We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Thailand Amasing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Baray Villa to your Saves list
The Baray Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10%OFF with DAILY BENEFIT
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow Thailand Amasing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days on a holiday, what can i say the service in this resort was unbelievable, Lots to do in Kata beach and Phuket is my favorite place of all time. We hadf lots of fun doing all the water activities and the food in phuket is great, nothing beats Thai Food

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. That would be very nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    48
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
240
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the baray villa and it was one of the biggest and comfortable rooms that i have ever seen. Everything was perfect. The bed at this villa is XXXXL King size, the biggest that i have ever sleep on. High speed internet at the room, central air condioner inside the villa, bathtub, good shower, toiletries, and the amazing pool access inside the villa. Perfect, it is a unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great
to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Baray Villa for two nights. Special offer for guest who stay at The Baray Villa for every night get free a choice of A set of Thai dinner or Airport Transfer. We were picked up from the airport with a sign of our name at the front of the exit area and onto in a spacious and clean van.

Upon arrival, we were welcome by the friendly front desk attendants and cooling lemongrass drink and towel. Check-in was a breeze. No issue at all. We were appointed a lovely lady Ms. Nid as our personal assistance during our stay and should there be anything we need or want we may contact her right a way. Ms. Nid was incredibly great! She showed us around the villa and arranged transport for us heading to Patong Town. (FYI: From Sawasdee Village to Patong Town approx.. 30 minutes / 500 Baht per way in a luxury van) Most importantly, She (and colleagues) speak good english, being helpful and informative are just excellent. Therefore, communication not an issue.

We lived in 2 storey luxury villa. Ground floor includes the living room, television, jacuzzi, washroom and mini bar. From here we have direct access to the pool and pool bar which gated for Villas guest only. First floor includes bedroom, couches, television, mini mac, washroom and a bathtub. As for the bedroom, we were stunning when we first looked at it. It styles like a combination of Thailand and Arabian architecture hotel suite. The bed is huge with 4 pillows and a pair of bolster. Bathroom is decent. General guest amenities set is included. 2 sinks, big size bathtub (FYI: Bubble / Salt bath is not included do bring on your own :), rain shower, separated shower and the loo.

We ordered breakfast in room and had one dinner at Thai Cuisine restaurant. We appreciated how much effort they've put in to prepare our breakfast in room. They kindness and caring touches our heart. To keep our coffee and milk at its hottest and fresh all day, they keep our coffee and milk in a stainless steel tumbler hence enjoying it longer. Overall, food is average for us. It is a little salty, service is good and breakfast brought to us on time in the morning.

Sawasdee Village located in a quiet street but it is still accessible to bars, reflexology shops and convenient shops (such as: Family Marts, 7-11s and money changers) and Kata Beach (FYI: it's about 10-15minutes walking distance) or you can hop on their shuttle which transfer to Kata Beach and return from 9PM - 6PM hourly.

The only thing I would say is it is our understanding that the fence between Villa and Garden Deluxe are trees, therefore we hardly get direct sun light at which causes the water in jacuzzi and pool freezing and cold. If you wanting for sun tanning perhaps the pool in Baray Villa is not a good choice. Alternatively, you may go to the main pool. Apart from the that, it might be a little pricey (I think) but we certainly have a fabulous and wonderful stay in The Baray Villa. With the price for a villa per night, it would be great if Sawasdee Village has their own private branches area at Kata Beach or bicycle renting service from the village.

Once again, thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. That would be very nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We ensure that all comments will be considerated to improved our service. We do hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just spent our 15th anniversary in the Baray Villa for two nights. It was a wonderful experience from the very first time we step into the little but special entrance. The resort was full of surprise of joy at every corner. We loved the design and decoration of the villa room. It's a well combinition of comfortable and luxry. The living room downstairs has plenty of room to relax or chat with friends. It's open to the indoor jaccuzi, which is connected with the big pool. The pool was excellent. It lay along the villas with trees around, which feels like floating on a river. It's private and romantic. Air bed was provided. We spent a lot of time floating in the pool.

The bedroom on the second floor was also spacious. The bed was huge and we had great sleep. Plenty of closet room. The bath tub was nice looking though we didn't get to use it. Free internet in room and TV on both floors.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We asked for late check-out as our flight is about 7pm. The staff explained nicely why they can't commit at the check-in but only one day before. Then one day before we check-out, one of the staff found (and recognized) us at the pool and told us they could extend to 2pm but welcome us to stay in the lounge before departure.

The hospitality lounge was one of the highlights we found. It's cool and cosy, equiped with books and computers. We relaxed in the lounge while waiting for the shuttle bus going to the Kata Beach. The shuttle bus run every hour and only took five minutes to the beach. The Kata Beach had wonderful waves that we enjoyed very much. There were more restaurants and shops near the beach, though the few restaurants close to the hotel were pretty good too.

Mosquitos? Yes, of course. We were in Thailand and close to water and trees. The resort staff came to spray in the room at least once a day when we were there. They also provide in room free of charge the mosquito spray and tiger balm, which is very handy. Just remember to close doors quickly and keep them closed, especially the one to the pool.

We were talking about going back to the Baray Villa even before we left. When we stepped out of room, we felt already missing it. We would definitely recommend the Baray Villa to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We were at Room 208, which was at the Oasis Bar side of the pool. The rooms at the other side may ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that our room and serice meet your satisfaction. We do hope to welcome you, your family or friends in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are currently staying at The Baray Villas in Kata. We were whisked away from the airport in a luxury van, plush leather seats in quiet air conditioned comfort. On arrival we were greeted by the most welcoming staff, a cool drink and icy cold towel.
The villa is like stepping into a palace set from indiana jones, the pictures on the net say it all.
The service and apprach from everyone here is beyond expectation, I would have to say, the best place I have ever stayed at.
A huge thankyou to all the great staff at Baray Villas.

Room Tip: Pay the money and book the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. That would be very nice to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us. Big thank you for choosing us and we do hope to welcome you back with longer stay !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Baray Villa from March 26 through March 30 2013. From the moment we checked in the staff was courteous, professional, and extremely friendly. We stayed in the Capricornus Villa (Room 202) and it was amazing.

The room was spotless, the pools were perfect, the grounds are so beautiful, and the food at the main restaurant was very good. We were unable to try the restaurant within the Baray Villa as it was never open while we were there.

The room had free Wi-Fi which was a very nice amenity. They provided 6 free bottles of water per day which was a nice extra. With the weather in Phuket you will use it.

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and beautiful. The only problem we encountered was that the shower would leak at the bottom out onto the wood floors.

We spent a day at the resort and utilized the pool and bar and had a very nice and relaxing day. The pool was very clean and the bar tender was very friendly. Unfortunately I was not able to use the spa services but I did go and check it ut and it was very nice.

The beach was very close and an easy walk (although it is very humid there) and there are plenty of shops and restaurants along the way. The only bother were the numerous tailor shop workers soliciting to shake your hand and give you a card. I felt like a robot at times saying politely - "no thank you" but this is part of the experience that is Phuket. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to Kata beach but we did not utilize it as we wanted to walk and check out the surroundings.

We had to check out very early to catch our flight and they provided us with a boxed lunch to take with us which we appreciated very much.

If you are looking for a quiet place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket, this is your place. The resort is so unique and well maintained and the staff is wonderful.

I didn't want to stay in a resort that looks and feels like all the others, I wanted something that felt genuine and asian and I got exactly what I wanted at the Baray Villa/Sawasdee Village.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are situated nicely in the resort but the Villas are simply amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After an exhausting 4 days of rubbish shopping in Bangkok we were both looking for a relaxing 5 days at Kata Beach. We had decided on the Baray Villas @ Sawasdee based on the high opinions of other reviewers on TA.
The taxi from the airport to Kata was a sightseeing extravaganza, taking over an hour and including a surprise stop along the way at the taxi owner’s shop, where a Thai lady told us in well-schooled English the advantages of using her services to book various tours during our stay. Pleasantly surprised though we were by her kind and generous offerings, we politely declined and, as the taxi driver had decided to align the finishing of his ablutions to the end of her spiel, continued to Kata.
The Baray Villas is a stunning extension to the boutique sized Sawasdee Resort. The photos submitted by previous reviewers pretty much cover it. As soon as you step from the street to the resort, both the noise and temperature seem to abate. The main Sawasdee pool is medium sided, with a swim-up bar and spa, sun loungers and good amounts of dappled shade. The resort staff, and in particular the reception staff are very friendly and well versed in English (as well as, it seems, some other European languages).
There are a number of outdoor sitting areas for guests to sit and relax, and the whole of the resort’s gardens seem very well maintained.
The Baray Villas themselves are quite stunning, with direct access through the personal spa to a small and private villa pool will a small shaded deck and loungers. This then opens out to the Baray Villa pool, which has its own swim up bar reserved exclusively for the 14 villas. The bed was massive (must’ve been 2.4m x 2.4m) and a bit firmer than we would have liked, but this seems to be the norm for Hotels in Thailand. There is a turndown and mosquito repellent service done around dusk each evening, although we didn’t find the mosquitos to be an annoyance.
Pretty impressive place overall. The breakfast was a more than adequate buffet style service, with a delightful Egg Chef cooking them howsoever we wanted.
It is a bit of a walk to the main beach (approx. 600m), but that seemed to just give us a chance to experience the beach and the villas more when we got there. The resort is around mid point along Kata Beach, with a clump of shopping and restaurants about 500m both north and south.
Overall, very hard to fault. If we get to Phuket again, we will stay at these villas…Pretty impressive!

Room Tip: All villas seem pretty much the same, although the Northern Star Villa(?) and the Villa directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baray Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.