We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale

Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale
12 Kata Noi Rd, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 76 333 569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 117 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy fine dining in an award-winning restaurant set just above the rocks overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Panoramic sea views and the sound of the waves below create a peaceful, sensually indulgent and romantic setting. European favorites and Thai dishes are served either on the open-air terrace or Thai sala. Mom Tri’s Kitchen has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 7 years in a row and offers over 750 labels.
Kata Beach, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“something very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mom Tri's is one of those hidden gems Tourism Thailand must be very proud of....my wish for our twentieth wedding anniversary trip was to stay, see and touch and taste Thailand. having been sensationally spoilt at Sawasdee Village for lodgings and cuisine (will post our experience after we check out), I chose Mom Tri's on the advise of one of the staff nicknamed 'Lucky'. The taxi dropped us at the bottom of the Hill at the Boat House (which looks great BTW) and we had to walk five minutes up to Mom Tri's (no sweat worked up an appetite). Not having made a reservation we took our chances and were taken by the delightful host to the bottom deck overlooking the Anderman Sea and pool (just magic). The sun had just set leaving tendrils of pink on the horizon, and we knew we were in for something special. The staff were incredible and we had a few laughs about our trip so far and the fact we were celebrating our anniversary, bang, seamlessly another gear kicked in and the beautiful flowers on the tables were replaced with roses and our night of gastronomic delight started...some three hours later having had our best experience ever in dining and service we were whisked back to Sawasdee Village in their private lodge van...if you want to impress and experience this restaurant I encourage you to book here...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    171
    92
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great restaurant! Amazing veiws! The meals were quite large and very tasty! Even our 3 boys ate everything (which is a rare thing!)
Loved how my husband signed for the bill and i got a pink rose! Nice touch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I ate here to celebrate the anniversary of our first date. The location was amazing and the bar and restaurant area tastefully decorated. We arrived without booking and were told that it would be a 20min wait for table, so we sat in the bar area and ordered cocktails. The cocktail list had plenty of options, and my wife went for an original house cocktail called Phuket Kiss while I went for a Margarita. Both cocktails were brilliantly made and tasted fantastic.

For dinner we had a great table just outside the covered restaurant area with a view of Kata Noi beach. We ordered duck spring rolls, and Vietnamese prawn rolls to start, both dishes were excellent. For mains my wife ordered a lamb massaman curry while I ordered the Sea Bass with garlic and pepper.

This was the best meal we had in Phuket. The food was great, atmosphere was beautiful, excellent service and a really good drinks menu. If you are looking to have a special meal in Phuket then Mom Tri’s Kitchen should be on the list. If we come back to Phuket Mom Tri’s Kitchen will be at the top of the list for places to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Stunning views & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Whilst we arrived late for lunch, 3.30pm, we were immediately escorted to a table &offered the lunch menu. We opted for the set lunch being a cheaper option to dinner. The soup course wasn't to our taste & was substituted immediately. From the beginning of the meal of homemade breads to ending with a delicious desert with excellent service coupled with dining with a stupendous view, this was a very memorable lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Were Expecting More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We read the reviews on this place beforehand and couldn't wait to try it. Unfortunately we were a bit disappointed. The view and setting was spectacular, but for the price we felt it missed the mark in some areas. For example, when I asked if I could have a main meal selection for an entree as entree size, they said yes, so I was very surprised when a huge entree arrived at the table. Maybe a language problem, but I thought I had been understood. The white wine we ordered had just turned up at the restauarant apparently, so it was put straight into a bucket of icy water, but took forever to chill down, so we had to end up drinking it slightly warm. The food was nice, but not great, the service was just o.k. and the toilet was blocked. We just felt for the price, we expected it to be alot better. Speaking to other people the next day, they felt the same.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale also viewed

 

Been to Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.