We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant
9/11-13 Patak Road Soi 10 | Boomerang Village Resort, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 76 333 102
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $99
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Ice Cream, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe Del Sol - Italian and Thai Restaurant in Phuket. Quality - Tradition - Kindness. Just a few steps from the pool at Boomerang Village Resort you will find the Cafe Del Sol Restaurant, originality based on genuine Italian and Thai cooking, in a comfortable and romantic setting, with the possibility of using the external balcony for romantic candlelight dinners with a panoramic view of Kata.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Italian and Thai fusion!
The space may be a little small, but that's part of what I loved about it. They have a mini bar too!

I remember staying here for a few hours just drinking and writing on my journal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had enjoy food in our Restaurant

We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back again to our Restaurant.

Warm regards from the entire Cafe del Sol Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The snack menu was very good for lunchtime/poolside snacks.
The Thai dishes were good but pricy compared to other restaurants in town - some were better quality.
Some of the Italian dishes were very good.
The location is beautiful for a romantic dinner but too remote for the quality/price

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had enjoy food in our Restaurant

We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back again to our Restaurant.

Warm regards from the entire Cafe del Sol Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great food at very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great selection of Thai, Italian and Western cuisine. The Italian dishes are to die for. We absolutely loved the Carbonara and Lagsane.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sawasdee Kha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to hear that you had enjoy food in our Restaurant

We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back again to our Restaurant.

Warm regards from the entire Cafe del Sol Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional service with a genuine smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed for ten days at the Boomeran. The food is varied and super fresh, Italian or Thai or even a burger and chips. Open until 1130pm you can enjoy the whole menu until late in the evening. Lovely views of Kata below, fantastic staff. Just an enjoyable experience.Oh and it's in the Tsunami safe zone, great relief when the alert sounded.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cafe de Stuff Up...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This restaurant, along with the entire resport, is an absolute disgrace. The food is abysmal, the service back in the dark ages and the attempt to cater for westerners an absolute joke.
The name of the game at this restaurant and the resort as a whole, is to spend as little money as possible, employ local people who have no idea as to what they are doing, as cheaply as possible, and charge basically, unquesioning westerners, as much as possible.
I tried the Saltimbocca.. I was served some sort of deep fried chicken/beef/leather thing that needed a sledge hammer to break open... of course when I complained to the waiting staff they had no idea... they no more knew what Saltimbocca was than what Eskimos ate for breakfast... an absolute disgrace... be warned....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
The day this accident happened we did actually had a problem with a new chef who misunderstood the order. For that we apologized to the client and we wish to apologize once again.
Once we realized of the problem, the restaurant manager promptly offered to change the plate and a discount on the meal cost to the client.
This kind of thing can happen in any restaurant anywhere in the world, but in our restaurant it is definitely an exception and not the rule.
About hiring local staff, of course we do use local staff. As all the travelers visiting this beautiful country well know, local staff in Thailand can be extremely professional, and we make a point of hiring always the best available staff.
So we apologize once more but in all fairness, we also tried to make up for the problem with the client the best way we could.
By the way I am quite sure that our staff have no idea whatsoever of what Eskimos eat for breakfast, but we never had occasion to serve Eskimo food in our restaurant; if we did they would surely know about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Sol Italian & Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.