We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected at all!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside

Save Saved
You added Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected at all!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Upon arrival, the lady told us she could not accommodate us because there was no hot water or Air Con and told us to stay at their sister hotel a block away, Sugar Palm Resort. I asked if we would get our own pool, and she replied, yes. When we got to to other hotel, we did not get our own infinity pool (I paid extra for that upgrade). Instead, I found it to be a lower-end, downgrade from Grand Hillside. This other hotel was a 3 star hotel versus Grand Hillside, which was a 4 star hotel. I even saw a substantial price difference when I checked online! Furious, I contacted Agoda, which handled everything in a great manner. They promptly called my room, offered me a discount, and told me they negotiated a complimentary meal with the hotel front desk. I believe that was fair. So the next morning, we went back to Grand Hillside. The room the front desk lady put us in was supposedly "non-smoking." Yet the room reeked of smoke and was so smelly I had to call the front desk to request for a transfer to a different room. Conveniently, they said there were no other available non-smoking rooms. This is the point where I got really upset. Especially already having to deal with switching hotels and being placed in their downgraded hotel. To top it off, I woke up the next morning and wanted to take a shower.. To find that there was NO running water at all. I will never stay at this hotel again. This was a complete nightmare and was sad that this is the first trip to Phuket and I wanted it to be a delightful experience. Unfortunately, this hotel made it difficult for me to accomplish that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    281
    76
    31
    17
See reviews for
61
249
41
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was a nice place to stay though we initially had a problem locating it when we actually arrived in Phuket. The service was excellent. There was somebody to help us even when we reached there by 1 in the midnight. It was pretty close to the beach. More vegetarian dishes can be added to the breakfast menu!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a great hotel with nice scenery and friendly staff. The breakfast was good and the cook food spread's menu change daily which is good if you are going for a long stay.

The only disappointment was that we have book for rooms with direct access into our private pool was not available due to renovation. Since we have book a few months ago, they should have inform us that the rooms will be close for renovation and not let us know only on the day of our arrival. However, the hotel manager did a service recovery by extended a SPA (60 mins Thai Massage) & dinner at Mali Restaurant ( WHICH WAS SUPER TERRIBLE).

Overall, the stay was enjoyable!

Room Tip: Get a rooms with direct pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It's worth staying. I don't mind walking up the hill especially if you stay in a pool access room, you can easily dip-in the moment you enter your room & a nice mountain view. Beach is just about 10 minutes walk. Convenience stores, restaurants are just few minutes away. Reception/Front desk were helpful. The downside was their buffet breakfast. It was only limited and the lady in-front (entrance) was not friendly nor courteous at all. But in general, our stay is OK.

Room Tip: Try to stay at Room 3103 with pool access, it has a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Completed a 17 night stay at Sugar Palm and we really enjoyed it. Hotel is up a hill looking over the kata beach and town area, yes the hill is a little annoying walking to and from the beach but anyone with even a slight level of fitness will have no troubles. Our pool view room had a great view and was spacious. Good air conditioning and nice bathrooms. The rooms are serviced well and the free minibar/ water and coke each day was a nice touch. Wifi in the rooms is a bit dodgy but it is also accessible out at the pools and in public areas so this is no big deal. Pools are large and numerous, are clean and cool and have a good outlook, breakfast was included for us and was good quality and plenty of it. Hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the beach and all of Kata beach restaurants. kata beach is nice however it is busy and crowded. If you wan a more quiet and clean beach then hire a scooter from the hotel and ride around to Kata Noi beach about 5 mins scooter away, amazing. Staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. This hotel is great value for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are closer to the pool and town so try to get one of these. Also try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Unfortunately we were relegated to this hotel after being told that the one we had previously booked was OVER booked. We stayed exactly one night then got the he'll out of there.
We were taken to our room on the back of a golf buggy and told to "hold on". That was an under statement. We were then driven up 80 degree gradient hills to our room. If you don't like heights then this is not the hotel for you. In fact if you have any knee, hip or leg injuries DO NOT STAY HERE ! Our internet was down and after 2 calls to the front desk we gave up at 1 am.
The following morning we fronted up to breakfast and had our breakfast token taken from us without even a good morning or smile. Breakfast was adequate but we had to chase up a cup of tea and coffee as the waiters were not bothering to provide adequate service.
We had our luggage taken down stairs and left as quickly as possible.
We have stayed in many hotels and found this one quite substandard for its price. So readers beware!

Room Tip: We can't supply this information as there was no information folder in our room. We don't e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed there for our honey moon in April 2013 for 4 nights. First the hotel was great. It is clean and well furnished and the food there for breakfast was amazing too. We had a room with pool access and the pool was good too. The hotel is too close from the beach. You can go night shopping and having dinner by walking too. The location is amazing and we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside

Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tired infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.