We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oasis in the heart of Kata Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baray Villa

Save Saved
You added The Baray Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Baray Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Pay 2
Ranked #2 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis in the heart of Kata Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

You realise that all the excellent reviews posted about these villas are accurate as soon as you step inside a Baray Villa. Located within the Sawasdee Village, the 14 private freestanding villas look exactly like the photos shown on the Sawasdee website. Plenty of room, extremely comfortable, with great amenities including an ipod doc, mac mini and free wifi, and decorated using a mix of Thai and Moroccan themed furnishings. As a lover of this type of 'look' this was the perfect place for 10 days of rest and relaxation. The staff were extremely attentive, especially M and Miss Or and my holiday package (booked directly with the hotel) which included airport transfers or 2.5hr spa treatment or set meal with bottle of Australian wine daily was excellent. The spa centre was lovely and the staff were very professional. The Sawasdee Thai Cuisine Restaurant had a relaxed setting and was a great place for breakfast and dinner - a lovely spot to enjoy the gentle breeze and enjoy some tasty Thai food. I also took part in the restaurant's cooking class which was great fun and sitting down to a meal I had prepared under the expert guidance of Chef Sri and Ti was a joy. The restaurant, and the whole of the hotel grounds for that matter, are also extremely stunning at night with the use of candles and soft lighting in amongst the plants and along pathways - great atmosphere. Inside The Baray Villa guest only area there's a very comfortable lounge area and at the end of the canal swimming pool there's The Oasis Bar. These areas were under-utilised by guests and therefore it was hard to get any service - something that I'm sure the hotel will rectify in the future. The location of the resort is 10mins walk to the beach which was a pleasant stroll but there is a free shuttle bus for guest use. It was a great base from which to head out on tours (see my Simba Sea Trips and JC Tours review) and the location itself was very quiet and away from the party scene. You would never know from looking at the entrance what beauty lies behind its walls, but once you enter both the Sawasdee Village and its Baray Villas you will never want to leave. I highly recommend this place to all and look forward to being able to return again soon!

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to get extra benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comment on TripAdvisor. We are very much appreciated to hear that you are enjoy during stay with us at The Baray Villa and also would like to come back to stay with us soon. Thank you very much for your comment of Oasis Pool Bar, we will improve our service to serve our best for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    46
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
214
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We spended 9 nights in this beautiful hotel and everything was just perfect.
This is our third time in this hotel and everytime its wonderful.
The staff was excellent especially mrs ORA.
We spended our time swiming in the pool and drinking singa on the pool bar.
The spa was excellent and we got benefits daily.
The made for us aprivate barbecue in the northstar villa.
I will return to this hotel next year.
lio

Room Tip: ask for the north star or the moon villa.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear Mr.Lio,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your kind returning and we hope that you will come back soon, we are looking forward to see you.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed in these villas for a long weekend and found them to be truly exceptional. They are tastefully decorated, large and have everything you could possibly need. In the event that you did find something lacking, I’m sure the staff would move heaven and earth to correct it.

While there we took part in the Thai Cooking class which was basic, but heaps of fun and used the day spa quite extensively. The reception staff were also most helpful in booking great tables at local restaurants and arranging transport to and from.

Overall a fantastic experience and one which we will hopefully be repeating on numerous occassions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Baray Villa for one week, and were very pleased with the quality of the room and service provided by the attentive staff. We loved the room layout - two storey with sunken lounge area downstairs, kitchenette and 2nd bathroom on the entry level, and master bedroom, ensuite bathroom, and sitting area upstairs. There was a tandem foot spa under the sofa upstairs, and downstairs the indoor jacuzzi lead to the outdoor pool with gates leading to a lagoon and swim up bar. Being low season, there weren't a lot of guests, so we didn't feel like our privacy was encroached upon.

Room service was brilliant, with a nice variety of western and Thai meals. Similarly, the restaurant was also good for dinner (breakfast was included in the package). There are many other restaurants within walking distance both on the same road, and the road parallel to the beach.

The on-site spa was lovely, and we had a steam/scrub/massage package taking around 2.5 hours. The therapists were very professional, and the facilities were excellent.

The Villa is not close to the beach, and you have to go around Club Med to get there - a 15 minute walk, or 2 minute tuk tuk ride depending on your preference. Heading north up the beach road for 2km will get you to another restaurant/shopping area in Kata Centre, and another 2km or so gets you to Karon Beach area.

Highly recommended if you're looking for somewhere to completely relax, and don't mind spending just that little bit more for great quality and exceptional service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Value Guest,

That was great to hear that you are relaxing during stay at The Baray Villa and we all are thank you very much for your candid comment on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and hope you will enjoy staying with us for next time.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed 8 nights at the Baray Villa and loved every moment. The staff were attentive and always made us feel welcome. Everything was just so easy and we didn't have to worry about a thing as it was all taken care of. The room was stunning and provided us with a slice of indulgent paradise. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I will not repeat the excellent reviews allready written by other travellers on this site. All I can say Is that I honestly think that no one in his right mind could find anything negative about this little peace of paradise on earth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. That was very nice to hear that you are very pleased to stay at The Baray Villa. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester PA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was our first visit to Phuket so we decided to use trip advisor to find our hotel. The reviews we read on this hotel set the bar very high. We were not disappointed! I have stayed at hotels all over the world and the service that the staff here provides is outstanding!!!! They were waiting at the curb when our taxi arrived and personally checked us in inside the villa. The hotel is located on a side street of Kata but you would never know that once inside the resort. The tropical landscaping is unbelievable throughout the complex. The villas each have their own small private wading pool that is connected to the larger lagoon that is only for the Villa guests. The bedroom is huge and has a large flat screen TV on the wall that also serves as your personal Apple PC with free Internet access. While the hotel is not on the beach, the hotel offers a free shuttle to the. beach which we utilized every day to go to Kata Beach. There also many restaurants within walking distance. For a local casual experience we liked Lucky Tom's in Kata (under 20 dollars usd for two meals). For a more upscale dining experience we loved Mama Tri's Kitchen (great view at sunset and under 90 dollars usd for two with drinks). Overall we highly recommend the Baray Villa and would definitely return!!!

Our only suggestion is to add a handrail or ladder for easier access into and out of the private lagoon into your room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Value Guests,

Thank you very much for your candid comment us on Trip Advisor. Regarding to your recent stay in Sawasdee Village & The baray Villa, what a pleasue to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your futher recommendation to anyone and choosing us: Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa for your accommodaton.

We look forward t owelcoming you back soon.

Sawasdee Villa & The Baray Villa Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baray Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.