We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

In April 2014 our family stayed at the Kata Beach Resort for the second time. It was just as we remembered two years ago, wonderful !. The staff were happy and friendly and service was excellent.

It's a great location, close to shops and restaurants and right on the beach. Rooms were clean and very spacious. Everything in our room worked - no complaints.

We had breakfast included in our package and could not fault the array of food that was produced every morning. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel, so will not comment. We did however notice that the staff worked tirelessly every night to set up displays and decorations for each themed night - the hotel grounds at night were lit up and looked beautiful.

My husband and I travelled with our two children aged 10 and 12 who thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a really relaxing holiday in a fantastic part of the world - Thailand.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a deluxe room as they have a sea view - and it's spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you and the family had another great time with us. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back in the near tuture.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    330
    133
    72
    39
See reviews for
211
339
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

In April 14 we stay 10 nights at this resort, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our pool access room was spacious and decorated nicely, with the highlight being the private access pool. The area around the pool was surrounded by a well maintained garden with lots of pretty flowers. The daily walk down to the beautiful Kata beach for a swim and sun was definitely another part of our stay we throughly enjoyed. Thank you for memorable stay. We will be back!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Pool Access Rooms and the beautiful landscape. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back in the near tuture.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here but we did hire a motorbike from the people who run the restaurant, which I assume they also take care of the accommodation. Everywhere else requires you to leave your passport which I refuse to do but they were ok with a photocopy. They were very helpful and true happy Thais with the big authentic smiles that was unmistakably genuine. Unfotunately we didn't get the chance to try their restaurant out but definitely will next time.
Nice humble people.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you and look forward to welcome you back to Phuket .

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married a while ago and have had not had a chance to have a proper honeymoon.

We booked 10 nights at kata beach resort and only paid for give which was very good value. We received a warm welcome on arrival arrival and were shown to our room. We had booked a deluxe room and were originally placed in a room with an inter leading door to the room next door, and there was so much noise coming from next door!we voiced our issue and with no hesitation we were kindly upgraded to a grand deluxe suite with a sea view. We received a bottle of wine and a cake for our honeymoon getaway.

One issue we had was the shower-didn't have much pressure but in the scheme of things it wasn't a concern. Sometimes the language barrier was a struggle but we managed!

We loved the poolside bar.

Yes hotel is a bit older than some but grounds and rooms are well kept!

Absolutely perfect location-couldn't get better in kata. We loved our stay and would come again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many congratulations and thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just had 8 nights stay at Kata Beach and loved every minute of it. I stayed with my husband and 2 children and were in a 2 bedroom suite ocean view which was huge. We had our own room, bathroom, lounge room, Kitchenette and balcony. Our children had an interconnecting room with their own bathroom and balcony as well.Our stay was perfect.Sunsets were some of the most amazing I have ever seen. Great pool and beautiful food. Dined nearly every day in one of the restaurants or pool side dining. Location right on the beach with bars and restaurants jutting all along the beach. Ska Bar is a must for a cold one. Enjoyed shopping just outside the hotel and took part in the Songkran( Thai New Year) which was an awesome experience for my children. Great pools and gardens always clean. Pool chairs were difficult to come by as people hog them first thing of a morning. Breakfast are nice. We were very busy with long day trips with early starts and they even would send a breakfast box to your room if you were too early for the buffet. Had a lovely lady at front counter help me out to ring back to my bank in Australia when a ATM sucked up my card. Thank You. Would I stay there again? Definitely. I don't understand all the bad reviews. No its not 5 star but it doesn't claim to be. Thanks Kata for an awesome family holiday.

Room Tip: Ocean view over the pool are beautiful. Most amazing sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delight to know that the whole family had a great time with us and will be returning in the near future. Thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here April 16-22, 2014 and loved it.
Firstly, we arrived at 2AM to check in. Despite the time, the 2 staff were friendly and helpful and kept our check in process very brief so we could get to our room ASAP

Food
Breakfast buffet was much the same as i have seen in hotels around the world. The selections included cereal, several different breads to have fresh or toasted, cold cuts, seasonal fruit, yoghurt, danishes, noodles, rice, sausages, ham, french toast, and eggs cooked to order and bacon. It was all fresh and tasty and up to a very good standard.
Yes food and drinks at the hotel (dinner mainly) was expensive compared to local eateries, but this is typical almost everywhere. There were at least 10 restaurants within 5 minute walk of the foyer so cant see what the problem is!

Facilities
Perfect location right on the beach with plenty of deck chairs around the pool(we never couldnt get 2). Deck chairs on the beach all along Kata have to be paid for (a whole $3.20 AUS (100 baht) for the day), but we regularly left the beach for a couple of hours and came back to find out towels exactly where we left them. The main pool was quite large and the swim up bar is always a nice bonus to have access to. It is obviously an older resort but generally maintenance was up to scratch. Our room was clean, comfortable large enough and with excellent air conditioning.

In summary, dont know what people are whingeing about, we loved it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delight to know that you made the most of your holiday and find the resort very pleasant and planing to return next year.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We checked into the hotel early afternoon after having stayed in Patong for the previous 3 nights. Our check-in was efficient (party of 8) and we were shown to our rooms. In a lot of reviews I hear complaints about the check in staff not speaking English well, in my opinion this adds to the whole experience, now if they didn’t speak English at all that would be a concern, and further to this should they learn every language of the guests that stay at their hotel? The entrance foyer is a very large atrium, allowing you to sit and use the free wifi, it would be good if the rooms also had free wifi, you have to pay for it in your room. Luckily our room backed onto the atrium so I could step outside the room and have access to the free wifi. Still annoying given how most hotels in Asia have free wifi in the rooms. I would like to pull up a previous review about the foyer and cockroaches and tom cat spraying everywhere. We stayed here for 7 nights and not once did any of my party see a cockroach anywhere in the hotel and there certainly wasn’t any cats roaming around the foyer.

We booked the deluxe rooms which overlooked the pool and the beach. We were on the 4th floor and the views were to die for; hearing the waves from the beach was beautiful. The rooms were large, clean and the beds were huge. The bathroom had a bath which would be good for people with young children. Air-con in the room worked a treat and the room also had a good sized balcony with chairs and table. There was also a mini bar with very reasonably priced drinks. The hotel itself is low rise with only four floors. As others have mentioned the hotel is right on the beach which allows you to go for a swim in the ocean with a minimum of fuss and without having to cross roads etc. It would be nice if the hotel had sun lounges on the beach for its guests. The hotel also has a gym and sauna on the 4th floor and whilst I’m not a gym person, our friends said that it was well equipped and also had free cold bottled water. The floors are serviced by efficient lifts, so getting to your room was easy.

We had the buffet breakfast included in our room rate, the breakfast was good with many selections of Western and Asian foods to choose from. Eggs were made to order, scrambled, poached, fried, omlettes etc. etc. We had now been travelling for over a week so we were over the buffet breakfasts; they are more or less the same in most hotels. The only difference is that some of the higher rated hotels had more variety and more exotic fruits included. Anyway it did the trick. The breakfast staff were attentive especially the buffet manager (older gentleman, sorry can’t remember his name) who would go out of his way to make sure you had everything you needed. You could choose to sit inside or outside for breakfast, outside was our choice.

Having the beach at your door step is excellent; you walk from hotel straight onto Kata beach. The sand was pristine, water was nice and calm with gentle waves rolling in (not surf waves!!), so if you wanted you could swim the entire length of the beach. You can also go for nice relaxing walks. Best time to do this is in the morning before it gets too hot or later in the arvo when the sun is setting. The sunsets are amazing!! The only whinge I had about the beach is that when the waves roll in (waves were coming and going) they also bring in something that stings you, not a bad sting but a sensation that you are being stung, whilst my wife never encountered this, I and some of my friends did. I Googled it when I came back to the hotel and there was commentary that it was sea lice or tentacles of jelly fish that had broken off and the waves were washing them in causing them to rub against you. Either way they were annoying, but not bad enough to stop you swimming and there were a lot of people swimming unperturbed, me included. The hotel pool was great it has a fenced in child area which ensures young children don’t wander into the deeper parts of the pool (not really deeper as the deepest part of the pool is only 1.4metres) it would be nice to have deep water in the pool. The pool area also has a swim up bar which makes life easy, along with a dining area with a good selection and reasonably priced lunch time snacks, we ate here most days.

The hotel is located in a perfect position, right on the beach and coming out the non beach side smack bang in the middle of a heap of restaurants. Kata is SO laid back and nice and quiet compared to Patong. If you turned left and walked along Kata Rd you would find a heap of restaurants and shops. The one we frequented is about 200 metres along and you will come to a sign that says Malissa Suites. If you look left down the road where this sign is you will find a heap of restaurants. If you feel energetic and want to walk all the way along Kata Rd to Patak Rd (about 1.5kms 20min walk) where Kata and Karon meet (or catch a Tuk Tuk), there are more restaurants. If you turned right after coming out of the hotel into Kata Rd, there are more restaurants, we ate a couple of times at the Outdoor Restaurant (super cheap and great selection of foods, our favourite was the Massuman Curry) which is on the corner of the first intersection you encounter after turning right into Kata Rd. We also ate at Two Chefs which is just down the road from the Outdoor Restaurant, but this a bit pricier and a bit more up market (for Thailand), none the less the food was great. Also you should go for dinner of pre dinner drinks (sunset time) at the After Beach Bar the views over Kata are amazing, not to mention the sunset (see photo). I would also highly recommend doing Rawai Beach, where you pick your seafood from the fishmongers and then walk across the street and pick a restaurant that will cook it whichever way you want. You will need to organise a Tuk Tuk or air-con car/van to get to Rawai beach. I’d recommend the air-con car/van.

We also found a great massage, manicure, pedicure etc. etc.etc place which is diagonally across from the entrance to the hotel. From memory I think it’s called Phu Thai Massage Spa & Beauty Salon. I should also mention, like all areas on Phuket, you can do all the sightseeing trips from Kata. As I mentioned Kata is nice and quiet so if you were going to stay here and you wanted some serious nightlife, Patong is only a 20min Tuk Tuk ride.

Over all a great hotel in the perfect location and close to everything you need. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book the deluxe rooms as these rooms have a view to the ocean and try to get on a high floor. The Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Kata Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very understanding about the langauage problems. It seems that your party have made the most out from the holiday from enjoying the local cuisine aroud the hotel, having great body massages and not to mention the good times spent on the beach and in the water.

Lastly we appreciate your kind words for our clean and spacious rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kata Beach Resort again in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew A. Swatdipakdi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.