We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside to your Saves list
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here in October, and had a pleasant week in a first floor room (called 2nd floor in Thailand) with pool view. Minimalist, cement finish, but spacious. Wonderful room service with real crockery and excellent value food. The minibar has free drinks each day. Thai beds do tend to be firm, generally, but I slept just fine. The lobby is impressive, and the staff are really excellent. The breakfast room is also impressive, and the food is good, and unlimited. The pools were quite cold, but just about ok .... the sea is only a very short walk away and Kata beach is really lovely.
I had no problems with slopes.... the lift worked and there are no stairs to climb anywhere - there is a slope which is easy to run up and down (I am 56). Reading the other reviews, people grumble about lots of things, but I thought it was a fairly classy place. It all depends on how much you pay! There are special offers for this hotel, some of which are great value. I wouldn't pay full price though, as there are lots of places offering good value in Kata.
For restaurants nearby ... Try 'The Two Chefs' which is Swedish owned - great food and really recommended. Choice of desserts, all of which I enjoyed, even though I normally hate desserts! Good female singer/guitarist, lovely atmosphere, reasonable price. For travel agent / trips, there is a really lovely lady on the slope right near the hotel who was just perfect. And finally - for those who moan about the slope - don't be so lazy... if there were to be another Tsunami, you would be very glad to see it, and I'm serious about that. Kata was hit by destructive waves, as were most other beaches. It's a lovely beach, with refreshing sea. Children need to be watched all the time, it goes without saying. I will go back there, but only in the recommended season Oct - March(?) I think.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    293
    82
    33
    17
See reviews for
68
263
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside. Had booked 2 rooms with sea views and requested rooms be close together. Unfortunately we were placed in 2 separate buildings and the sea views were not worth the extra cost. Requested that we were moved and the staff were helpful and moved us after 2 nights to 2 adjacent rooms onto a pool which was much nicer. Breakfast was adequate with choices but quality poor and lacking in staff to clear tables etc. Location good close to beach, restaurants and shopping. Value for money average for Phuket in December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel lies up a short but steep (about 45˚) hill which is poorly lit at night. If this is problem to you then don’t even consider this hotel. Otherwise the location is good, being quiet but within five/ten minutes of the beach. From a distance the hotel looks quite stylish.

On the positive side of the hotel, the staff are friendly. The reception was fine and would have been quicker if there hadn’t have been a language barrier (my Thai is none existent and the Receptionists English wasn’t too good. I was told initially I could check out at 1400 but then got a call at 1230 asking if I could vacate at once as the room was needed.

The hotel is built up the side of a hill. I was placed in the 4000 block which is almost at the top of the site. Initially you and your bags are whisked up there in a golf buggy (hold on tight as it’s a bit of a rollercoaster ride), after that you are on your own. Returning to your room involves two lifts, stairs and two steep but short hill climbs, not for the faint hearted and worryingly dangerous in flip-flops in the rain. I would guess all the other rooms other than the 4000 block have access to the lifts.
The room I had was described as minimalist, read that as austere. It was large with lots of bare and polished concrete. The room was equipped with a computer, large bath with separate shower. The large bed was comfortable. The balcony had direct access to a small pool shared with three other rooms; the tiles around the pool were broken. The waterfall into pool was adjacent to the room and was intrusively noisy; it should have been a trickle and not a torrent. The view from the room was of other rooms. Cleanliness was adequate.
Breakfast is buffet style and is okay. Fortunately you can binge, as any calories gained can be worked off by walking up to your room in the 4000 block.
Generally the place is starting to look tired with wear and tear being obvious; it will soon need a lick of paint and some pool repairs.
Would I return? No
.

Room Tip: Avoid any room in the 4000 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I spent almost 2 weeks at this hotel when I had a few weeks downtime with nothing better to do. Having been to Phuket 5 times now, Kata is our favorite area and we booked this hotel via latestays based on the very good price and location. We received a free upgrade given the amount of time we were spending there and stayed in the ground floor villa with our own pool, which we used every day.

There are no views from this resort, very few decent hotels in Kata actually have views, but it is brilliantly located just minutes to the town and the beach. The room itself was large, modern and minimalist (which we like) and even came with an apple computer that used the TV screen as the monitor. I would recommend this resort if you are ok with there not being a view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were a family of 10 couples and all booked at this hotel.
The service was great and the price was good too.

I would recommend that the hotel make a small touch up here and there, so as to have a pleasant exterior look.
Else, it was a great stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very modern boutiquish hotel in the heart of Kata. Rooms appeal to those with an eye for design.
The cascade pools are beautiful and the in-room crocs are a really nice touch.

Good restaurants around as well as the great kata beach.
Would definitely come back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel located on a hill which dominates city center in south of Patong city. Good reception. But I strongly advise you do not stay in room numbers 4000-4400. Because access to the rooms is terrribly hard. When you check in, it's easy because, they take you to the room by golf car. And rest of the stay, you have to climb to your room !! Not suitable for elder guests. Rooms are clean and roomy. I stayed in a room which has access to a private pool used by two other rooms. If you can ıgnore to climb to the room, from hotel to the Patong beach takes few minutes. Also Hotel is close to the restaurants. If you want to go to the bars, you can take tuk tuk.Price is max 200 Bahts. I wish you a happy stay in this hotel if you like to climb.

Room Tip: Stay in the room numbers 2000-3400 . acces to the rooms starts with 4000 really hard. Especially for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside

Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tired infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.