We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo La Loma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cortijo La Loma to your Saves list
Cortijo La Loma
Alarconas 21 | Cordoba, 14978 Iznajar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've enjoyed several holidays at La Loma; we love it! A fantastic setting, amazing scenery, lovely accomodation and great hosts. For a peaceful and relaxing holiday, I can't recommend it more highly.

As many other reviewers have commented, La Loma serves as a great base to explore the region. During previous stays, we've enjoyed visits to Granada, Seville, Cordoba, Antequera, Marbella, Priego de Cordoba and Ronda. This time, we managed one day trip to Mijas and an evening meal in Loja (Flati - very enjoyable).

Book it and have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Cortijo La Loma, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
97
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just arrived back from La Loma feeling refreshed and relaxed after a fantasic 7 night stay. The accommodation, pool and gardens of La Loma were immaculate. The view from our balcony and pool overlooking the lake were absolutely amazing. Martin and Gaynor looked after us extremely well and couldn't do enough for us. They advised us on the best places to visit including restaurants, shops and local attractions. Overall a very relaxing, tranquil stay and one we will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Cortijo La Loma, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at La Loma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at this villa near Iznajar! We had such a relaxing time. The surroundings are beautiful and the accommodation is very comfortable and all our needs were thought of and catered to very well. On sunny days we were very happy just lounging by the pool and enjoying the views of the lake and surrounding hills. When it was a bit cooler we went for day trips to the towns and cities nearby, aided by very useful guidance from our hosts Gaynor and Martin. It was an easy journey to fly from Manchester to Malaga then just a 1 hour drive up the motorway. The villa is remote enough to be peaceful but still very accessible and near to interesting tourist spots. We already miss the sound of birds and smell of lavender and roses from the garden. We hope to return again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Cortijo La Loma, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post a review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 8 nights at La Loma as part of our twin center holiday in Andalusia. La Loma was not only the best of the two villas, but the best villa we have ever stayed in.
We never got tired of the fantastic views, Oh to be pack in that sparkling clean pool looking out over the mountains and lake.
Martin and Gaynor are the perfect hosts who really do add to the villa to complete the whole package. If you want to know anything about the area, where to visit, eat, shop etc then they will have the answers for you. Despite the perfect setting you will not have the couple fussing around and interfering like some places, they let you enjoy your holiday.
Inside the villa is lovely and spacious, with the two en suite bathrooms being a real bonus.
The villa has everything you need to self cater, including a BBQ on your private terrace and Freesat TV.
We have recommended La Loma to all of our friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from our 2nd visit to La Loma and what else can we add that hasn't been said before? The weather was glorious, so we opted to spend most of our time "at home", enjoying the peace and tranquillity and the long golden evenings. There were trips to Granada and Ronda and nearby Antequera and Priego de Cordoba. Iznajar, the nearest little town, is charming. We had a couple of good meals out - very reasonable prices - but mostly we preferred to cook for ourselves and sit on the shady terrace, taking in the view. No noisy air conditioning - we just slept with the shutters open, looking out at the stars. I'm sure this won't be our last visit. Thank you, Martin and Gaynor, for sharing your little corner of paradise!
Liz and Paddy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

There really aren't enough words to describe how perfect this place is.

Our second trip to La Loma and it was once again fabulous. Brilliant accommodation, clean, tidy and both Martin and Gaynor are fabulous hosts and cannot do enough for you. Wonderful scenery and peace and tranquility and the best place to relax and unwind. Thank you for such a wonderful week and we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Firstly thank you again to Martin and Gaynor who made our stay so enjoyable. Yes you have the wonderful scenary, the beautiful Casita but it is the hosts that make it that more special.

We first visited La Loma 3 years ago and promised we would be back with my in-laws, we arrived on 28th August and had 12 wonderful nights. The weather was perfect.

We stayed in La Loma this time so have experienced both Casitas. La Almendra is perfect for 2 people and we would definitely stay in that Casita again if it were just the two of us but for the extra space for 4 people La Loma is beautiful. It has a log burner, which we obviously didn't need and a large beautiful veranda with stunning views of the mountains and lake.

You cannot ask for anything more here, everything is provided from tea, coffee, to BBQ with coals and Martin and Gaynor will provide essentials for your arrival and any extras you feel you may need to get settled in.

We cannot fault this place and will definitely return in the near future. We wish we were back.

Thanks again Martin and Gaynor, you should be proud of your achievements with La Loma, it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortijo La Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Loma

Address: Alarconas 21 | Cordoba, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the crest of a hill, surrounded by Olive trees, the Cortijo enjoys breathtaking views of the Lake Iznajar and the mountains. With the mountain village of Iznajar just 7km away we are ideally situated to the attractions of Granada, Cordoba, Seville, Malaga and the coast. We have two quality self catering Casitas, a one bed (sleeps 2)and a two bed (sleeps 4). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Cortijo La Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo La Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.