We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Phuket for backpackers and mid-range travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa e Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa e Mare to your Saves list
Casa e Mare
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Phuket for backpackers and mid-range travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Casa e Mare has probably the best value for money in Phuket. The rooms have budget prices (400 to 600 baths) but great amenities: Western bathroom (including a separate shower and free shampoo and shower gel), satellite TV, AC, comfortable bed...
Location is good, with two beaches within walking distance (10-15 minutes) and another one quite close too.
The hotel also has an Italian restaurant (great espresso!) and sells gelatto.
We will definitely go back if we can.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
30
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Nice hotel, well decorated, large rooms. Hot shower (with glass doors- unusual in Thailand), A/C, free wifi. No free bottled water, or free hot drinking water in the hotel, or free breakfast (things that many other hotels in Thailand do provide) Owner willing to bargain for a good rate. Easy walk into town and beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Room was very good, staff was resonsive, Good rates on bikes, got me a taxi to airport very early,
Had a great time in Phuket,
Will stay here again next yr

Great Stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews and photos from the other traveler but they are definitely not what we experienced. (please see my photos)

Location:
Good: not a long walk to Kata Beach
Bad: No one knows where it is. We took the airport bus which dropped us off at the wrong location, we dragged our luggages and couldn't find the place. Couldn't find a tuktuk that would stop. Managed to make a phone call answered by a Thai lady who doesn't speak much English, finally the lady of a massage place next to the phone booth helped told her where we were and she said she would come. A Thai lady showed up on a bike with an Italian who didn't talk nor look at us. She tried to waive a couple of tuktuk to no avail then finally got one who wanted to charge us more than what we paid from for the airport bus. Then she said she got to go and drew us a "map" then left! We walked 2 blocks in the heat and finally found a tuktuk that would take us. He couldn't find the place neither and phoned 3 times but no answer, this was 4pm, no one answered at the hotel??? Finally asked at least 5 people and found the place. The owners came out and greeted us, we told them no one answered the phone, they just shrugged their shoulders and conveniently like they don't speak much English (mind that I don't judge people by their fluency of English as it is my second language too). So remember it is hard to find, they will charge you 1000 baht for pick up but taxi will cost only 750.

Room:
Really small, our windows open up to windows of another building, definitely not what the photos show. And when you make reservation there is no different grade of rooms to choose from. Bed is big as other review but it took up the whole width of the room. There is no shower curtain nor doors so when you take a shower, the whole bathroom/toiler get wet.

Service:
Not much to mention about, we were always the one to say hello first. It is a gathering place for Italian, we often walked by and the staff or owners were always talking among themselves and didn't even acknowledge we were there. They have a firm policy that if you don't let them clean the room by 2pm it would not be cleaned that day. As for security, we were told to put our keys in a key box behind the office desk which marked "Staff Only" and picked it up when we returned, if we could do that so did anyone else!! No one checked whether we were taking the right key.

While this place is a short walk to the beach the surroundings is not very appealing (see photos) There are much better place to stay than this, even next door, the Kata Lucky Villa seems like a decent place and more secure. We arranged a taxi from the laundry lady across the street for 800 baht rather than pay 1000 from the hotel, after all they never asked if we need transport or anything to that matter.

Definitely will not go back and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

An excellent hotel I stayed in recently in Kata Beach Phuket was the " Casa e Mare Hotel " this was an Italian owed hotel, run by Terry and his partner, both were extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel is approximately one year old so is very modern and clean , the rooms have excellent large beds, Cable TV, Ceiling fan ,Fridge, very good shower, and more than efficient Air conditioning, and all rooms have a balcony (not that i used mine much).

For a full review of local shops and amenities, Thai airways, bars, Kata Beaches, eating out and what to avoid see my blog at - http://phukethotelandholidayinformation.blogspot.com/

Best wishes Graham Ross
http://www.youtube.com/grahamross1

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

I was recommended Casaemare by one of the TA members...and I am so glad I went with my instincts here. I liked what she had said about the hotel, that it was very friendly and had a family feel to it. And she was so right. The hotel is run by an Italian couple and the manager and his gf are Italians as well. If you are not interested in staying in big hotels run by impersonal staff, this is the hotel for you.

I felt like I was staying with friends. I doubt it's easy to find a hotel with such friendly staff and most of the guests in the hotel are also extremely friendly. I was traveling by myself and this place was just for me.

The hotel is nice and clean and is just 5 mins walk away from Kata beach. It has an icecream parlor and this icecream parlor is no ordinary one - the icecream here is home made and to die for:-)

I had a wonderful time in this hotel and I would have extended my stay if I could - this hotel is run by genuine , honest, friendly people and they are very accommodating. I was unable to make a bank transfer to make a reservation and they were alright with me making the payment once I arrive..who does it these days???? They made a booking for me even without my making an initial payment. Thank you, Leila:-) Much appreciated!!!

Cheers,
Malvika

  • Liked — Friendliness of the management and the staff and the family feel of the place
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

I cannot fault the service and the friendliness of the staff and Italian proprietors of this very tastefully decorated, comfortable and very clean hotel. They are so helpful, extremely polite and very courteous.

I do however, have a gripe/regret in the fact that this is the 7th or 8th time I have been to Kata/Phuket and had not previously discovered this gem of a place before.

The location is great, a family mart (supermarket) almost next door, a fabulous authentic Italian ice cream parlour (Casa Del Gato) immediately next door, an Italian Trattoria opposite serving hand made pastas, wood fired pizzas made to order for both eat in and take away. Now, believe me, I love Thai food but being a westerner from London in UK, occassionally get that craving for some European food, go there and you will not be disappointed, the friendly, unhurried service from the Thai staff and Italian cook, even the owner of Casa e Mare (Eddy) pops over to lend a hand and share a vino tinto with his wife(Lorella).

The Hotel is only 6 or 7 minute walk to the wonderful Kata Beach and many little bars and restaurants. Room rates differ according to the seasons and the owners may be willing to negotiate rates for longer stays.

I really don't want to gush too much over this place, and to be honest, I'd much rather it stayed 'undiscovered' but the truth be known... you can't keep a secret forever and you just gotta tell someone...... right...?

I will definately be booking this place again for my return visits, a little gold mine that I will be sorry to say 'Ciao' to when I leave in a few days......

Eddy and Lorella.... thank you to you and your staff for making me feel so welcome.

  • Liked — Welcoming staff, location, atmosphere...... everything....... ;0)
  • Disliked — Not finding it before, and having to leave....... ;-(
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa e Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa e Mare

Address: 90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa e Mare 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for budget BUT CLEANING AND NICE accommodation for an exiting beach holiday in Thailand, the CASA E MARE is the right choice. The CASA E MARE, is ideally located on a peaceful Kata Beach one of the most beautiful beach in Phuket. Markets, restaurants and nightlife venues are a short walking distance from the hotelCASA E MARE is a friendly hotel with homely hospitality and offers a range of useful quality services (like a high speed Internet wireless connection free of charge in every room, motorbike rental, tour desk etc etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Casa e Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa e Mare Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa e Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.