We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Romantica Resort

Save Saved
You added Chanalai Romantica Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chanalai Romantica Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Coolangatta, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here (by chance!) when the hotel had just opened in 2009.
Our original hotel had been overbooked, so we were transferred here instead.

Only great things to say about this place! So beautiful! Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel and thank you for the compliment. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
89
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort but it's getting old and it should be renovated. Saying that I can't complain at all. Not far from Kata beach, many shops around. For drinks go to 7/11 which is 2 minutes walking. Breakfast is ok but I was expecting better. I don't know how old this resort is but the management can do better, it's a shame to let down such a great place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying here and have prolonged.

We travel with smallish kids (3 and 6)

Only booked a standard room for 2 adults, but no problem. The standard rooms seem to be up the hilll, thus many stairs, but within one second we were given a room with no stairs to reception and pool.

Old and run down bathroom. Boiling hot water though. Fridge as big as at home, can even make icecubes

Guestbed can sleep 2 which makes the room 4 beds and big enough for a family with luggage and all.

3 pools. One on upper floor for tvose who dwell further up the hill. Pain if the elevators fail, but seeing that we are at downlevel we only heard others talk about that problem. We always got a place at rhe pool no matter what time we arrived.

Breakfast has big variety. We had to cue at times. Very organized though. Did not wait longer than 5 Minutes. Despite many guests buffet was always full and coffee fresh.

Absolutly worth mentioning is the free coffee at reception. I am used to a very high standard of coffee, I live on it. This machine makes some of the best coffee I ever got from a machine. Great latte macchiato. My kids loved the hot choclate it also produces.

Very professional staff. Speak many languages.

Used to be across the street from a lagoon, which is now a construction site. No noise though.

Our room is right at the bottom near the street. Busy street, but still a quiet room. Has a vers big terrase. (50 sqm)

Many shops and restaurants and market within 2 Minutes walk. About 5 minutes down the road to the beach pf Karon. Sandy beach, no sweetwater shower. Water clean. Sand so no snorkeling. Good with kids, little waves.

Laundry not far and 1/3 the price of Hotel.

I think that at EUR 50 to 60 is very good value. Above 80 you should find better, but maybe not at Karon Beach.

We have been to Thailand 3 times because it is easy to travel with kids. Phuket though is overall expensive and quite overcrowded. Feels like in Pattaya here, looking at the beach. Great for Partytime though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Located near Kata beach (5mins walking) and Kata town (10mins wakling), quite a cool place to stay with a pool just in front of your room (room with pool view) makes you want to chill by the pool all the time. Very nice room, super big, with nice bathtub outside from the bathroom, unclucky for me as the flush water was stuck and most the bathroom area get wet..more worst, housekeeping is not working at night!!! but the staff who stay around finally get it clean in the midnight.
Lots of channel to see from others country, but only few is my fav.
For the great resort, I'm expecting to have more varities of choice for the breakfast, but it just a bit better than a basic breakfast which used to have other place.
Staff is very helpful and able to speak English, Wifi is available, but a bit slow as my room is at the end block.
Have a good shooping at day and night market near by, can enjoy life band at few places along the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights just in January 2013. The rooms are big and the bed is somewhat comfy....I really enjoyed Russian TV channel and the pool... but thats about it...
The hotel overall seemed dirty, staff did not speak english and was not helpful at all! THE WI FI WAS NOT WORKING, PLEASE BEWARE IF YOU NEED WI FI DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!
It was very frustrating because both my husband and I needed internet to get some work done in the evenings... plus we paid a little extra for the hotel that had this "perk" and it was unpleasant when it kept on shutting off.. In the hotel guidelines it state that no kids are allowed, although we did see some people staying with kids in the hotel. Room service is cheap and quick, but the quality could be better.

BREAKFAST IS HORRIBLE!!! YOU CAN GET CHEAPER FOOD AT THOUSANDS OF RESTAURANTS SURROUNDING KATA BEACH!

I dont think we will ever return to this hotel...and I wont recommend it to anyone!

ALSO IF YOU ARE BOOKING FROM AGODA - THEY WILL NOT PROVIDE YOU WITH AIRPORT SHUTTLE AS THEY PROMISE! AND YOU WOULD NEED TO PAY $60 FOR THE TAXI UPON ARRIVAL!!!!

Room Tip: I think the room by the pool on the first floor would be nice though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights here in December..got a great rate through Agoda some 50% cheaper than advertised.
Rooms were luxurious and big,decorated very niceley..the bathroom was fantastic it was a large area rather than room with a seperate tub separate shower room and separate toilet room,very luxurious.
Had a large balcony with 2 sunbeds on it overlooking the Pool area which was very nice.
The pool area was slightly small but designed very well with a large jacuzzi incorporated into the design.
Excellent location in Kata just a nice 5 min stroll to the Beach or the centre of Kata with all its restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good day. Thank you for this review. It will help us a lot to improve our service and facilities for our beloved guests and to our incoming guests. We are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room with pool access and We didnt want to go anywhere else. We chilled by the pool most of the time. The hotel is close to beach, night market and its about 10 mins drive to view point and patong.
We will definately stay there next time!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanalai Romantica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Romantica Resort

Address: 62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanalai Romantica Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely" Tropical Resort, a luxurious elegant couple 4-star resort is located in the well-known Kata Beach, Phuket. It is an ideal resort for hideaway retreat. This luxurious resort ideally locates in the centre of the beach town of Kata in less than 10 minutes walk to the beach , Kata shoping Plaza, resatuarnts, banks dotted around the resort. To get to the nearby tourist spots is very easy. 20 minutes to Patong, 10 minutes to Kata View point etc.The couple theme Tropical Resort offers 13 luxurious deluxe pool access, 24 deluxe pool view and 28 superior pool view rooms. The room facilities are great to meet the guest’s need; separated show and bathtub with hot and cold water, LCD TV, DVD player, TV satellite channels, Tea coffee making facilities, bathrobe, full stock minibar, IDD phone, private safety box in room . The resort also provides internet access in room and internet room , a restaurant , a swim-up bar, tour desk, mail service, taxi service and doctor on call 24 hours.The wheel chair can access to the room.Let put your hair down on the tropical island resort with us.a touch of paradise on Kata beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chanalai Romantica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kata Beach
Chanalai Romantica Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanalai Romantica Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.