We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Wine & Grill

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 76 330 015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 117 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband surprised me with dinner at the new Boathouse our last night in Phuket as my birthday was the day we were leaving. Honestly a sensational restaurant and meal. The staff were very attentive and service silver. The food was fabulous. All in all a wonderul experience and would definately go back and recommend to others. Not cheap by Phuket standards but a special occassion or holiday treat.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    158
    53
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Magnificent views; impressive wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great variety of delicious food, both European and Thai. This place has magnificent views and an outstanding wine list. The staff are lovely to deal with. Considering the food quality and the magnificent views, price wise this place is good value. Good wine here is expensive but this is the case all over Phuket.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We have visited this restaurant twice whilst we have been here.
The first time my partner was not feeling very well and they made her something not on the menu which was a nice touch.
On our second visit we were made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble.We both had seafood and it was the best we had tasted in the area.
Unlike most of the restaurants you were not rushed.We had a lovely 2 hrs and then saw the fireworks on the beach accompanied by piano music in the background.
Expect to pay more but worth it for a special night.
The hotel apparently has just opened.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So romantic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Lovely, romantic setting, worth a little splurge (only about 500 baht a head), good happy hour cocktails at 6pm, lovely service. Well worth the visit. 5 min beach walk from Kata Thani Hotel.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great view, the food is terrible though”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just had breakfast at the new boathouse (since it changed owner's from Mom Tri's). Can't believe how far down hill it has gone. They have renovated the interior which I think actually looks better now and the staff are still there and as friendly as before. But the breakfast was terrible.
I and a friend went, he had eggs benedict and I had scrambled. The ham on his was the square ham that you buy in the packet while my eggs were watery (I actually had one bite then sent them back) while my sausages where the hotdog style sausages you buy at 7-11 here in Thailand.
Having been to Mom Tri's boathouse before they changed owner's about 5 times the fall in stature is remarkable. The staff are still great and the view is fantastic, so I would recommend to anyone who goes to have some drinks and enjoy the view and the ambience but stay away from the food menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boathouse_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Boathouse Wine & Grill, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
First of all, thank you for visiting us during the first week of our reopening and
for your valuable comment. Though we took great care for our chefs to rehearse in
the new show kitchen prior to reopening, unfortunate things happened with delivery
from suppliers. We apologize. We changed the breakfast serving format from full
buffet before closing for renovation to cold buffet plus a la carte, in order to
improve on quality. We intended to and are serving champagne ham and fine quality
sausages. Other improvements you might have noticed after reopening: freshly baked
pastry and cappuccino with creamy foam. Will be honored if you come back to retest
us and give us another chance. On the house....Boathouse...of course.

Boathouse management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Wine & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.