We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kata Beach Resort stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Min stay 4 or 6 nights
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
SG
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Kata Beach Resort stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Service : Generally Good okay.

Reception, cafe staff, security guards ,pool staff and other staff were courteous, friendly and generally up to mark.

The water sink stopper in the bathroom was faulty (stuck, couldn't move), hotel lady & engineer came to fix once but the next day it happened again after we came back. So this time was able to manually use some force pull the stopper out and put one side (not to use).



Sleep Quality/Rooms : Very Good

No serious disturbance heard from outside or the Corridor during the evening. Noted the aircon wasn't that strong (set 20C but seems to be 25C ?) Anyway we got on with it....

Cleanliness : Very Good

Saw some random minor ants..nothing serious

Location/Value : Excellent

Beside beach and swimming pool close by. Externally was near to restuarants, tour agents and 7-11s. i.e. convenient
For room rate, could have wished for a lower rate but guess have to pay for the convenience as mentioned.


Spa : Did not use. (Nice exterior though...)

Others: Did not use any restaurants inside hotel beside the cafe for breakfast, so no comments. There was a welcome drink at the cafe, the fruit punch wasn't fantastic.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing sea could be nice if it meets travellers' budgets....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    357
    151
    82
    41
See reviews for
233
381
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our family of 5 (children aged 6-12) stayed here for 10 days in May 2011. We had 2 adjoining rooms, with the childrens room having 2 beds and stretcher type bed. The rooms were nice and bathrooms clean etc. We loved the fact that the resort was right on the water, we woke up to the ocean view each morning which was truly magical. The pools was great and we spent a lot of time lying by the pool while the kids dived and swam around. We found the staff to be great, the lady making the omelettes would recognise us each morning and remember how we like our omelette! Definately a great place for a family to stay. Loved being able to walk directly onto the beach infront of the resort, and out the back walk directly to the street filled with shops and places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We recently spent 12 nights at the Kata Beach Resort in, Kata Beach, Phuket. We had visited the area before, but only for a short break. First pleasant surprise was that our room had direct access to a private pool area that was only accessible to a few rooms on the ground floor. There was even a seat undet the water with jets just like a jacuzzi. Brilliant for a relaxing soak with a glass of wine after a tough day on the beach! The room was advertised as 'pool access' and this totally undersold what was a great bonus, kids would love it, a quick dip straight from your room. This hotel is fairly modern in design and has some Thai features, but not really totally tradintional. Facilities are great, with 2 swimming pools and several bars and restaurants to choose from.
Best feature is undoubtedly location - walk past the pool, and directly down onto the beatiful Kata beach. Sand, warm clear water and a beautiful stetting, superb. We rented loungers on the beach for 200 BHT/ day, which included sun shades. Food and drinks can be delivered to your lounger and are very reasonably priced.
At the southern end of the beach are several Thai restaurants. These were excellent for lunch. A quick 5 minute stroll down the sand and try one of the huge variety of both local and western food available. A Thai green curry and rice for 100 BHT was an amazing treat.
Swimming was excellent, with beatiful clear water and plenty of fish to be seen snorkelling by the rocks at the southern end of the beach.
Behind the beach there is a small town where there is a wide variety of bars and restaurants to meet all ,tastes. We strolled in the evening and tried many, all were of a good standard and resonably priced. A considerable cost to fly from the UK, but once here the day to day expenses of food and drink are comparitively low.
Took a Tuk Tuk into Patong a couple of time for some more extreme nightlife, which is fun. People watching from some of the bars is an eye opener!
I would thorughly recommend this hotel and Kata beach as a holiday destination, has just about everything we needed.

Room Tip: 'Pool access' rooms have a small swimming pool area with steps down from the rear of your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Kata Beach Resort & Spa for 12 nights in November. The location is fantastic, down a couple of steps and you're on Kata Beach which was lovely when we stayed. Beach was clean and water perfect for swimming also nice for a walk after breakfast.
The pools and grounds at the resort were great. Our room was fine (deluxe seaview) good size room and balcony. However the furniture was abit tired and room lacked attention to detail. Doona cover had holes in it(not good) and a few other things. Also note beds are very hard.
We enjoyed the food & drinks at restaurant (@Beach cafe) and pool area. Breakfast was average. The fruit juice was dreadful, we couldn't drink it, (noticed alot of full glasses left on other tables also)
Now for the disappointing and surprising part "THE STAFF". They really let the hotel down, they just didn't seem interested in the guests, their jobs, could hardly get eye contact with them let alone that beautiful Thai smile. They all appeared very unhappy, except one delightful secuity guard who did give you the time of day.
So we have mixed feelings about this resort, would we return? Not sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights after arriving from Singapore, before heading to Phi Phi Don. Was rather grumpy when we received a ground floor, mosquito infested room like one of the other reviewers, furnishings and decor all very nice, but dark. The room also had 2 beds - I'm starting to think that when you request 'double bed' in Thailand, this is their interpretation, and is also 'standard room" so my first suggestion to anyone booking is to email the hotel itself (presuming you booked via Hotelscombined.co.nz or Agoda or Expedia or similar as the hotels are always way more expensive) and ensure you get ONE bed (unless you like 2 beds of course) and not on the ground floor. This was late at night so we just went to sleep, but complained in the morning that our room was a black hole and I was allergic to mosquitoes - they moved us quickly and politely to a much nicer room -same decor, more light, one bed! The staff were very nice in this hotel and we had no further problems. Lobby areas are beautiful with stunning orchids everywhere. The ground floor poolside rooms are very nice and anything with a sea view is probably worth paying extra for. We did not have breakfast included so went to any of the restaurants within 2 minutes walk of the hotel - most do breakfast for a lot less than the hotel. We also ate no other meals at the hotel even though it looked nice, their restaurant was generally pretty empty presumably due to their cost, actually reasonable by NZ stds but about 3x the cost of all the restaurants around! There are lots of shops nearby - barter with vendors politely and don't buy anything until you get an idea of the real cost- anything you see in a shop is in hundreds of others. We didn't barter too far - the prices are pretty cheap and you don't really want to end up quibbling over $2 with a struggling Thai vendor. The pool area and beach are gorgeous - have a cocktail at happy hour at sunset in a coconut or pineapple sitting in the pool -stunning. Was sad to see so much rubbish on the beach though - we spent an hour or so picking up about 30kg of plastic bags, wrappers etc to the amusement of the other tourists. Transport - we hired a motor scooter for 250 baht per day - good way to get around if you are a good defensive driver. Heaps of free maps everywhere. Insurance is a bit of an issue that puts some people off - basically if you crash they can charge you whatever they feel like (because they have your passport) up to $2000 or so if the bike is stolen. Taxis and tuktuks are a bizarre sort of cartel where they charge relatively exorbitant prices (ok if more than 2 of you) which MUST MUST MUST be determined in advance - please NEVER get in one without a fixed price. Oddly, airport shuttles are cheap - just get in one when you arrive and book the return one via your hotel or any of the stall vendors selling trips. Re trips - we went to Phi Phi Don for 3 nights - return shuttles plus ferry was cheap (can book online or through trip vendors), and on a day trip to James Bond island with canoeing and lunch and swimming etc - the low season is March? to end October so all of these trips are well under half the price on the brochure or internet at this time - eg our trip was advertised as around 2800 baht each and we paid about 1200 each without bartering at all. Was a great day trip with excellent staff and service. Many don't accept Visa but ATM machines dispense happily for a fee of $10 or so (think is a percentage actually) and you get hit by your bank on the other end too. Photos of this hotel from the website are realistic - it actually IS that nice!

Room Tip: Email the hotel itself (after booking through hotelscombined or expedia etc) and ensure you get a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

After many holidays in the Caribbean, my parner decided to have a change to this side of the world. Needless to say, it wasnt what I expected or what I pictured it to be like. He got a bargain with the whole holiday and flights so I cant moan too much but its the only holiday i've been on and wanted to go home by day 5. The whole resort of Phuket made me feel claustraphobic and reminded me of Spain. There is nothing wrong with Majorca, but after spending 12 hours on a plane, I expected a lot more than that.
How anyone can rave about the beach I have no idea. It was the dirtest beach I have EVER been on, I had to take pictures as proof as I was in shock. I walked on the beach twice on seperate days and it was still filthy and the water in parts was only what I could describe as polluted.

The hotel breakfast was okay- go to the egg station, I lived on eggs for breakfast!
Look closely at the food uncovered before you put it on your plate- it moves!
The only good thing about this hotel were the lovely security guards and the towel guys. Probably the lowest paid in the hotel but the friendliest staff there. Everyone else was very rude.
Try room service- we enjoyed the food. Food by the pool also good- thats if you're lucky to get a bed by the pool. The traditional towel reservers are in full force here... this angered me so much. Why should you have to get up at the crack of dawn on your holiday just to get a sun lounger?! I saw some beds unoccupied all day until 3pm and these people were not in the pool!!!!

Other than hating the resort itself, we ate some fantastic food. We found a lovely little place, nice and quiet about a minute walk away from hotel- it felt like we were in a totally different place and we ate like royalty!! Turn right outside, follow the path down to the restaurant on the corner where you come onto the main road and turn right again- cross the road and its down a small alley.

I was ill on the morning of leaving and the 13 hour flight home. On my return, I had to seek medical advice for constant Diarrhoea so I had various tests sent away- The result I came home with Campylobacter!!! Lovely end to an awful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Got upgraded as soon as we arrived - we'd requested a double room, sea or pool view, had neither so was upgraded to a suite, with double bed, pool and sea view immediately! Good start!

This hotel was superb! I've visited Phuket several times before and this is definitely the best hotel I've stayed in, so far! It was well positioned, right on the beach and out to the front right is a good mix of restaurants, bars and shops - though far enough back that this didn't impact your sleep!

You can walk along the beach further into town, or walk along the road finding lots of bars and restaurants along your way.

We stayed for 2 weeks mixing our time with relaxing by the pool or exploring the island. We hired a car from http://www.braun-rentacar.com/ who are based nearby. The business is owned and run by English people who delivered & collected our car to us, and also had extensive knowledge of the island having been out there running the business for over 10 years. Without their recommendations we would have missed out on some fantastic beaches, villages and restaurants!

Can't wait to go back to Thailand again! Would definitely recommend this hotel, and the car rental people!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.