We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just returned home after a 10 day stay with 2 other couples in Kata Beach.
There was a little drama when we first arrived, as two out of three of the couples had been allocated twin beds, rather than the requested double beds. We were begrudgingly allocated double rooms on the ground floor for the first night, before being given king size rooms on the fourth floor the following morning. We were lucky to have a fairly good ocean view from our room, but the other two rooms had views of the carpark. The decor is a little tired, but everything was very clean so no real reason for complaint.
Breakfast was quite adequate, considering the warm weather and the challenges of feeding so many people at the resort. There was plenty of bread and pastries, fresh fruit, hot items, eggs and Asian foods. It would have been preferable if breakfast had been open until later than 10.00am - it is a little early to drag yourself out of bed after a big night in Patong!
We ate a couple of times at the poolside bar and once at @Beach restaurant. While both were pricey by Thai-standard, we still enjoyed a 2 course meal for two for AUD$40. I can highly recommend the cocktails, which are best enjoyed in the pool or watching the sunset during Happy Hour.
There are plenty of good cheap options for food outside the resort, we really enjoyed the Thai restaurants at the left-hand end of the beach from the resort.
Kata Beach itself is a pleasant part of Phuket, far more relaxed than Patong. There are lots of shops and market stalls, plus restaurants and bars. The beach is lovely, the water is clean and warm and not too crowded.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Kata Beach. I don't think that we would hurry back personally, but Kata Beach Resort is an affordable and pleasant resort option for those visiting Phuket and wishing to avoid the intensity of Patong.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to avoid a spectacular view of the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    330
    133
    72
    39
See reviews for
211
339
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. Right on the beach. Kata beach is much better and cleaner than the beaches to the north, you can actually snorkel right on the beach in front of the resort as there are rocks to the right which are surrounded with tropical fish! Fantastic views from the ocean view rooms. The only downside was that when we arrived we were put in a garden view room even though we had paid to upgrade to an ocean view room as part of our package, apparently this is a common practice. They over book the ocean view rooms and put most into a garden view room until someone complains and then they move them only when an ocean view room becomes available, which is what happened to us. The buffet breakfast is one of the best I've been to and definitely worth paying extra for.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resortwas very nice and the location perfect. If you dont want the Patong hassle but enjoy the enviroment, food and shopping then this is the place to stay.
A few steps from the beach.
I stayed there in 2004 and it looks exactly the same. The resort needs a fresh coat of paint and uplift.
I'm told in 2014 the whole resort will be renovated so thats a plus

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The second resort we stayed at was the Kata beach resort in Kata. The greeting we got was very lovely and that was the only time it was lovely. We got to our room and it was very large and spacious but extremely outdated. Our shower was broken and we requested it to be fixed, it was and then continued not to work, we asked to be upgraded or moved rooms and were told this was not possible and we had no option but to stay in our room or pay a large amount extra every night for the most expensive room. Our room continued to have problems, the fridge broke, the safe broke, the shower continued not to work properly the whole stay, there were ants/termites in the draws and on the bench. Breakfast was terrible!!! No choice and the food was cooked poorly, the staff would not greet you off a morning just demand your room number. The pool was dirty and looked like it hadn't had a good clean in months.
Myself and partner are 21 and 20 and there were guests under the age of 30 in the resort (besides children) and in Kata beach, the area was more for older people/European (we noticed not many Aussies stay in this area).
Throughout the whole stay the the staff were nothing but rude, the resort was old and outdated, the only good thing about it was that Kata beach is a nice, clean beach.

Room Tip: The most expensive is the best, but still outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here but had my Easter dinner here: it's right on the beach with amazing views of the sunset. The fish dish I ordered was delightful and definitely the best fish meal I had during my stay in Phuket! One thing though: please provide some citronella candles for those pesky mosquitoes! Good thing I had a spray with me. Apart from that, it was a nice dinner experience and I would
love to dine here again (and probably try out their hotel too).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place works for us. Two adults and two teenage kids. Hawker stalls on the beach for our daughter. Surf for our son. Relaxation by the pool and views of the ocean for the adults. Perfect for our family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in Feb 2013 at the end of the busy season. We must have been the only guests under 30 at this hotel! All the other tourists were old russians, french or south africans. Definitely a place for older folk.
Breakfast was really good everyday, very westernised. Our room was great and very spacious. Paid a pretty penny for it, even through the cheap hotel websites. Compared to the rest of Thailand, Phuket is the most expensive. Know this before you go. The views and pool was great, lots of flowers around everywhere. Poolside bar is nice.
Its very expensive to eat at the restaurant inside, much better to find one up the road.
Reception organised all our trips, even a taxi up to big buddha.
All in all, very nice place to relax, which is very close to all you need in Kata.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.