We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but can be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Romantica Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chanalai Romantica Resort to your Saves list
Chanalai Romantica Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Kata Beach
1 review
“Good hotel but can be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed in the hotel from 20 to 23 Jun 13 as a couple.

Summary of the Hotel:

Pros:
1) The location of the hotel is good. Located among the local shops and restaurants and within walking distance. Kata Beach is also within walking distance.

2) The room was large. I got a room with pool access and very much like the pool. We spend quite some time using this facility.

Cons:
1) Cleanliness of the room could be better. The floor of the room was sticky and basically we were with our footwear in the room all the time. Saw and killed two cockroaches during our stay.

2) WIFI was also non-existence in the room even though it is stated that the hotel provided free WIFI. Had to sit at certain spot in the room to access that pathetic one bar of signal for the WIFI and kept disconnecting. Only existence of WIFI was at the reception and breakfast area.

3) Breakfast was open air. Wondering if the birds did help themselves with the food though most of the trays were covered. Hygiene is an issue. Food for the breakfast was bland and tasteless, variety was too little. I usually quite a heavy breakfast in the hotel when i travel, but i ate less than half i usually eat.

Overall it is an good hotel but i believe the better days are over and need to buck up on their maintenance of the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    72
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
95
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
styrx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at this hotel during the low season in June and these are our honest observations:

Pros:
-Good location
-Big room with balcony overlooking the pool
-Nice pool about 40m
-hardworking chambermaid

Cons:
-lazy breakfast staffs that don't bother to clear plates. But rather seat at the counter and do nothing.
-No WiFi in room, the only router is by the reception so you need to use it from the balcony or at the pool area.
-pool bar is a rusty white elephant
-it's not a couple resort when there are families with kids. They need to update their website!
- the hotel is showing wear and tear but seems like the management is not doing anything to improve it.




  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location:
The resort is located just a 5 minutes walk away from Kata beach and you'll be able to find many eateries and shops along the way. Compared to many accommodations around the area, I would say that the location is excellent because ClubMed Phuket, which is currently being constructed, has blocked direct access to the beach for most of the other resorts along the road. Tropical Resort is relatively near the side of the construction, so just a 5 minutes walk to the beach will do and you don't have to make that big of a detour to the beach. Eateries nearby include Thai food and Western food. There are many massage parlours and small shops too.

Food:

Breakfast was fairly decent.. really fluffy pancakes! Only concern I had was that since it is an open air restaurant, birds kept flying in to prey on the food. Although the staff keep the food covered at all times,(except the salad) the birds would peck on the residues of the serving spoons which were not covered! I did see a staff changing the serving spoons after that happened, although I'm not too sure how frequently they did that.
As we had an early flight to catch before breakfast was served, the staff helped us to pack a breakfast box to go. So, you can request them to do so if you're going to miss your breakfast.

Cleanliness:

I thought cleanliness could be improved. The floor of the room was very sticky, as though it had not been mopped properly. Other than that, the room was maintained daily.

Staff service:

Staff were helpful and could speak English.

Room:

Huge! Nice decor... bathroom is an open concept. Good air-conditioning.

Overall:
Hotel lift broke down a couple of times we were there.
Wifi was relatively weak, but free.
Cable TV was bad, probably because of the bad weather affecting the power supply. There was a power failure due to the heavy rain.
Toilet flushing system was weak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Owner at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really I dont understand why some people write so bad reviews for this nice hotel..
We stayed there before a week..
Here is my review (we are a couple)
=> Excellent location (5 min from beach and the same from restaurants, bars)
=> Excellent value for money (28 euro including breakfast (low season))
=> Nice room amenities (has kettle,tea coffee amenities, erything for bath, umbrellla, sandals and anyway can make your stay comfortable )
=> Nice view and relax big chairs and big balcony from the room.. (All rooms see the pool)
=> Big bed with many selection of pillows and always hot water
=> Excellent big pool.. Almost everyday we were alone
=> Stuff always polite and with smile.
=> The breakfast was ok.. Personally, i cant ask something more, in these money..Selection of eggs, asian and europian breakfast.
=. Sizw of room was extra extra big and cleaned everyday :)

*** THE ONLY PROBLEM (SURE NOT FOR THE HOTEL) IS RUSSIANS..Thai people in Kata speak russian. All the menu are in russian and not in English. And we felt very uncomfortable with this scenario in Kata.. Really unexceptable..
*** Kata beach isnt so cheap in food and drink.. The better option and sure the most delicious is "KATA KARON SEAFOOD", about 400 meter in your right hand, as you exit hotel..
*** Please buy from here beauty things all organic.. In Patong you will not find so excellent shops in this style..

Thanks one more time to this gorgeus hotel :)

Room Tip: We stay in superior.. In the third floor.. All rooms are the same.. Just deluxe is pool access, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

this is a small hotel with a nice room,
first I got a pool access room it was fantastic, it have rain shower and a bath tub in the room
(tell the staff you need a quiet one)
Staffs are friendly but room service quite slow
small car park
close to many store bar

Room Tip: they have spa room but i don't see if they have services, Pool access is a must cannot see fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely hotel really big had bath and shower!2min walk to shops bars and restraunt taxi out side the door or you could book trips to go on.staff very help full had big pool could to swimm in with sun beds around.the hotel could do with some work on it though! Beach not to far away.had very enjoyable week.

Room Tip: If you was on ground floor room you could get to pool from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here (by chance!) when the hotel had just opened in 2009.
Our original hotel had been overbooked, so we were transferred here instead.

Only great things to say about this place! So beautiful! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel and thank you for the compliment. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanalai Romantica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Romantica Resort

Address: 62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanalai Romantica Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely" Tropical Resort, a luxurious elegant couple 4-star resort is located in the well-known Kata Beach, Phuket. It is an ideal resort for hideaway retreat. This luxurious resort ideally locates in the centre of the beach town of Kata in less than 10 minutes walk to the beach , Kata shoping Plaza, resatuarnts, banks dotted around the resort. To get to the nearby tourist spots is very easy. 20 minutes to Patong, 10 minutes to Kata View point etc.The couple theme Tropical Resort offers 13 luxurious deluxe pool access, 24 deluxe pool view and 28 superior pool view rooms. The room facilities are great to meet the guest’s need; separated show and bathtub with hot and cold water, LCD TV, DVD player, TV satellite channels, Tea coffee making facilities, bathrobe, full stock minibar, IDD phone, private safety box in room . The resort also provides internet access in room and internet room , a restaurant , a swim-up bar, tour desk, mail service, taxi service and doctor on call 24 hours.The wheel chair can access to the room.Let put your hair down on the tropical island resort with us.a touch of paradise on Kata beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chanalai Romantica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kata Beach
Chanalai Romantica Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanalai Romantica Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.