We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale

Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale
12 Kata Noi Rd, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 76 333 569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 108 Restaurants in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 770 Reviews
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Enjoy fine dining in an award-winning restaurant set just above the rocks overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Panoramic sea views and the sound of the waves below create a peaceful, sensually indulgent and romantic setting. European favorites and Thai dishes are served either on the open-air terrace or Thai sala. Mom Tri’s Kitchen has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 7 years in a row and offers over 750 labels.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic food and wine, good prices (not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for and it's totally worth). The view is great. We had the jumbo prawns and was the best food in thailand, better than BKK restaurants the we went. The service was great also. For disert, the sticky rice mango litle tart is a fantastic way to finish the meal.
A helpfull hint would be to go with some mosquito repelent applied, since we sat outdoor and in Thailand there is always lots of mosquitos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    147
    72
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a treat ! - The restaurant is located with a fantastic view to sunset at Kata Noi Beach. - The food is excellent as well as the wine. We ordered both starter, maincourse and dessert with wine.
Prices is very high for Thailand, but compared to danish prices still very low. It's good value for money, and very romantic. Staff very helpfull and recommends what to eat for those that finds the spicy (hot) thai-food to struggling to eat.
We recommend this restaurant highly - But book a table a day before, if you want to make sure that you get the table with the best view.
Kurt & Pia Jensen / Denmark

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzio, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing location and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I tried this restaurant on the 07th February during our holiday in Phuket. As always wherever we go we try to explore the best restaurants in the area. In this case I can confirm without any doubts that this restaurant offers an exceptional experience both for the food and ambiance. As soon as we left the parking area and walked down the stairs through the fantastic zen type garden to reach the entrance of the very elegant bar we understood immediately that we had arrived in a very special place. Like for all beautiful places, also in this case it's difficult to find the words to describe it. The view of the Kata Noi bay, the style of the bar and restaurant were just perfect and only by going there you will understand fully what I mean.
I'm not going into details in describing the dishes we had but I can say that we opted for Thai dishes which were amazing. We tried several Thai restaurants including the most famous ones in Bangkok (don't want to mention which ones..) and overall this one was for sure the best we have tried so far. The service is perfect and the view from the terrace is absolutely breathtaking!
As a sommelier myself, I don't need to mention the wine choice because Mom Tri's Kitchen has received several prizes by Wine Spectator as one of the best cellars in restaurants in the world so I don't need to add anything....
I personally think that for the overall experience the prices are justified.
We will go back before the end of our holiday and I strongly recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai cuisine a la carte style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very good restaurant with a beautiful setting overlooking the ocean and beach. Two good menus to choose from which are Thai and western a la carte. We had a great table on the terrace overlooking the sea and enjoyed a fabulous 3 course meal for two for £130 including wine, well worth the expense.

Only small observation is that the service is a bit patchy so sometimes you feel you are being looked after and then there's no one around, but as its such a nice location it doesn't hurt to sit and wait a bit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The views are wonderful although we found it to be somewhat pretentious and the food it pretty average and overpriced. The shared bill worked out at 1300 baht per person which equates to over £25 per person for two courses. I went for the european menu and was disappointed in the unmemorable lobster bisque (my friend makes better) and the bland lamb shank which lacked seasoning and was a large piece of meat with few vegetables. The wine list is amazing but very pricey, a bottle to "cheap" italian prosecco cost 1500 Baht plus 10% service, plus tax so its real cost is around 1800 Baht. We had some much better meals for a lot less.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale also viewed

 

Been to Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.