We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-couldnt beat it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Min stay 4 or 6 nights
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location-couldnt beat it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The 3 of us arrived late sunday afternoon,the room was ready but the 3rd bed was a camp bed!
Back to reception and with the help of a tour guide we explained our problem,We were showed another larger sea view room with space for a "proper" 3rd bed which we accepted ,housekeeping arrived within 5mins and set it all up,towels,bedding,water,slippers, dressing gown & swimming towel to make sure we were happy. The room was large, clean & the bathroom immaculate, I learned from cleaning lady they change the bedding every other day.
Location was ideal-right on the beach. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which covered every nationality's needs and plenty of it. We ate at local restaurants over the road-it was good.
Buses stopped outside hotel and for 30baht we travelled into Phuket (about 1hr) seeing the local countryside. Please do the James Bond Island tour-fantastic!! and lunch at the village on stilts is lovely and fresh. We enjoyed our stay (week before the regatta) and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The local puk puk's are fine for getting about. Try the local pancakes,lovely guy outside the 7/11 shop-always a queue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    356
    150
    82
    41
See reviews for
229
381
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the time of the King's Cup Regatta. We found our room to be large and comfortable. Housekeeping was very good and the room was always cleaned and restocked every day.
The location is good and a great escape from the busy streets of Kata.
The beach was overcrowded but we accepted that this would be the case with the regatta being held at this venue.
The taxis from the resort are overpriced. It was easier and cheaper to walk across the road and get a normal taxi.
Breakfast was good and the food was hot and fresh each day.
The receptionist was not helpful and very off handed. When checking out we were charge for mini bar that we did not use but she would not listen to us, so we ended up just paying. So much for guest services!!
Wifi was a bit of a hit and miss and also has conflicting information on charges etc.
I would probably stay here again as the location and quality of food made up for the any negatives.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The price of the room was about $300 per night. For this kind of money for a standard twin one could expect more than the same breakfeast for 7 days in a row, personnel who barely speaks English, very average food quality, moisture smell in all of the furniture. Massage was good, especially thai massage, but only from one masseuse - An.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

On arrival, late in the evening, our welcome was professional and nothing more. Our room was a side sea view clean and spacious. After not much sleep due to bikes revving engines through the night, I went to use the toilet, and it overflowed, phoned reception and had a cleaner come to check, she flushed the toilet again and guess what, it overflowed. Now we are left waiting for the engineer to turn up, not able to use the toilet, shower or even brush our teeth! So, we went down to breakfast while we waited. Got back to the room and the bathroom was still full of water, when I phoned reception, I was told to mop it up with tissues!!! Eventually we went down to sit in the foyer, but there were only four settees and eight chairs, half of which were covered in bird droppings, as the hotel was open to the elements. We ate in the hotel in the evening and were bitterly disappointed with both the service and the food. It was only 9.00pm and the buffet was half empty. Would I recommend this hotel, no. I'm sure there are much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Kata Beach Resort & Spa for 11 nights in Oct/Nov 2013. Just fantastic place, very tropical, huge pool with pool bar, dining room huge with buffet meals, great location, & right on the beach so no crossing roads or walking up hills if u need to pop back to your room. Close to Karon Beach too. Short taxi ride to Patong. Take cash & exchange money over there as they close by. Don't bother with travel card. Would go back definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Attended my friend's wedding here and it's really a great location among shopping and food. We had a pool facing room and it's nice and spacious. The breakfast has a nice spread of food and it tastes good too. Only dislike is that you have to pay for wifi in the room but you can have free wifi at the lobby. All in all, it's a good place to stay and just next to the beach so you can choose to dip in the pool or swim in the sea!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Kata Beach Resort and Spa and couldn't be happier. All of our expectations were exceeded. The resort location is absolutely incredible. It's one of the only resorts located in Kata Beach that is actually set on the beach front so you can choose to lounge by the pool overlooking the beach or simply walk a couple of steps down to the white sand beach. On top of being located right on the beach, you can also walk right outside the resort entrance to a variety of restaurants, shops, bars, and activities. Andrew (hotel GM) and the entire hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and provided excellent customer service. Our room was above average size, clean and had absolutely stunning views from the balcony. It was located on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool, palm trees and beach. The buffet breakfast is great with a large variety of different foods. Room service was reasonably priced, tasty and the service was speedy, which is always an added bonus. Also be sure to order a pizza from the pool side restaurant. We had our first pizza on our 3rd day and wish we had ordered one sooner as it was amazing. The pool bar has great swim up seats with views overlooking the beach. My wife and I both had two massages from the open air hut right by the pool overlooking the beach and they were great value for money (300 Baht each). Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay. The resort is amazing and the location is as unbeatable. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.