We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Kata beach resort and spa was without a doubt the best hotel we could find from Kata throught Karon to Patong.
The staff was friendly and just a "PLEASE" away from helping you with whatever your needs are. The rooms are clean aircon works fine breakfast was well prepared the view was awesome and the drinks cold. Passing the pool you were on the beach. Best place if you have kids who like the beach but are not allowed to cross busy roads. All the other hotels have a very busy road between the hotel and beach.
We had restaurants all around us with an excellent massage parlour across the road from the entrance to the hotel, no ladies this is not for happy endings! This is a genuine massage parlour with a 2 hour session for only 1400 Baht. We could hire scooters by walking out the gate and enter the closes ed shop.
We are already planning our next trip and it would most definitely be at The Kata beach resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    330
    132
    72
    39
See reviews for
210
339
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times over the last 8 years. The best attributes of this hotel are the location and the pool. Kata beach is still only moderately developed, with no high rises, and reasonable crowds. The resort pool is big and terrific, although people have annoyingly taken to reserving lounge chairs at 6 and 7 a.m. like in Aruba.

The hotel is Thai owned and not part of a global or Western chain. In the past, I have liked that, as it has been a more authentic experience. However, they are presently trying to be more western by jacking up their food, service, and drink prices and making Thai food that is not the way Thai people would expect it. At the same time, they make Western food which is pretty bad. Don't get the dinner buffet.

The breakfast remains very good.

The rooms are simple, clean, and well appointed.

We reserved Ocean view rooms, but we got rooms looking over the street. They said that they were full.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location but service very poor. Food wasn't consistent. Had king tiger prawns which I had to use my fingers to peel but no finger bowl to wash fingers until I asked. No refill offered for drinks. Staff standing around. Much better places to eat in kata beach.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If your after a great location, only want to checkin and drop your bags in the room and go out then this is a perfect place for you. Being frequent visitors to Thailand and staying in accommodation from Bungalows to 5 star great resorts, I only looked at the positive feedback and thought yep give it a go, what a disappointment. Reception staff were efficient but not welcoming in any way. Instead of receiving a cold towel and drink on arrival you get a voucher for a drink. The rooms are small and our Seaview room overlooked the car park and if you craned your head to the left you did see the ocean. The rooms were dirty with sticky floors and cheap toiletries (budget motels offer better), breakfast was ordinary but you had to fight the flies, disgusting. From a reported 4 star resort this fell short. The positive is the beach location and centre of town, I'm just sorry that there are visitors to Thailand whose first experience is Kata Beach resort. I would not recommend this resort, we cancelled the After the first night of our stay and moved elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there first week of August. The rooms are comfortable but very dated. My partner and I have stayed at many resorts before but at the Kata Beach Resort we felt the staff were unhappy with a care less attitude and rarely smile. If only all the staff followed the example of the security guard "Mok" who always smiled and said good day as we walked by. When I went to order drinks at the pool, the guys taking the orders never said, "can I help you?" or "what would you like to order?".. All I got was a look and a nod of the head as if to say "what do you want?". There is no holiday atmosphere by the pool. It's a shame because the location is so ideal. Breakfast was just ok. Many of the supposed hot dishes were cold due to no one monitoring the flame under the hot pots as they would blow out. So food such as baked beans, noodles, potatoes, etc were cold. They would run out of food frequently well before 10.00am the time breaky finishes. I definately would not stay at Kata Beach Resort again. Location is great but customer service and freindlyness is lacking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Slightly older resort but clean and comfortable with free wifi and all usual hotel services. Great breakfast buffet with no waiting. The service was friendly and considerate at all times in the gentle Thai manner. Truly relaxing with good pools and beach proximity. Plenty of pool loungers discouraged 'claiming' loungers when their users went off to do other activity

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently returned from Kata Beach hotel in Thailand.Excellent setting right on the beach no road in front. Nice pools as well. We had a room overlooking the ocean with a balcony. Most rooms have this facility. Food good, staff helpful at all times plenty of eating places across the road for other meals. Only negative was that the varnish on our doors and dressing table could do with a re paint. Yes to the others who reported some ants in the rooms yes there was some this is the tropics after all just turn your cups upside down!!!!!!!! Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room on the first or second floor not overlooking the the car park worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.