We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Baray Villa to your Saves list
The Baray Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10%OFF with DAILY BENEFIT
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“love the interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights . This villa has morrocan/thai style interior and it's huge !
What i love about this villa the most is their jacuzzi that connect to your own pool follow by a small door gate to the main pool .We spend most of our time inside the villa , it's a really relaxing villa and did i mention they provide your own floats too ? it's fun to play around the main pool as it's almost private in the afternoon because only villa's guest can access that pool . The swim up bar is awesome too . Another thing i love is their breakfast , it has wide selection of food to choose i would definitely take up their cooking class if i spend more time here . Definitely will come back next year !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, we are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us and we can't wait for your next visit !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    47
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
227
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The entry to the resort overall is a bit understated but the entry to the Baray Villa section is very dramatic and very Asian. You really feel like being in Asia with the decor of the villas. The villas are huge and have their own pool, from which you can swim out, through your own gate, into the huge main pool. A private spa pool is linked to your own villa pool. The villas are very spacious and on two levels. The breakfast area is very cosy and has Asian decor as well. Food is healthy and delicious. The gardens are lush and tropical and help make this a great resort. Staff are very friendly. The massages are brilliant and the ambiance of the spa area is sensational.

Room Tip: Rooms linking with the main pool are great-most seem to anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated to hear that you enjoy your time with us and sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor - we are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for your next holiday in Phuket

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I'll quickly address the cons so that I can hit the pros, which greatly tip the scales.

Cons:

1. As many have mentioned, there is room for improvement on the food. Though, we felt the previous reviews were a bit too harsh, which tells me that maybe management has tried to make improvements. The breakfast is quite nice: breads, juices, fresh fruit, omelette bar, etc. The area for improvement is the dinner, particularly the set meals, which I wouldn't recommend. Without going into too much detail, the food is not up to a 5-star resort. I would say more like 3-stars. If I were management, and based on other reviews, I would seriously upgrade the cuisine. If the food was 5-star, this place would be close to perfect.

2. The only other disappointment for us was the spa. Not because we didn't like it, but because it was totally booked from the day we arrived. Very disappointing as a guest to arrive and discover that there is no availability during your entire stay. This is perhaps due to how beautiful and nice the spa is? Perhaps management can hold back some appointments to the public to ensure that registered guests have a chance to use the spa? My recommendation to guests: book the spa early. My recommendation to the hotel: encourage guests to book early so they aren't disappointed when they arrive.

Pros:

1. The Baray Villa room is spectacular, simply put. Our suite was beautiful, immaculate, and we enjoyed every aspect of the two story "home". It even has its own "dock" that you can swim out into the shared pool from. The Baray Villa pool is absolutely beautiful. Probably the nicest 5-star pool I've ever swam in. I won't belabor the room, as many other people have commented how incredible they are. One thing I'll add is that previous guests complained of minor improvements that the room could have (I.e. repairs). I think the hotel took this advice. Our room was flawless.

2. Many guests have commented about Mosquitos. The hotel makes many efforts to make this a non-issue, including coils at night to keep Mosquitos away; complimentary mosquito balm and spray in the room, etc. I wouldn't be concerned.

3. Finally, service. Overall, excellent. There were a couple front desk attendants who did not speak very much English, but I don't want to be the obnoxious American who expects the whole world to speak my language. In general, everyone at the hotel went out of their way to be kind, courteous, and do whatever they could to enhance our stay.

Ordinarily, the food would have caused me to give this hotel 4-stars, but, frankly, everything else is so great that this hotel deserves 5-stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the baray villa and loved every second of it. The villa definitely had the wow factor. The furnishing and decor were very luxurious and we felt like we were staying in an Indian palace. The grounds were also very pretty with many water features and lush greenery throughout. i loved just staring at the koi pond. There's plenty of space to sit and relax around the hotel, not that we found there to be any need to leave our massive villa. I agree with some comments that the indoor jacuzzi is quite cold because its not heated. We overcame this problem by firstly turning off the air conditioning as it makes the air around the jacuzzi cold and secondly we swam around the pool on the outside first to warm up and get used to the water temp.

I loved the breakfast buffet. There's a wide selection and i thought the food was well flavored (i tend to go for the oriental bfast selection such as fried noodles and curry) so I'm not too sure how the western selection were.

We also had dinner at the restaurant once. The food tasted good. Not sure if its really worth the price tag though.

Overall, the baray villas are a beautiful luxurious villa. Would be perfect for a honeymoon and well worth the money for special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a stunning resort, especially in the roomtype we booked : Baray Villa – highly recommended, worth the extra $$ ! We had a romantic time here. Room was top-notch, the food was great, perhaps as good as Paradise Resort’s kitchen (where we stayed earlier). Also went on a couple exciting excursions, thanks to Andaman adventures, who I should mention, got us the very best rate for a Baray Village. They took us to a gigantic, abandoned sandspit on a nearby island where they setup a private beach barbeque for us. That daytrip, in fact the entire stay was wild !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Barray Villa room which was luxurious , 2 story well appointed and comfortable and suited to a romantic escape..Stayed for 6 days and was very happy with the service and the fact that a personal assistant was available. Travel was mid July so mosquitos were noticable in the grounds but not overlly so. The only downside in my opinion was the restaurant. The breakfast buffet that was included with the booking was adequate and catered for most tastes.
We enjoyed a couples spa promotion that included a meal afterwards and the food was delivered to the table cold. Admittedly the meal was prepared for consumption immediately after the spa however we wished to change before dinner and asked for 15 minutes grace.
We did not use the restaurant apart from breakfast after this.
There are restaurants that cater for a variety of budgets and tastes in the immediate area so not a problem there.
Overall the experience was great and the facilities and service excellent..
The room with direct access to the pool , the pool and pool bar and the grounds were stunning..
I would only consider the Barray Villas in comparison to the smaller rooms..the smaller rooms seemed too exposed to the grounds and I think privacy would be a concern.

Room Tip: Barray Villas are excellent. If considering a smaller room I would look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from 14 nights at Baray Villa in Sawasdee Village. We found the overall experience great, however there were some points that we thought worth advising anyone thinking of staying at this hotel.

Firstly, I will echo other reviewer's comments that the villas are very spacious, and are of a high quality. We were very pleased overall with the two level villa. We were glad we stayed at Baray Villa rather than a room in Sawasdee Village, as the villas are sectioned off from the rest of the resort and whilst they share the same restuarant and other facilities, they have their own private pool exclusive to the 14 villas.

Upon seeing the pictures online our only concern was that the villas, with their Thai and Arabic decor, may be a little 'over the top'. In fact this is not the case. They are very tastefully decorated, and the intricate design work adds to the experience.

We visited in low season, and noticed that our villa and all on our side of the pool (the villas are in two rows on either side of the private rectangular pool), received some sun at certain times of the day, however villas on the other side of the pool were in shade and in some cases almost darkness most of the time. We stayed in a villa on the first row on the Sawasdee village 'side' of the villa pool. All the villas are named after zodiac signs, therefore if you stay in a villa that is within the first six zodiac signs (up to Gemini) you will be on the better side of the pool for the sun.

We felt the private 'jacuzzi' which is really an overflow from your small semi-private pool was a little bit of a waste. The pool is not overly warm due to the lack of sun, and feel it would be better if the hotel blocked off this private 'jacuzzi' and indeed made it into one i.e. a warm water spa feature. That would be lovely, however as it is, we did not find it inviting at all.

For most of our time our personal assistant was a lovely lady named Aura, who is a beautiful person. Aura had her first baby during our stay, so we never got to say thanks to her in person or to congratulate her on the birth of her little boy :)

Another good thing about Baray Villa is that given the resort is an oasis amongst a lot of vegetation, they are diligent with their spraying of the grounds and inside of the property. Mosquitoes are quite prevalent in the area, however management could not have done more in our experience to control the insects. We have stayed in a number of resorts in tropical areas, none of which did as good a job with their insect control program. Our villa was also lovely and cool, with the airconditioning working well.

There were however a few downsides that we wish to make people aware of - and we would hope the hotel takes these comments on board for future improvement. Firstly the villas are well looked after (being 6 years old they are renovated annually), however we did have some maintenance issues with our room. There were strips of the safety tape on the stairs that was coming off which should have been fixed. We also even more concerningly had a power point hanging out of its hole with wires exposed, in the woodwork under our sofa in the living area. This was fixed when we advised the hotel, however should not have been this way to begin with as it could have been dangerous.

We would also suggest the hotel install a rail along the stairwell leading up to the bedroom as there was nowhere to hang onto for safety. We also found the door to our shower did not close properly, causing water to leak out on the floor. It appeared to be a design fault with the rubber seal, however cannot comment on whether it was an issue only related to our villa.

We also received free wi-fi for the time we stayed in the villa, however have to say it was very poor and extremely frustrating. There were two connections to choose from, however we found it extremely slow - and cut out constantly requiring constant logging in.

Our biggest concerns however were in the area of housekeeping, and the restaurant / room service. Firstly, issues related to housekeeping. It was at best 'hit and miss'. We found that glasses were not cleaned, and we believe were only rinsed and not washed after use. We found glasses in the minibar which we went to use which were not clean in addition to our own glasses not being washed.

We had dirty stains from glasses and other things on our coffee table, and the minibar bench which were never cleaned. When the villa was swept daily, it was quite poor. One day we even had a pile of dirt collected at the base of the stairs leading up to the bedroom. It was very visible, yet even when staff returned for the nightly turn-down service they just left it!

Our coffee percolator was not cleaned after use. We advised the hotel staff when they did a check on how things were going, and for the next two days the percolator was cleaned however after that it returned to not being cleaned. Strangely also when the staff came to do the nightly turn-down, they would leave all the dirty towels that were placed in a pile or in the bathtub. They did not replace a single towel on the evening which we found strange.

We also had instances whereby toilet rolls and tissues were not replenished, as well as coffee not being replaced. One small thing too was that there was no 'special touches' as you will find in other resorts, particularly on turn-down service. There were never any flowers or chocolates on pillows, or towel origami etc.

This may seem petty and trivial and I don't mean it to, however think it is worth pointing out, as this is a quality establishment, not cheap by Thai standards, and this is the level of personal attention that other resorts they are competing with on a global scale provide. It of course will not 'make or break' a holiday if you do not receive a flower on your pillow at night, however it is the small 'special things' that make a difference which were notably lacking.

The second major disappointment was the food.The restaurant is in a nice setting, and we had breakfast in the restaurant most days. The food is satisfactory with reasonable variety, but nothing special. We have experienced far better buffets elsewhere. The staff were pleasant and efficient. We did eat in the restaurant the first night, having read great things about the Thai food, but it was disappointing so we did not return for dinner.

We also ordered room service one evening and once was enough. We vowed that even if it was raining we would in future make the effort to leave the resort for dinner. The food was uninspiring and to add to it, by the time it was brought to us and set up, it was cold. There is only one thing worse than a tasteless pizza, and that is a cold tasteless pizza!

And do beware of staff barging in when the 'do not disturb' sign was on! A quick knock, not even long enough to go and answer the door, was soon followed by housekeeping letting themselves in numerous times!

Another observation for travellers is that if you are English speaking and have read the villas have a library - which they do - I recommend you still bring your own reading material! Virtually every book in the room library as well as the communal Sawasdee Village library, was in Russian or German, a reflection of the high number of Russians who we discovered now visit Phuket.

It is a shame we were disappointed by the housekeeping and restaurant standards, as we cannot give this resort 5 stars for this reason. I trust the hotel will take these constructive comments on board and will improve service in these areas for the comfort of all future guests

Room Tip: Choose the first row closet to the entrance from Sawasdee Village to be assured of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baray Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.