was just 5 minute walk. mostly inhabited by Russians and malasians, the breakfast was good and served all sorts of food. we were only one indian family but even then they kept one indian dish in the buffet.the hotel is almost 1 hr from air port, 45 minutes from Phuket city and 40 minutes from kamala beach.i will recommend this hotel for solo travellers and also for family travellers

Room Tip: take pool access room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and also for this review. It will help us a lot to improve our service and facilities for our beloved guests and to our incoming guests. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found our stay in this hotel to be a near faultless one! The location is excellent and is easily accessible to shops, bars and restaurants and also Kata beach! Also one of the closer hotels to Karon if you fancy a nice walk!

The room was large with TV, Aircon, DVD player and satellite channels! The room was very clean and modern and quite frankly very impressive for the price you are paying! Balcony was also a very nice size!

The pool was large however the pool bar looked a bit abandoned and wasn't in use!

Only negatives about this hotel were the fairly unhelpful reception staff! After extending our stay we were pestered by the staff as to why we were not checking out making our decision to ask for a receipt very important! Our TV also broke halfway through our stay and despite numerous attempts to get it fixed I felt as tho they couldn't be bothered to help so we didn't persist with this. It did leave us without a tv for 3 days which was quite annoying!

All in all for the price you pay for this hotel I think it was excellent value for money and although not perfect I would certainly consider staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Chris,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and also for this review. It will help us a lot to improve our service and facilities for our beloved guests and to our incoming guests. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed in the hotel from 20 to 23 Jun 13 as a couple.

Summary of the Hotel:

Pros:
1) The location of the hotel is good. Located among the local shops and restaurants and within walking distance. Kata Beach is also within walking distance.

2) The room was large. I got a room with pool access and very much like the pool. We spend quite some time using this facility.

Cons:
1) Cleanliness of the room could be better. The floor of the room was sticky and basically we were with our footwear in the room all the time. Saw and killed two cockroaches during our stay.

2) WIFI was also non-existence in the room even though it is stated that the hotel provided free WIFI. Had to sit at certain spot in the room to access that pathetic one bar of signal for the WIFI and kept disconnecting. Only existence of WIFI was at the reception and breakfast area.

3) Breakfast was open air. Wondering if the birds did help themselves with the food though most of the trays were covered. Hygiene is an issue. Food for the breakfast was bland and tasteless, variety was too little. I usually quite a heavy breakfast in the hotel when i travel, but i ate less than half i usually eat.

Overall it is an good hotel but i believe the better days are over and need to buck up on their maintenance of the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
styrx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at this hotel during the low season in June and these are our honest observations:

Pros:
-Good location
-Big room with balcony overlooking the pool
-Nice pool about 40m
-hardworking chambermaid

Cons:
-lazy breakfast staffs that don't bother to clear plates. But rather seat at the counter and do nothing.
-No WiFi in room, the only router is by the reception so you need to use it from the balcony or at the pool area.
-pool bar is a rusty white elephant
-it's not a couple resort when there are families with kids. They need to update their website!
- the hotel is showing wear and tear but seems like the management is not doing anything to improve it.




  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location:
The resort is located just a 5 minutes walk away from Kata beach and you'll be able to find many eateries and shops along the way. Compared to many accommodations around the area, I would say that the location is excellent because ClubMed Phuket, which is currently being constructed, has blocked direct access to the beach for most of the other resorts along the road. Tropical Resort is relatively near the side of the construction, so just a 5 minutes walk to the beach will do and you don't have to make that big of a detour to the beach. Eateries nearby include Thai food and Western food. There are many massage parlours and small shops too.

Food:

Breakfast was fairly decent.. really fluffy pancakes! Only concern I had was that since it is an open air restaurant, birds kept flying in to prey on the food. Although the staff keep the food covered at all times,(except the salad) the birds would peck on the residues of the serving spoons which were not covered! I did see a staff changing the serving spoons after that happened, although I'm not too sure how frequently they did that.
As we had an early flight to catch before breakfast was served, the staff helped us to pack a breakfast box to go. So, you can request them to do so if you're going to miss your breakfast.

Cleanliness:

I thought cleanliness could be improved. The floor of the room was very sticky, as though it had not been mopped properly. Other than that, the room was maintained daily.

Staff service:

Staff were helpful and could speak English.

Room:

Huge! Nice decor... bathroom is an open concept. Good air-conditioning.

Overall:
Hotel lift broke down a couple of times we were there.
Wifi was relatively weak, but free.
Cable TV was bad, probably because of the bad weather affecting the power supply. There was a power failure due to the heavy rain.
Toilet flushing system was weak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Owner at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanalai Romantica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Romantica Resort

Address: 62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanalai Romantica Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely" Tropical Resort, a luxurious elegant couple 4-star resort is located in the well-known Kata Beach, Phuket. It is an ideal resort for hideaway retreat. This luxurious resort ideally locates in the centre of the beach town of Kata in less than 10 minutes walk to the beach , Kata shoping Plaza, resatuarnts, banks dotted around the resort. To get to the nearby tourist spots is very easy. 20 minutes to Patong, 10 minutes to Kata View point etc.The couple theme Tropical Resort offers 13 luxurious deluxe pool access, 24 deluxe pool view and 28 superior pool view rooms. The room facilities are great to meet the guest’s need; separated show and bathtub with hot and cold water, LCD TV, DVD player, TV satellite channels, Tea coffee making facilities, bathrobe, full stock minibar, IDD phone, private safety box in room . The resort also provides internet access in room and internet room , a restaurant , a swim-up bar, tour desk, mail service, taxi service and doctor on call 24 hours.The wheel chair can access to the room.Let put your hair down on the tropical island resort with us.a touch of paradise on Kata beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chanalai Romantica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kata Beach
Chanalai Romantica Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanalai Romantica Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.