We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rico's Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Rico's Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Liked this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Kata Beach is very busy but Rico's rooms were off the road and in a very good location, convenient to the beach, shops, restaurants and song thaew. Nice pool, liked our room with good tv channels in English (best of our 2 weeks in Thailand), fridge, daily water bottles, and Room 9 had more space although had a buzzing noise from generators(?). Nearby, there is are small evening foodstalls selling saltcrust fish, bbq pork and chips, with drink stands. A staff member who was very helpful was Ree who called to make sure we managed to secure a boat-ride to Raya Island to our next hotel where the receptionist did not speak English. I would return here!

Room Tip: If you don't mind buzzing noise from AC unit/generator, choose Room 9 as it is larger for the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here April 2013. Was very surprised at the condition of these bungalows as the price was very low. Basic room with plenty of storage for suite cases etc. Very small bathroom with no counter space. Shower worked well. Pool was clean. Safe was in working order. Some front desk staff did not speak english but did find another that could if needed. About a 5 minute walk from Kata Beach. Plenty of dining and entertainment options very close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were booked for two nights but checked out after one. The room was boxy, boring and tired. Blinds were damaged, wardrobe handle broken and the bathroom, though cleaned, looked old and very dated. The bed was hard as nails. All rooms face onto the pool and thus look in to each other so there is no privacy. Limited sun lounges around the pool. Early in the morning a foul smell emanated from the bathroom. We left unshowered and when provided feedback to the receptionsit on check out were told "it was fine yesterday" suggesting we may have been responsible??? The bathroom smelled so bad we didnt even use it! This is a boring, budget, basic hotel, the only thing going for it is it's central location.

Room Tip: Avoid all together and try a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Phuket at the Kata Beach area. Ricos is well located. Right next to the pub street. This is a busy street with a dead end. Lot of knick knack shopping, local flavour and an awesome pancake guy at the head of the road selling stuff from a cart.
The hotel itself is clean and tidy. The pool is good. The bathrooms are also very clean but the fittings can be better.
The beach is a very quick walk away.
We went as a big family and had loads of fun. Did not spend too much time at the hotel. Either it was the pool, the beach or the pubs around the corner.
There is a pharmacy right outside the hotel which was good because we needed some medicinces. It was difficult to communicate as the shop manager did not English too well but after a while of broken english, expressive hands and the works we got what we needed!
If you are driving the parking is away from the hotel. A couple of minutes of walk.
We travelled in December 2010 but don't have option to select that in the links section.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights, because I have stayed there before. The reason we wanted to stay there again, was the pool outside the door.
Well we had confirmation and arrived in the afternoon to find that we had been double booked.
The girl at reception remembered me and knew she was going to have a problem with me when she told me, about the double booking.
I said give us another room she said we no have any more rooms, so I was not happy, she tried to put us in a guest house next door, then another crappy hotel up the road, as we were walking the streets with our suitcases in tow,my daughter who had never been there before was getting upset, thinking we won't be able to find another room, i said we we will be ok, don't worry.
so eventually we found a nice room at the kata sea breeze it was more expensive, and after a lot of hastle the girl at rico's agreed to pay the difference. do yourself a favor stay at another hotel and pay a little more.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, find one in another hotel,
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanah Merah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Although lacking Thai charm, these bungalows are clean and well located. The pool is clean and the staff are friendly. Beds are pretty decent too for this price range.

They arranged an early morning taxi and nothing was too much trouble. Walk to eat- street. Bit noisy as its very central.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

1) Place
Plase is OK, 5 minutes walk to the beach, bars and restaurants are close.
2) Stuff
I'did not likt the stuff on this hotel. man on reception does not speak English, and girl on reception was not so polite. We asked so simple questions (where can we rent a bike, or how to get to the nearest 7-11) but she could give us any answer.
ATTENTION! There are robberies in this hotel. 200$ was stolen. It was on our bag on a secret pocket, so somebody looking for something in our bag.
3) Room
All furniture is old, lamps did not work.
4) Swimming pool.
It's OK, but tile at the bottom was broken and our friend crashed his leg.

I won't come this place again. It's better to pay more money and book a good place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rico's Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.